The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Baylor @ OK State Block/Charge (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99173-baylor-ok-state-block-charge-video.html)

zm1283 Tue Jan 27, 2015 10:12pm

Baylor @ OK State Block/Charge (Video)
 
17:59 in 2nd half.

Block/charge/travel play.

APG Sat Jan 31, 2015 05:11pm

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/kqhn3nRR_9A" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

APG Sat Jan 31, 2015 05:13pm

One could also discuss whether under NCAA-M interpretation, whether this should have been in the act of shooting. Should the center have provided information to the calling official (assuming he had any)? Would you give that information to the calling official if you were in the C's position (assuming you had it before the act)?

just another ref Sat Jan 31, 2015 05:30pm

The pivot foot returns to the floor before the ball is released.

Rich Sat Jan 31, 2015 06:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 953085)
The pivot foot returns to the floor before the ball is released.

Right foot pivot. Never comes back down.

just another ref Sat Jan 31, 2015 07:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 953101)
Right foot pivot. Never comes back down.

Holding the ball in two hands with the left foot on the floor outside the 3 point line.

Raymond Sat Jan 31, 2015 08:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 953083)
One could also discuss whether under NCAA-M interpretation, whether this should have been in the act of shooting. Should the center have provided information to the calling official (assuming he had any)? Would you give that information to the calling official if you were in the C's position (assuming you had it before the act)?

only if he asked

APG Sat Jan 31, 2015 08:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 953135)
only if the asked

Would time and score change your opinion? I'm also guessing who your assignor is would change that as well?

Camron Rust Sat Jan 31, 2015 09:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 953121)
Holding the ball in two hands with the left foot on the floor outside the 3 point line.

Agree....he has the ball in both hands with it above his head with his left foot still on the ground. Left foot is the pivot. Travel.

But he was fouled first....and it was a block.

zm1283 Sun Feb 01, 2015 03:09pm

I thought it was a travel when first watching it, but the contact does happen before his left foot (Which was his pivot foot) comes back down to the floor.

Those that have a block...why? Not disagreeing yet, just interested in your reasoning.

Anyone think the Lead was too wide?

AremRed Sun Feb 01, 2015 03:39pm

I have a charge on this play. Don't see what the defender did wrong.

Raymond Sun Feb 01, 2015 03:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 953206)
I thought it was a travel when first watching it, but the contact does happen before his left foot (Which was his pivot foot) comes back down to the floor.

Those that have a block...why? Not disagreeing yet, just interested in your reasoning.

Anyone think the Lead was too wide?

He was still running up the court in transition, with players beside him. Where would you preferred he go? :confused:

BTW, I think it was a PC.

zm1283 Sun Feb 01, 2015 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 953214)
He was still running up the court in transition, with players beside him. Where would you preferred he go? :confused:

BTW, I think it was a PC.

I think it is a PC foul too.

The Lead pulls up around the FT line extended and coasts the rest of the way to the endline. Would anyone rather see this play coming at them instead of looking at it from the side?

Raymond Sun Feb 01, 2015 03:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 953217)
I think it is a PC foul too.

The Lead pulls up around the FT line extended and coasts the rest of the way to the endline. Would anyone rather see this play coming at them instead of looking at it from the side?

Even at full speed he wasn't going to make it to the endline in time to receive the play. He would have been putting on the brakes just as contact was occurring.

AremRed Sun Feb 01, 2015 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 953219)
Even at full speed he wasn't going to make it to the endline in time to receive the play. He would have been putting on the brakes just as contact was occurring.

Exactly. Even the fastest guys get caught out sometimes and have to make a tough decision from a bad angle. I think if Lead was watching the defender the whole time then I think he would have had a charge even from his angle.

mutantducky Sun Feb 01, 2015 07:24pm

charge. That's good D.

Camron Rust Sun Feb 01, 2015 08:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 953206)
Those that have a block...why? Not disagreeing yet, just interested in your reasoning.

Contact was mostly on the leg (thigh/knee) outside the frame of the defender's torso.

APG Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:18pm

I have a charge on the play...defender is legal...offensive player tries to slip past the defender but fails.

MechanicGuy Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:34pm

Tough to see where the contact with defender was, looked like it might have been almost knee-to-knee.

But the travel is almost as easy as they get. Ridiculous to count that bucket.

Rich Mon Feb 02, 2015 12:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 953121)
Holding the ball in two hands with the left foot on the floor outside the 3 point line.

Barely...I won't disagree. Real time, realistically, I'd probably consider the gather to be in the air, which makes the right foot the pivot.

Rich Mon Feb 02, 2015 12:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MechanicGuy (Post 953247)
Tough to see where the contact with defender was, looked like it might have been almost knee-to-knee.

But the travel is almost as easy as they get. Ridiculous to count that bucket.

Easy? That's a joke.

bainsey Mon Feb 02, 2015 12:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 953212)
I have a charge on this play. Don't see what the defender did wrong.

Nor I. PC for me.

What exactly was the call, though? The official signaled block, then pointed the other way? Announcer said "charge?"

MechanicGuy Mon Feb 02, 2015 01:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 953278)
Easy? That's a joke.

Maybe my characterization was too strong. Its closer than I thought at first.

Still a travel though :D

MechanicGuy Mon Feb 02, 2015 01:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 953283)
Nor I. PC for me.

What exactly was the call, though? The official signaled block, then pointed the other way? Announcer said "charge?"

I don't think he pointed the other way. He was merely counting the basket.

APG Mon Feb 02, 2015 01:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 953283)
Nor I. PC for me.

What exactly was the call, though? The official signaled block, then pointed the other way? Announcer said "charge?"

Block, count the basket

AremRed Mon Feb 02, 2015 03:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 953283)
What exactly was the call, though? The official signaled block, then pointed the other way? Announcer said "charge?"

Block, count the basket. This is exactly why I changed my "and 1" mechanic last year, another official pointed out that it was too similar to an offensive foul signal.

JugglingReferee Tue Feb 03, 2015 01:18pm

I do believe I see a travel, but not before a PC.

To call a block and count the basket is incorrect imho.

HawkeyeCubP Tue Feb 03, 2015 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 953283)
Nor I. PC for me.

What exactly was the call, though? The official signaled block, then pointed the other way? Announcer said "charge?"

He was using something similar to the NCAA-W score-the-goal signal (which I see a lot of men's officials use), as opposed to the by-the-book NCAA-M signal (not sure if I've actually ever seen someone use it outside of a HS or juco game) for that.

Adam Tue Feb 03, 2015 03:09pm

I wouldn't have been able to get that travel in real time.

I've got a PC foul.

If he calls a block, with the NCAA change to "upward motion" being the start of the shooting motion, this would be a foul before the shot.

Raymond Tue Feb 03, 2015 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 953528)
I wouldn't have been able to get that travel in real time.

I've got a PC foul.

If he calls a block, with the NCAA change to "upward motion" being the start of the shooting motion, this would be a foul before the shot.

I think the "travel" posts are in reference to the fact that by the time he released the shot he had traveled, so we shouldn't be counting the basket.

just another ref Tue Feb 03, 2015 03:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 953531)
I think the "travel" posts are in reference to the fact that by the time he released the shot he had traveled, so we shouldn't be counting the basket.


That's what I was saying. From the angle we have, it's difficult to make the block/charge call. With what we have, I thought it was a charge. But, as Cameron says, if the contact is mainly on the leg, it's a block.

Adam Tue Feb 03, 2015 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 953536)
That's what I was saying. From the angle we have, it's difficult to make the block/charge call. With what we have, I thought it was a charge. But, as Cameron says, if the contact is mainly on the leg, it's a block.

That is not what the rule says. Nowhere does it say contact against a defender's leg is a block.

just another ref Tue Feb 03, 2015 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 953539)
That is not what the rule says. Nowhere does it say contact against a defender's leg is a block.

10-6-1: A player shall not.......impede the progress of an opponent by extending arm(s), shoulder(s), hip(s), or knee(s)........

Adam Tue Feb 03, 2015 04:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 953541)
10-6-1: A player shall not.......impede the progress of an opponent by extending arm(s), shoulder(s), hip(s), or knee(s)........

And contact on a leg does not equal an extended knee.

Camron Rust Tue Feb 03, 2015 07:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 953542)
And contact on a leg does not equal an extended knee.

It doesn't but it is the same effect. If the leg is outside the torso, it is not legal any more than the hip or the knee. Extending the leg comes with extending the knee unless the have some badly broken bones.

Raymond Tue Feb 03, 2015 08:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 953553)
It doesn't but it is the same effect. If the leg is outside the torso, it is not legal any more than the hip or the knee. Extending the leg comes with extending the knee unless the have some badly broken bones.

I called an illegal screen for that reason last week and HC was unhappy because he felt being stationary satisfied legality.

Rich Tue Feb 03, 2015 09:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 953557)
I called an illegal screen for that reason last week and HC was unhappy because he felt being stationary satisfied legality.

Me too. Player went right over the knee.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1