The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   A/P followed by Dead Ball T (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99120-p-followed-dead-ball-t.html)

luvhoops Thu Jan 22, 2015 01:13am

A/P followed by Dead Ball T
 
A1 and B1 force a jump ball. After whistle and ball dead, B1 receives a technical foul. Possession arrow favors Team A. A2 shoots two free throws.

Where is inbound for Team A?
Is A/P arrow used at all? (After inbound does arrow get switched to Team B or does it remain in favor of Team A?

zm1283 Thu Jan 22, 2015 01:15am

-Technical on Team B
-Team A shoots two, followed by a throw-in at the division line for Team A.
-Is the AP throw-in ever actually done? There's your answer.

frezer11 Thu Jan 22, 2015 01:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by luvhoops (Post 951600)
A1 and B1 force a jump ball. After whistle and ball dead, B1 receives a technical foul. Possession arrow favors Team A. A2 shoots two free throws.

Where is inbound for Team A?
Is A/P arrow used at all? (After inbound does arrow get switched to Team B or does it remain in favor of Team A?

Inbound opposite the table, leave the arrow alone. The arrow only switches after the throw in is legally touched, and since there was no AP throw in as the T takes precedence, there is no change of the arrow.

zm1283 Thu Jan 22, 2015 01:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 951602)
Inbound opposite the table, leave the arrow alone. The arrow only switches after the throw in is legally touched, and since there was no AP throw in as the T takes precedence, there is no change of the arrow.

I was trying to make him figure it out on his own, but this works too.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 22, 2015 08:46am

Just in case the OP was asking, the NCAA rule is different (and also depends on what the T was for). And, NCAAM and NCAAW *might* be different on this.

luvhoops Thu Jan 22, 2015 09:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 951618)
Just in case the OP was asking, the NCAA rule is different (and also depends on what the T was for). And, NCAAM and NCAAW *might* be different on this.


So sorry, I should have specified. NCAA Mens and the technical was simply for unsporting conduct. B1 simply over-wrestled, after multiple whistles, during the jump ball.

frezer11 Thu Jan 22, 2015 09:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by luvhoops (Post 951620)
So sorry, I should have specified. NCAA Mens and the technical was simply for unsporting conduct. B1 simply over-wrestled, after multiple whistles, during the jump ball.

Oh, I didn't realize you were referring to NCAAM. In that case, the T is resumed POI, so the AP arrow is used and flipped after the inbounds.

bballref3966 Thu Jan 22, 2015 09:31am

"Over-wrestled" is a vague term. Was contact made? If the player was making excessive and unnecessary contact while the ball was dead, then you have a contact dead ball technical foul, which is two shots and ball at the division line, in which case the arrow would be unaffected.

luvhoops Thu Jan 22, 2015 10:24am

Yes, contact was made. Yes, it was a contact dead ball technical foul.

So,

If NFHS, two shots, ball at division line, A/P arrow unused/unaffected.

If NCAA Men, two shots, POI - which was A/P, arrow used/affected.

Correct?

For NCAA Men, the resumption of play for technical fouls is POI with 2 exceptions, flagrant 2 and dead ball contact fouls. Therefore, isn't the NCAA men rule the same as NFHS? (ball at division line, A/P unused/unaffected)

BigCat Thu Jan 22, 2015 10:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by luvhoops (Post 951652)
Yes, contact was made. Yes, it was a contact dead ball technical foul.

So,

If NFHS, two shots, ball at division line, A/P arrow unused/unaffected.

If NCAA Men, two shots, POI - which was A/P, arrow used/affected.

Correct?

For NCAA Men, the resumption of play for technical fouls is POI with 2 exceptions, flagrant 2 and dead ball contact fouls. Therefore, isn't the NCAA men rule the same as NFHS? (ball at division line, A/P unused/unaffected)

Just to be clear, BBall is asking you if contact was made and if so was it unnecessary, excessive, and unacceptable because those are words in contact dead ball technical rule. i don't think he is trying to tell you all contact during a dead ball = dead ball contact technical. earlier you said he was simply wrestling with ball too much and it was simply unsporting. (in response to Bob comment)

if there was a little CONTACT but sufficient ATTITUDE you can simply call it unsporting technical--class A. shoot FTs and POI is used which has been pointed out. that takes you to the AP throw in because there was a tie up. if the contact you saw was unnecessary, unacceptable and excessive-- then you call the dead ball contact technical. award 2 shots and give the ball to the offended team at division line on EITHER side of court. arrow unaffected.

in nfhs you shoot the throws and go to division line OPPOSITE table…arrow unaffected which you know.

johnny d Thu Jan 22, 2015 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by luvhoops (Post 951620)
So sorry, I should have specified. NCAA Mens and the technical was simply for unsporting conduct. B1 simply over-wrestled, after multiple whistles, during the jump ball.


Having demonstrated limited knowledge of basic NCAA-M rules, please tell us you were a spectator at this game and not an official. :eek:

frezer11 Thu Jan 22, 2015 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 951658)
Just to be clear, BBall is asking you if contact was made and if so was it unnecessary, excessive, and unacceptable because those are words in contact dead ball technical rule. i don't think he is trying to tell you all contact during a dead ball = dead ball contact technical. earlier you said he was simply wrestling with ball too much and it was simply unsporting. (in response to Bob comment)

if there was a little CONTACT but sufficient ATTITUDE you can simply call it unsporting technical--class A. shoot FTs and POI is used which has been pointed out. that takes you to the AP throw in because there was a tie up. if the contact you saw was unnecessary, unacceptable and excessive-- then you call the dead ball contact technical. award 2 shots and give the ball to the offended team at division line on EITHER side of court. arrow unaffected.

in nfhs you shoot the throws and go to division line OPPOSITE table…arrow unaffected which you know.

There you go. I must've missed the part about there being contact.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1