The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NFHS - End of Game Situation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99054-nfhs-end-game-situation.html)

Tio Wed Jan 14, 2015 12:47pm

NFHS - End of Game Situation
 
I wanted to solicit the thoughts of the NFHS officials in the group. I was evaluating a HS game last night for our local group.

Team A is behind 65-60. They score a 2 point basket with 3 seconds remaining and are now down 65-62. Team A is out of timeouts. Team B knows that with less than 5 seconds remaining, they do not need to inbound the ball and are making no attempt to do so. To stop the clock, A1 grabs the ball and runs off the court. What, if any ruling do you have? If you can find a caseplay, I would be grateful.

I only work NCAA and thankfully, with a stopped clock under one minute, this is not a situation I need to worry about.

AremRed Wed Jan 14, 2015 01:06pm

9.2.10 SITUATION A:

A1 is out of bounds for a throw-in. B1 reaches through the boundary plane and knocks the ball out of A1's hands. Team B has not been warned previously for a throw-in plane infraction.

RULING: B1 is charged with a technical foul and it also results in the official having a team warning recorded and reported to the head coach.

COMMENT: In situations with the clock running and five or less seconds left in the game, a throw-in plane violation or interfering with the ball following a goal should be ignored if its only purpose is to stop the clock. However, if the tactic in any way interferes with the thrower's efforts to make a throw-in, a technical foul for delay shall be called even though no previous warning had been issued. In this situation, if the official stopped the clock and issued a team warning, it would allow the team to benefit from the tactic. (4-47-1; 10-1-5b, c; 10-3-10)

Tio Wed Jan 14, 2015 01:11pm

Awesome... thanks.

jTheUmp Wed Jan 14, 2015 01:17pm

Two options as I see it:
1) ignore A1's action, let time expire, get to the dressing room. (similar to 9.9.3 or 9.2.10.A)
2) Unsporting T on A1, 2 free throws for B + inbound at division line.

I'd almost certainly go with Option 1. I can't think of a scenario where Option 2 would be preferred.

deecee Wed Jan 14, 2015 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jTheUmp (Post 950290)
Two options as I see it:
1) ignore A1's action, let time expire, get to the dressing room. (similar to 9.9.3 or 9.2.10.A)
2) Unsporting T on A1, 2 free throws for B + inbound at division line.

I'd almost certainly go with Option 1. I can't think of a scenario where Option 2 would be preferred.

This action actually sounds like the perfect time to go with the T. Don't see how I could defend not calling the T here if this were brought up to my assignor or board.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 14, 2015 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 950292)
This action actually sounds like the perfect time to go with the T. Don't see how I could defend not calling the T here if this were brought up to my assignor or board.

The case play should be all the defense you need.

deecee Wed Jan 14, 2015 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 950293)
The case play should be all the defense you need.

I suppose.

La Rikardo Wed Jan 14, 2015 02:03pm

Suppose Team A is the home team and the timer, who is affiliated with the home team, stops the clock upon seeing that A1 has run off with the ball. Though we might like to simply end the game with the rationale that time would likely have expired before the end of the throw-in, I don't think the rules support such a ruling. Obviously, we will censure the timer and notify the appropriate authorities of the situation following the game, however at this point, must we rule an unsporting technical foul against A1 and proceed accordingly?

rockyroad Wed Jan 14, 2015 02:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by La Rikardo (Post 950300)
Suppose Team A is the home team and the timer, who is affiliated with the home team, stops the clock upon seeing that A1 has run off with the ball. Though we might like to simply end the game with the rationale that time would likely have expired before the end of the throw-in, I don't think the rules support such a ruling. Obviously, we will censure the timer and notify the appropriate authorities of the situation following the game, however at this point, must we rule an unsporting technical foul against A1 and proceed accordingly?

You absolutely should go with the T in this case.

HokiePaul Wed Jan 14, 2015 02:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by La Rikardo (Post 950300)
Suppose Team A is the home team and the timer, who is affiliated with the home team, stops the clock upon seeing that A1 has run off with the ball. Though we might like to simply end the game with the rationale that time would likely have expired before the end of the throw-in, I don't think the rules support such a ruling. Obviously, we will censure the timer and notify the appropriate authorities of the situation following the game, however at this point, must we rule an unsporting technical foul against A1 and proceed accordingly?

If you have a count, you have definate knowledge and can end the game based on that count, even if the timer incorrectly stops the clock. But if the defense had grabbed the ball, you shouldn't have started a count so you can issue a Technical for Delay of Game (not an unsporting T -- although penalty is the same).

Not sure why the team would choose to go the delay of game option. They could accomplish the same result by calling an excessive time out, and it would probably stop the clock quicker.

APG Wed Jan 14, 2015 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 950307)

Not sure why the team would choose to go the delay of game option. They could accomplish the same result by calling an excessive time out, and it would probably stop the clock quicker.

Most officials know that an excessive TO results in a T.

There's a chance that the officials don't know the correct ruling on this play and would go with the DOG warning rather than ignoring the interference or a T. If you get the DOG warning, you stop the clock with no real penalty.

MD Longhorn Wed Jan 14, 2015 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 950303)
You absolutely should go with the T in this case.

No.

You don't.

Proper answer supplied above.

rockyroad Wed Jan 14, 2015 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 950323)
No.

You don't.

Proper answer supplied above.

Uhmmm...you did read the addendum to the OP that La Rikardo asked, right?

MD Longhorn Wed Jan 14, 2015 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 950324)
Uhmmm...you did read the addendum to the OP that La Rikardo asked, right?

This: "In situations with the clock running and five or less seconds left in the game, a throw-in plane violation or interfering with the ball following a goal should be ignored if its only purpose is to stop the clock. "

Along with the fact that we have positive knowledge of when the basket went in and can chop the next 5 seconds if we have to ...

Game over.

Any other solution and you're giving benefit where the rules do not intend to both the guy that ran off with the ball and the scorekeeper trying to cheat.

Camron Rust Wed Jan 14, 2015 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by La Rikardo (Post 950300)
Suppose Team A is the home team and the timer, who is affiliated with the home team, stops the clock upon seeing that A1 has run off with the ball. Though we might like to simply end the game with the rationale that time would likely have expired before the end of the throw-in, I don't think the rules support such a ruling. Obviously, we will censure the timer and notify the appropriate authorities of the situation following the game, however at this point, must we rule an unsporting technical foul against A1 and proceed accordingly?

Do the same as suggested above....just count to 3, make a clock correction, and declare the game over.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1