The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What say you on this dunk? (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99119-what-say-you-dunk-video.html)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jan 21, 2015 11:25pm

What say you on this dunk? (Video)
 
This happened last night: North Olmsted H.S. at Westlake H.S. I do not know who are the officials.

http://yahoo.thepostgame.com/blog/cl...ssover-dribble

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/yC5OAk9G3HQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

I have a PC foul on the dunker followed by a TF on the dunker for taunting.

MTD, Sr.

AremRed Wed Jan 21, 2015 11:49pm

I've got a no call and tech for taunting.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jan 21, 2015 11:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 951573)
I've got a no call and tech for taunting.


There is no such thing as a no call either you judged that there was an infraction of the rules or there was an infraction of the rules.

Therefore, why did you decide that there was no infraction of the rules by either the offensive the player or the defensive player?

MTD, Sr.

AremRed Wed Jan 21, 2015 11:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 951574)
There is no such thing as a no call either you judged that there was an infraction of the rules or there was an infraction of the rules.

Wtf? We're done here Mark.

Rich Wed Jan 21, 2015 11:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 951574)
There is no such thing as a no call either you judged that there was an infraction of the rules or there was an infraction of the rules.

Therefore, why did you decide that there was no infraction of the rules by either the offensive the player or the defensive player?

MTD, Sr.

Cause there wasn't - not before the taunt, anyway.

Hugh Refner Wed Jan 21, 2015 11:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mark t. Denucci, sr. (Post 951571)
i have a pc foul on the dunker followed by a tf on the dunker for taunting.

+1

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jan 21, 2015 11:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 951576)
Wtf? We're done here Mark.


I assume that you know who Peter Webb is. Peter Webb would ask you the very same question. A no call implies that there was an infraction of the rules but the officials decided not to call it.

Therefore why did not feel that there was no infraction by either the offensive player or the defensive player.

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jan 21, 2015 11:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 951577)
Cause there wasn't - not before the taunt, anyway.

There wasn't what?

MTD, Sr.

just another ref Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 951580)
There wasn't what?

MTD, Sr.

I don't presume to speak for Rich, but I believe he's saying that, other than the taunt, there was no infraction of the rules.


There seems to be an inexplicable communication gap here.

AremRed Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 951579)
I assume that you know who Peter Webb is. Peter Webb would ask you the very same question. A no call implies that there was an infraction of the rules but the officials decided not to call it.

No, but by your description he sounds like the kind of asshøle official who would insist on "only using rulebook language."

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 951579)
Therefore why did not feel that there was no infraction by either the offensive player or the defensive player.

Is that a question?

AremRed Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 951581)
There seems to be an inexplicable communication gap here.

It's not inexplicable, MTD Sr. is being obtuse again.

La Rikardo Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:11am

I have a two-point goal scored by Black #41 followed by an unsporting player technical foul on Black #41 for taunting an opponent.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 951581)
I don't presume to speak for Rich, but I believe he's saying that, other than the taunt, there was no infraction of the rules.


There seems to be an inexplicable communication gap here.


We had a long thread about assigners telling officials that when there are bodies on the floor there had better be a fouled called.

Therefore, how can there not be a whistle and a foul: either a PC by the dunker or a block by the defender? And there was contact between the two players involved.

MTD, Sr.


P.S. And I am not being obtuse (See Post #11.)

AremRed Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 951585)
We had a long thread about assigners telling officials that when there are bodies on the floor there had better be a fouled called.

Therefore, how can there not be a whistle and a foul: either a PC by the dunker or a block by the defender? And there was contact between the two players involved.

Probably because we were talking about "bodies" plural, not "a body" singular. Do you not remember what happened in the video?

just another ref Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 951585)
We had a long thread about assigners telling officials that when there are bodies on the floor there had better be a fouled called.

Therefore, how can there not be a whistle and a foul: either a PC by the dunker or a block by the defender? And there was contact between the two players involved.

MTD, Sr.


P.S. And I am not being obtuse (See Post #11.)


The defender did not have LGP and the shooter was not put at a disadvantage, that's how.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 951588)
Probably because we were talking about "bodies" plural, not "a body" singular. Do you not remember what happened in the video?


Just because the offensive player made a spectacular leap into the air to attempt a successful dunk, he must do it in a legal manner.

The video shows the offensive player's knee striking the defender in the front of his left shoulder and displaces the defender. Did the defender commit a blocking foul because he did not obtain a LGP before the offensive player went airborne or did he establish a LGP?

An evaluator is going to ask you why you did not put air in the whistle and you will have to use the rules to defend your position. I would expect my student officials to justify their decision to either put air in their whistles or not put air in their whistles. Saying it was a no call is no answer.

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 951589)
The defender did not have LGP and the shooter was not put at a disadvantage, that's how.

So the defender committed a blocking foul. I can live with a blocking foul if you judged him to not have obtained LGP before the offensive went airborne. So why not call a blocking foul?

If the defender had obtained LGP, how would you justify not calling a PC on the offensive player for displacing the defender?

MTD, Sr.

just another ref Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 951592)
So the defender committed a blocking foul. I can live with a blocking foul if you judged him to not have obtained LGP before the offensive went airborne. So why not call a blocking foul?

If the defender had obtained LGP, how would you justify not calling a PC on the offensive player for displacing the defender?

MTD, Sr.

I haven't even looked at the video. I was speaking hypothetically. I know there was contact because you said so, and nobody disputed it. If this is a high flying spectacular dunk, the offensive player's knee could hit the defender in the head and knock him unconscious and it still may not be a foul. If the defender does have LGP and is displaced by the dunker, I don't see how you can justify a no call. And, yes, I am quite comfortable with that term.

Welpe Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:53am

That looks like marginal contact that is embellished by the defender. Why else would he turn to his right and fall that direction when hit on the left? I'm fine with there not being a foul called there (ergo the phrase "no call").

egj13 Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:58am

I have a no call...and for reference before you ask me as well, I grew up with Pete Webb calling my high-school games...step father went to school with him.

I would "T" for taunting however...but on the dunk, the contact was marginal, the defender would have been better off staying on his feet and accepting the posterizing given him!

frezer11 Thu Jan 22, 2015 01:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 951594)
That looks like marginal contact that is embellished by the defender. Why else would he turn to his right and fall that direction when hit on the left? I'm fine with there not being a foul called there (ergo the phrase "no call").

This is the best justification I have seen. I also agree with the no call. It's such a simple thing that so few do, to look at the direction a player, or ball for that matter, moves after contact to determine what caused that movement. The defender gets light contact to his left side, yet turns right as he falls. No way the contact caused that. If the contact doesn't cause the displacement, then there's no way we're going the other way. Although there is no argument, everyone T's him up for being an idiot.

zm1283 Thu Jan 22, 2015 01:22am

I have a dunk and a technical on the "dunker" for taunting.

I also have the new Trail worrying about running the ball down and not doing a very good job of dead ball officiating.

Camron Rust Thu Jan 22, 2015 05:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 951594)
That looks like marginal contact that is embellished by the defender. Why else would he turn to his right and fall that direction when hit on the left? I'm fine with there not being a foul called there (ergo the phrase "no call").

Agree 100%. The contact was embellished. He wasn't displaced. The turn was completely wrong for where he supposedly got hit.

Then we have a T for taunting.

APG Thu Jan 22, 2015 06:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 951579)
I assume that you know who Peter Webb is. Peter Webb would ask you the very same question. A no call implies that there was an infraction of the rules but the officials decided not to call it.

Therefore why did not feel that there was no infraction by either the offensive player or the defensive player.

MTD, Sr.

A no call implies he wouldn't put a whistle on the play...period. You can have a no call for a variety of reasons...those reasons can be valid or not valid. You've been around this forum long enough to know that

Nevadaref Thu Jan 22, 2015 06:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 951574)
There is no such thing as a no call either you judged that there was an infraction of the rules or there was an infraction of the rules.

This is what happens when you post after your bedtime.

billyu2 Thu Jan 22, 2015 07:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 951611)
This is what happens when you post after your bedtime.

Nevada, that was great. Mark, you've got to be at least smiling if not lol.
Also, I know the lead official on that play. He is an excellent official and I'm
sure he regrets taking his eye off the play to grab the ball. Which just goes to show . . . it can happen.

Pantherdreams Thu Jan 22, 2015 08:00am

1) Defender does not establish LGP in my opionion. If you want to argue he did or that the offense intitiates contact I'm willing to accept that but its not going to change the next steps.

2) In view the defense is now responsible for contact so it the offensive player disadvantaged, impeded, put in danger, treated roughly . . . no. Contact is therefore determined to be incidental. If you feel the defender was there, because of embellishment and poor camera angle I cannot tell from the video how much contact the shooter created and how much that was responsible for displacing the defender. So incidental again from this view.

3) Incidental contact no whistle. Two points.

4) Now the dunker is doing the stare down thing. While this might depend on the level of the game in this case with this age group of player I'm comfortable going T.

Two Points - Followed by T.

bainsey Thu Jan 22, 2015 09:31am

Mark, AremRed, play nice. :D

If I may speak for Mark, "no call" = "I ruled the play to be legal." That's all he's saying. That's hardly obtuse.

As for the play itself, I like Panther's assessment. To me, it looks like LGP was established after the shooter left the floor, so a charge isn't possible (unless the shooter kicks the defender, which he doesn't). Was the shooter disadvantaged? I don't think so, but I don't mind a block call here, either.

The T for taunting is the easiest part of this.

zm1283 Thu Jan 22, 2015 09:34am

I don't see how the taunting thing is a "Depending on the level thing". That would be a technical in NCAA and the NBA. It should be one in a high school game for sure.

deecee Thu Jan 22, 2015 09:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 951585)
We had a long thread about assigners telling officials that when there are multiple bodies from opposing teams due to contact on the floor there had better be a fouled called.

So when kids trip over the lines on the floor we blow the whistle? Or flops? Can't wait to see the T's fly there.

BTW I fixed your logic a bit.

Kansas Ref Thu Jan 22, 2015 09:55am

Every year at our NFHS interps meeting I ask this question: "when will the NFHS implement a Restricted Area semi-circle marking under the basket on the floor of highschool gymnasia? Like they have in college and nba?"

And, each year I get the canned response from whomever is leading the discussion: "we don't need one because our refs have good judgement."

In this present video case the officials would have been greatly aided by having such a reference marking on the floor. It appeared that the defender established LGP far enough from the front end of the rim (i.e., was not under the rim). Although spectacular, the dunk was a charge. I call "charge", then "taunting" T--as the taunt was egregious.

APG Thu Jan 22, 2015 10:00am

I know they aren't your words, but I don't think the NBA and NCAA implemented the RA because their officials weren't good enough to adjudicate block/charge plays.

Rich Thu Jan 22, 2015 10:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 951639)
Every year at our NFHS interps meeting I ask this question: "when will the NFHS implement a Restricted Area semi-circle marking under the basket on the floor of highschool gymnasia? Like they have in college and nba?"

And, each year I get the canned response from whomever is leading the discussion: "we don't need one because our refs have good judgement."

In this present video case the officials would have been greatly aided by having such a reference marking on the floor. It appeared that the defender established LGP far enough from the front end of the rim (i.e., was not under the rim). Although spectacular, the dunk was a charge. I call "charge", then "taunting" T--as the taunt was egregious.

So what? Did the defender have LGP? Was there advantage/disadvantage?

The defender's location on the floor tells me absolutely nothing, as it isn't relevant at all on whether contact is a foul (*in an NFHS game*).

VaTerp Thu Jan 22, 2015 10:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 951585)
We had a long thread about assigners telling officials that when there are bodies on the floor there had better be a fouled called.

Therefore, how can there not be a whistle and a foul: either a PC by the dunker or a block by the defender? And there was contact between the two players involved.

MTD, Sr.


P.S. And I am not being obtuse (See Post #11.)

In that thread there was A LOT of disagreement about HAVING to have a whistle simply b/c bodies are on the floor. I know many assigners who do not subscribe to that flawed philosophy.

And that was about MULTIPLE bodies on the floor. Here, there is one.

I have a good dunk (a No Call) followed by taunting.

griblets Thu Jan 22, 2015 11:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 951608)
Agree 100%. The contact was embellished. He wasn't displaced. The turn was completely wrong for where he supposedly got hit.

Then we have a T for taunting.

I'm with MTD on this one, PC then TF. I don't see it as much as embellishment as ducking for protection. Have we forgotten about Rule 4-23-3e?

“e. The guard may turn or duck to absorb the shock of imminent contact”

Rob1968 Thu Jan 22, 2015 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by griblets (Post 951662)
I'm with MTD on this one, PC then TF. I don't see it as much as embellishment as ducking for protection. Have we forgotten about Rule 4-23-3e?

“e. The guard may turn or duck to absorb the shock of imminent contact”

And, if the defender "turning and/or ducking, to absorb the shock of imminent contact," reduced the contact to a level of "incidental contact," then no call would be made. I've seen defenders "turn and/or duck" so much that the imminent contact never occurred, and it was evident that it wasn't an attempt to flop or embelish the contact.
The camera angle on this play is less than ideal. From the Lead's position, the contact apparently seemed to be incidental in severity, and his partners apparently trusted his judgment.

Kansas Ref Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:21pm

I agree, "bodies on the floor", is a flawed philosophy. It takes experience and temerity to not pop your whistle when this occurs. We all know the type of plays this occurs in--e.g., both player pursuing a ball wherein each has equal access to, etc...
Even here, I frequently hear Assignors say: "if bodies are on the floor, then pop your whistle on something".
All, it wil take one good ref at a time to dislodge (no pun intended) this very staid mis-belief.

mutantducky Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:36pm

good dunk, no foul. then Tech. IMO

HokiePaul Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 951644)
So what? Did the defender have LGP? Was there advantage/disadvantage?

The defender's location on the floor tells me absolutely nothing, as it isn't relevant at all on whether contact is a foul (*in an NFHS game*).

Correct in this case, but not in general. A foot on the OOB line would be relevant by the defense as you could not have a LGP.

HokiePaul Thu Jan 22, 2015 01:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 951669)
I agree, "bodies on the floor", is a flawed philosophy. It takes experience and temerity to not pop your whistle when this occurs. We all know the type of plays this occurs in--e.g., both player pursuing a ball wherein each has equal access to, etc...
Even here, I frequently hear Assignors say: "if bodies are on the floor, then pop your whistle on something".
All, it wil take one good ref at a time to dislodge (no pun intended) this very staid mis-belief.

What I've heard more recently (which I like a lot better) is: "if bodies are on the floor you need a whistle or you should know how they got there." Contact can be severe and not necessarily mean a foul occured.

Smitty Thu Jan 22, 2015 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 951671)
Correct in this case, but not in general. A foot on the OOB line would be relevant by the defense as you could not have a LGP.

The only thing he referenced was this case. Why muddy the waters? For what it's worth, I'm with the no-call followed by a T. And I don't care how great this official is, you don't go chasing the ball. Good dead ball officiating is critical after a play like this.

frezer11 Thu Jan 22, 2015 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 951673)
What I've heard more recently (which I like a lot better) is: "if bodies are on the floor you need a whistle or you should know how they got there." Contact can be severe and not necessarily mean a foul occured.

You know, I've heard this too, but I disagree. This statement implies that if you have bodies on the floor but don't know how they got there, then you need to have a whistle. Doesn't that imply that you need to guess???

Welpe Thu Jan 22, 2015 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 951674)
you don't go chasing the ball

Just leave it at that. This was the worst part of the video IMO. Leave the ball alone, somebody will go get it!

Smitty Thu Jan 22, 2015 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 951678)
Just leave it at that. This was the worst part of the video IMO. Leave the ball alone, somebody will go get it!

Good point. I updated my post.

Rich Thu Jan 22, 2015 01:40pm

I'm not looking to whack players, but I make a point to keep a close eye on a player just after and on the trip down the floor after he completes a monster dunk. That kind of taunt is step one towards a bigger problem I might have to deal with.

fullor30 Thu Jan 22, 2015 01:47pm

Nothing and a T for taunt

Adam Thu Jan 22, 2015 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 951579)
I assume that you know who Peter Webb is. Peter Webb would ask you the very same question. A no call implies that there was an infraction of the rules but the officials decided not to call it.

Therefore why did not feel that there was no infraction by either the offensive player or the defensive player.

MTD, Sr.

Mark, to the rest of us, a "no call" means there's nothing to call.

fullor30 Thu Jan 22, 2015 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 951685)
I'm not looking to whack players, but I make a point to keep a close eye on a player just after and on the trip down the floor after he completes a monster dunk. That kind of taunt is step one towards a bigger problem I might have to deal with.


Yup, Yup,Yup

fullor30 Thu Jan 22, 2015 02:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 951689)
Mark, to the rest of us, a "no call" means there's nothing to call.

Since we seem to be really into semantics on this thread....

"Therefore, how can there not be a whistle and a foul: either a PC by the dunker or a block by the defender? And there was contact between the two players involved."


I didn't know contact by definition was a foul?

Raymond Thu Jan 22, 2015 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 951574)
There is no such thing as a no call either you judged that there was an infraction of the rules or there was an infraction of the rules.

Therefore, why did you decide that there was no infraction of the rules by either the offensive the player or the defensive player?

MTD, Sr.

When someone posts a play to be reviewed, you either have a call or a no-call on subject play.

Brad Thu Jan 22, 2015 02:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 951579)
A no call implies that there was an infraction of the rules but the officials decided not to call it.

No … that is a missed call.

A “no call” in officiating vernacular means “I don’t have a call on that play” … or, in a way you might prefer, “I judged that there was not an infraction of the rules”

This is pretty much accepted by everyone.

SC Official Thu Jan 22, 2015 03:19pm

I'm much more concerned about the blatant taunt that was not penalized than I am about the possibility of a PC foul. That was as obvious as it gets, and three officials missed it. No excuse for that IMO. We would get blasted in South Carolina if we didn't call that.

griblets Thu Jan 22, 2015 03:59pm

Good discussion
 
The taunting T is easy, and we all seem to agree.

I'm surprised that so many would no call on the dunk. If I had a knee hit the left side of my face, I'd jerk to the right, too. I've watched several times, and I just can't see passing on PC.

fullor30 Thu Jan 22, 2015 04:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by griblets (Post 951703)
The taunting T is easy, and we all seem to agree.

I'm surprised that so many would no call on the dunk. If I had a knee hit the left side of my face, I'd jerk to the right, too. I've watched several times, and I just can't see passing on PC.

Watch again

Camron Rust Thu Jan 22, 2015 06:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 951639)
Every year at our NFHS interps meeting I ask this question: "when will the NFHS implement a Restricted Area semi-circle marking under the basket on the floor of highschool gymnasia? Like they have in college and nba?"

And, each year I get the canned response from whomever is leading the discussion: "we don't need one because our refs have good judgement."

In this present video case the officials would have been greatly aided by having such a reference marking on the floor. It appeared that the defender established LGP far enough from the front end of the rim (i.e., was not under the rim). Although spectacular, the dunk was a charge. I call "charge", then "taunting" T--as the taunt was egregious.

Why would that matter? Distance form the rim should be no part of deciding if this play is or is not a charge or block in a HS game. If you are basing your calls in a HS on where the defender is you are getting many of those calls wrong.

If you're working NCAA or NBA games, then the location does matter. But, you have the markings there too.

You can't call HS games by NCAA rules and be right when the rules are different.

buffafox Fri Jan 23, 2015 03:05pm

Similar event
 
I had a play like this that happened to me last week. I called an offensive foul because I saw contact but didn't see where the contact occurred. My partner, who is a veteran official and was trail, asked me after the game what I saw. He asked me what I could have done better. I told him I should have cut into the paint to get a better angle and he agreed.

I recently got film on that game and reviewed it, specifically that call. If I was in a better position, I wouldn't have called the foul. In this situation, the official was in position, saw that the defender flopped had no foul.

I would also have called a technical for taunting.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1