The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Shooter for pregame technical foul shots (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99114-shooter-pregame-technical-foul-shots.html)

splitveer Wed Jan 21, 2015 11:27am

Shooter for pregame technical foul shots
 
Pre-game warm-up; player dunks at the 12 minute mark. Coach was informed of the player and that he would lose his coaching box.
10 minute mark; official book is checked and approved.
Start of game; coach of the team who is shooting free-throws wants a substitute to shoot the technical foul shots.
I understand anyone can shoot a technical foul.

Can you substitute for a starter other than for injury before the game starts?? And if so, does the substitute have to stay in and start the game instead of the original starter.

BryanV21 Wed Jan 21, 2015 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by splitveer (Post 951436)
Pre-game warm-up; player dunks at the 12 minute mark. Coach was informed of the player and that he would lose his coaching box.
10 minute mark; official book is checked and approved.
Start of game; coach of the team who is shooting free-throws wants a substitute to shoot the technical foul shots.
I understand anyone can shoot a technical foul.

Can you substitute for a starter other than for injury before the game starts?? And if so, does the substitute have to stay in and start the game instead of the original starter.

Free throws for a technical foul may be attempted by any player, including an eligible substitute or designated starter. Since a substitute is not eligible after the 10 minute mark, and before the ball becomes live, then I'd say one of the designated starters must take the shots.

Since the tech happened at 12 minutes, the coach had two minutes to change a starter to have whoever shoot the free throws. He didn't do that.

BigCat Wed Jan 21, 2015 12:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 951438)
Free throws for a technical foul may be attempted by any player, including an eligible substitute or designated starter. Since a substitute is not eligible after the 10 minute mark, and before the ball becomes live, then I'd say one of the designated starters must take the shots.

Since the tech happened at 12 minutes, the coach had two minutes to change a starter to have whoever shoot the free throws. He didn't do that.

Bryan, look at 3-3-2a. you can change a designated starter to attempt a technical foul free throw. also, split veer, once you bounce ball to free thrower the game has started. another sub can enter the game for another player. the player who was going to start but was removed for the free throw shooter cannot enter until clock runs. thx

the sub who shot the free throws can be removed also.

HokiePaul Wed Jan 21, 2015 12:05pm

The coach can sub to shoot the Technical Free Throws. The starter who was replaced must sit until the clock is legally started. This has nothing to do with marking starters in the book. Starters remain marked in the book and bring the sub in when ready to start game with FTs

La Rikardo Wed Jan 21, 2015 12:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by splitveer (Post 951436)
Pre-game warm-up; player dunks at the 12 minute mark. Coach was informed of the player and that he would lose his coaching box.
10 minute mark; official book is checked and approved.
Start of game; coach of the team who is shooting free-throws wants a substitute to shoot the technical foul shots.
I understand anyone can shoot a technical foul.

Can you substitute for a starter other than for injury before the game starts?? And if so, does the substitute have to stay in and start the game instead of the original starter.

By 10-1-2a, a team shall not change a designated starter unless necessitated as in 3-2-2a. By 3-2-2a, one of the reasons that necessitates changing a designated starter without charging a team technical foul is to attempt a technical foul free throw. The substitute may shoot the technical foul free throws.

By 3-3-3, the substitute becomes a player when he legally enters the court. His replacement (who, in OP's situation, was a designated starter) becomes bench personnel at that time. By 3-3-4, that team member shall not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been properly started following his replacement.

In plain English, the team member who shot the technical foul free throws is not required to remain a player following the completion of the division-line throw-in his team will be awarded -- he may be substituted out of the game following his free throws -- but he may not be replaced by the team member whom he replaced.

BryanV21 Wed Jan 21, 2015 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 951443)
Bryan, look at 3-3-2a. you can change a designated starter to attempt a technical foul free throw. also, split veer, once you bounce ball to free thrower the game has started. another sub can enter the game for another player. the player who was going to start but was removed for the free throw shooter cannot enter until clock runs. thx

the sub who shot the free throws can be removed also.

I'm assuming you're right, and I'm wrong. However, I can't find 3-3-2a. Is it from an older rule book (not the 2014-15)? Or did you mean 3.3.2a, meaning a case play, in which case... is it form an older case book?

EDIT: Thanks to La Rikardo... 3-2-2a

splitveer Wed Jan 21, 2015 12:32pm

OK.....I have had a thought when reading about the tech foul situation at the beginning of the game.

Does the same player have to shoot both tech foul shots? Or can one player shoot one and then another player shoot the second?

Not sure why a coach would do this, but just want to be prepared. Couldn't find this anywhere.

Thanks

deecee Wed Jan 21, 2015 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by splitveer (Post 951453)
OK.....I have had a thought when reading about the tech foul situation at the beginning of the game.

Does the same player have to shoot both tech foul shots? Or can one player shoot one and then another player shoot the second?

Not sure why a coach would do this, but just want to be prepared. Couldn't find this anywhere.

Thanks

you can have multiple players shoot 2 T's. However then depending on how they substitute the substitution rule will be in effect. Once a player has been substituted out of the game he/she may not return until the game clock has been legally started.

crosscountry55 Wed Jan 21, 2015 12:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 951447)
I'm assuming you're right, and I'm wrong. However, I can't find 3-3-2a. Is it from an older rule book (not the 2014-15)? Or did you mean 3.3.2a, meaning a case play, in which case... is it form an older case book?

EDIT: Thanks to La Rikardo... 3-2-2a

In NFHS, rule book nomenclature is separated by hyphens (-), while case book nomenclature is separated by periods (.). For example, (I'm making this up), case play 1.2.3's primary rule reference is Rule 1-2-3.

BigCat Wed Jan 21, 2015 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 951457)
In NFHS, rule book nomenclature is separated by hyphens (-), while case book nomenclature is separated by periods (.). For example, (I'm making this up), case play 1.2.3's primary rule reference is Rule 1-2-3.

Thx Bryan knows that. i just screwed him up by citing wrong section without looking it up first…sorry Bryan

Adam Wed Jan 21, 2015 12:48pm

If you call the T when it happens, prior to the 10 minute mark, the coach can change his starters to include the shooter, then bring in the sub (previously noted as a starter) after the shots.

If all this happens after the 10 minute mark, the coach can sub in a shooter but the starter who was subbed out cannot return until the clock has run (as has been noted).

BryanV21 Wed Jan 21, 2015 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 951463)
Thx Bryan knows that. i just screwed him up by citing wrong section without looking it up first…sorry Bryan

You cited that without looking it up first? I don't care that you were a little off... that's still impressive. I'd be happy just to cite the correct rule, let alone the section and article.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 21, 2015 02:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 951456)
you can have multiple players shoot 2 T's. However then depending on how they substitute the substitution rule will be in effect. Once a player has been substituted out of the game he/she may not return until the game clock has been legally started.

In NCAA, the same player must shoot both FTs for a T.

Nevadaref Wed Jan 21, 2015 04:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 951438)
Free throws for a technical foul may be attempted by any player, including an eligible substitute or designated starter. Since a substitute is not eligible after the 10 minute mark, and before the ball becomes live, then I'd say one of the designated starters must take the shots.

Since the tech happened at 12 minutes, the coach had two minutes to change a starter to have whoever shoot the free throws. He didn't do that.

Ouch. Back to freshman ball for you. This is a rule that just about every official knows. See 3-2-2a.

BryanV21 Wed Jan 21, 2015 04:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 951510)
Ouch. Back to freshman ball for you. This is a rule that just about every official knows. See 3-2-2a.

While I'm sure just about every official, myself included, knows that even a substitute can shoot the free throws for a technical foul, I doubt that just about every official was aware of how that would work for a technical that occurred before the game started.

I guess the varsity teams on my schedule will suffer... sorry.

Raymond Wed Jan 21, 2015 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 951513)
While I'm sure just about every official, myself included, knows that even a substitute can shoot the free throws for a technical foul, I doubt that just about every official was aware of how that would work for a technical that occurred before the game started.

I guess the varsity teams on my schedule will suffer... sorry.

Just treat it as a normal substitution situation. A starter has been subbed out, therefore he cannot enter the game until the clock has been legally started.

BryanV21 Wed Jan 21, 2015 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 951516)
Just treat it as a normal substitution situation. A starter has been subbed out, therefore he cannot enter the game until the clock has been legally started.

Yeah, that makes sense. I just wasn't aware of a team being able to substitute a player before the game started/ball was made live. It seemed to fall under the "changing a designated starter" rule. Little did I know it was an exception, just like a player that is injured or whatever.

j51969 Wed Jan 21, 2015 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 951513)
While I'm sure just about every official, myself included, knows that even a substitute can shoot the free throws for a technical foul, I doubt that just about every official was aware of how that would work for a technical that occurred before the game started.

I guess the varsity teams on my schedule will suffer... sorry.

Plus if he's starting 5 guys that can't shoot a free throw he's got bigger problems then an official kicking a substitution rule.

Camron Rust Wed Jan 21, 2015 06:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 951519)
Yeah, that makes sense. I just wasn't aware of a team being able to substitute a player before the game started/ball was made live. It seemed to fall under the "changing a designated starter" rule. Little did I know it was an exception, just like a player that is injured or whatever.

Once the technical foul is recorded, the game has effectively started.

johnny d Wed Jan 21, 2015 07:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 951438)
Free throws for a technical foul may be attempted by any player, including an eligible substitute or designated starter. Since a substitute is not eligible after the 10 minute mark, and before the ball becomes live, then I'd say one of the designated starters must take the shots.

Since the tech happened at 12 minutes, the coach had two minutes to change a starter to have whoever shoot the free throws. He didn't do that.


Wrong on so many levels.

BryanV21 Wed Jan 21, 2015 07:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 951549)
Wrong on so many levels.

Look out into the ocean... that boat has sailed.

Raymond Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 951552)
Look out into the ocean... that boat has sailed.

That's funny.

Nevadaref Thu Jan 22, 2015 04:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 951547)
Once the technical foul is recorded, the game has effectively started.

Somewhat, but not actually true. Strictly speaking, the game doesn't start until the ball first becomes live per 5-6-1.
Your comment is akin to saying that the game has effectively started when the officials take the floor because their jurisdiction has begun and they may penalize illegal actions.

Nevadaref Thu Jan 22, 2015 04:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 951549)
Wrong on so many levels.

Speaking from experience? ;)

Camron Rust Thu Jan 22, 2015 05:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 951605)
Somewhat, but not actually true. Strictly speaking, the game doesn't start until the ball first becomes live per 5-6-1.
Your comment is akin to saying that the game has effectively started when the officials take the floor because their jurisdiction has begun and they may penalize illegal actions.

That is why I said "effectively". A foul has been recorded in the book. For the purpose of substituting, it has effectively started and that is back up by the case plays saying a starter can be legally substituted for in order to shoot the T. It has not technically since the ball must become live, but that isn't what I said.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1