![]() |
Inbounder touches deflected pass
Had this scenario come up the other night; A1 is inbounding the ball and it gets deflected by B1 (who is in bounds, so no plane infraction) back towards A1 (who is still OOB) where it hits A1 on the knee. I call the ball out on A and give the ball to B. At half my partner asked the question of whether A1 had to establish himself on the court before it could be out on him. I didn't think that was required, and my reading of 7-1 and 7-2 doesn't seem to show any such requirement. Am I missing some exception somewhere?
|
It's a good question for a new(er) official to ask, and you have the right answer.
|
7.2.2 SITUATION: A throw-in by A1 (a) strikes B1 who is inbounds and
rebounds in flight directly from B1 and then strikes A1 who is still out of bounds; (b) is batted by B1, who is inbounds and the ball is next touched by A1 who is still out of bounds. RULING: A1 caused the ball to go out of bounds and it is awarded to Team B at that spot for a throw-in for both (a) and (b). |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07am. |