![]() |
Backcourt violation?
Team A is shooting a free throw. Team B rebounds the ball and makes a pass to a teammate in the front court. The pass hits the leg of Team B in the front court by the free throw line. The ball rolls back to the backcourt. Team B is the first to touch the ball in the backcourt. What is the call?
|
backcourt violation.
|
Break it down:
a) Does Team B have team control in-bounds? (yes) b) Does the ball gain frontcourt status when it touches the B player's leg? (yes) c) Was Team B last to touch the ball while it was in the frontcourt (yes, by your description) d) Was Team B first to touch the ball after it went into the backcourt? (yes) Since all of those things are true, we have a backcourt violation. If any of those things are not true, you would not have a backcourt violation. |
PC Inbounds? Yes
Last to touch before going to BC? Yes First to touch after going to BC? Yes Any exceptions apply? No. So, it's a violation |
Not disputing here...but why is the play above different than this play?
A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. So on a throw in, touch does not constitute control, but on a throw from BC to FC, touch does constitute control. Should be the same if you ask me... I get where NFHS says it isn't the same...but I wish it was just for ease of consistency. |
Your situation is different precisely because it's a throw-in.
|
Quote:
I had both situations happen in the same game the other night...explaining the difference to a coach in a heated 2 point conference game is not the easiest...come on NFHS, work with me here! |
Quote:
Remember, that "player and team control during a throw-in" is relevant to fouls, and was specifically made part of the rule to overcome the double penalty of losing possession and possible bonus free throw(s) to the opponents, if the throw-in team committed a foul during the throw-in. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Why does 9-9-1 say there must be player control in the front court when there are interps that say otherwise? Should the rule be modified or are the interpretations wrong?
|
Quote:
In the OP, PC has been well established in bounds, and thus all the restrictions are in play. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27am. |