![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I don't think there was anything on the first play. Looked like ball/hand.
Second is a tough call, but I believe defender jumped into offense. Although I wouldn't argue that he landed prior to offense shooting. |
|
|||
|
And?
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
In play 1 there is no camera angle that shows where W32 makes contact with ball or player, so how can we judge if the Lead got it right? I'm trusting the Lead saw illegal contact.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Sat Jan 31, 2015 at 10:20pm. |
|
|||
|
Fan here. Just curious.
In play 1 (in the post) is there an opportunity for W32 to take a charge. It looks like W32 is in great position and B15 is just moving him out of the way. Does he not take a charge because the rules don't allow it or because he doesn't think a charge is the best defense in that situation? I might suggest to my 12 year old in that great of position to take a charge. But if it's not a good option, I'd like to understand why. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
And, yes, one of the decisions we frequently have to make is whether the offense is displacing the defense, or whether the defense is simply giving ground. |
|
|||
|
first video no foul, but whatever not really a controversial play and those happen.
Second one is the classic case of the ref anticipating the foul because the defender got up in the air, only problem was the lack of a foul. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I'm assuming in this case the official thought the defense was giving ground. So the defense doesn't have to do anything but play it exactly as he did. Then the ref decides displacing or giving? |
|
|||
|
I think both were fine as called.
In the first, it looks like he may have hit the arm as must if not more than the ball. The lead was in perfect position to see it. The camera wasn't. In the second, the defender never stopped moving towards the shooter. I though it was not a foul from one angle but, as Bad Zebra said, another showed he was moving towards the shooter.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Sun Feb 01, 2015 at 01:35pm. |
|
|||
|
First play: I'll defer to the calling official's angle on the play.
Second play: I hate plays like this where a player hesitates when taking a 3 and then jumps into the airborne defender but I think in this case, unfortunately, it's a foul. |
|
|||
|
I'm not going to reward an offensive player for jumping into a defender.
|
|
|||
|
the foul was on the player behind A1.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Mon Feb 02, 2015 at 12:08am. |
|
|||
|
Sick reference. And yes I remember it. I actually was watching the game that night when it happened all those years ago. And remembering it takes me back to my younger years.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| NC State -- Notre Dame end of regulation (Video) | JMUplayer | Basketball | 8 | Tue Jan 27, 2015 02:58am |
| Uconn v Notre Dame NCAAW Mechanics (Video) | RefCT | Basketball | 4 | Mon Dec 08, 2014 12:16pm |
| Maryland/Notre Dame | bballref3966 | Basketball | 20 | Wed Apr 09, 2014 04:16pm |
| Louisville @ Notre Dame, Rich's Video Request #2 | JetMetFan | Basketball | 42 | Wed Feb 13, 2013 11:49pm |
| Notre Dame to ACC....... | HLin NC | Football | 1 | Wed Sep 12, 2012 12:28pm |