The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correctable error (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99016-correctable-error.html)

Sharpshooternes Sat Jan 10, 2015 12:27pm

Correctable error
 
What do you do when you have a unawarded free throw at the end of the first half. Example: Team A is fouled just before end of half. It is the 7th foul but officials are told 6th. It is discovered during half time. How is play resumed? Are the freethows counted in the first half or second half? Differences in HS NCAA? Ball comes in at division line with AP arrow correct?

referee99 Sat Jan 10, 2015 12:36pm

2.10.1 situation c:
 
2.10.1 SITUATION C: A1 is fouled with one second remaining in the second quarter. Team A is awarded a throw-in and A1 passes the ball inbounds to A2, the horn sounds ending the quarter. As officials enter the court from the half-time intermission, the scorer informs the Referee that A1 should have been awarded one-and-one bonus situation. RULING: The error is discovered within the correctable error timeframe, and shall be corrected. A1 is awarded a one-and-one bonus situation with the lane cleared. Resume play from the point of interruption, which is an alternating-possession throw-in to start the third quarter. (2- 10-1a; 2-10-6; 5-6-2 Exception 3)

Adam Sat Jan 10, 2015 12:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 949505)
What do you do when you have a unawarded free throw at the end of the first half. Example: Team A is fouled just before end of half. It is the 7th foul but officials are told 6th. It is discovered during half time. How is play resumed? Are the freethows counted in the first half or second half? Differences in HS NCAA? Ball comes in at division line with AP arrow correct?

Shoot the shots at the beginning of the 3rd quarter. I'd have the shot at the team's 1st half basket, but this is hardly a point of contention for me. Yes, you'd start the 3rd quarter with an AP throw in at the division line.

frezer11 Sat Jan 10, 2015 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 949505)
What do you do when you have a unawarded free throw at the end of the first half. Example: Team A is fouled just before end of half. It is the 7th foul but officials are told 6th. It is discovered during half time. How is play resumed? Are the freethows counted in the first half or second half? Differences in HS NCAA? Ball comes in at division line with AP arrow correct?

Start by shooting the 1-1 with lanes cleared, and when the first is missed or second is completed, start the second half with the arrow. Funny, I haven't had a correctable error in about 10 years, but I had almost the same thing happen in December, only ours was discovered just before the 4th quarter. We screwed it up though and started the 4th with a 1-1, occupied lanes, and played the result

BryanV21 Sat Jan 10, 2015 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 949505)
What do you do when you have a unawarded free throw at the end of the first half. Example: Team A is fouled just before end of half. It is the 7th foul but officials are told 6th. It is discovered during half time. How is play resumed? Are the freethows counted in the first half or second half? Differences in HS NCAA? Ball comes in at division line with AP arrow correct?

The error can be corrected, as the allowable time for such hasn't passed. Now, it would be part of the first half, as it can't carry over into the second. That means you should do the following...

1. wait until the team's come out, and explain the error to both coaches.

2. Shoot the 1-and-1 free throws with the lanes clear, since there's no time on the clock. If one or both are hit, those points shall be recorded as being scored in the first half.

3. Since there was no time left in the half, it doesn't matter if the shooter hits both free throws, in which case Team B would have gotten the ball. Play is resumed as it normally would be for the second half, meaning we go to the AP arrow.

La Rikardo Sat Jan 10, 2015 07:31pm

Since the second quarter did not end, there should be an intermission following the completion of the free throw(s)! :D

Nevadaref Sat Jan 10, 2015 07:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 949513)
The error can be corrected, as the allowable time for such hasn't passed. Now, it would be part of the first half, as it can't carry over into the second. That means you should do the following...

1. wait until the team's come out, and explain the error to both coaches.

2. Shoot the 1-and-1 free throws with the lanes clear, since there's no time on the clock. If one or both are hit, those points shall be recorded as being scored in the first half.

3. Since there was no time left in the half, it doesn't matter if the shooter hits both free throws, in which case Team B would have gotten the ball. Play is resumed as it normally would be for the second half, meaning we go to the AP arrow.

All very nice in theory, but do you have a rule citation for your thesis that a correctable error cannot carry-over from one period to the next?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Jan 11, 2015 12:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 949560)
All very nice in theory, but do you have a rule citation for your thesis that a correctable error cannot carry-over from one period to the next?


I can't remember off hand which rule it is but no penalty can carry over to another period. It has been like that for over 45 years.

MTD, Sr.

frezer11 Sun Jan 11, 2015 12:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 949601)
I can't remember off hand which rule it is but not penalty can carry over to another period. It has been like that for over 45 years.

MTD, Sr.

Huh?????? Never heard this. The correctable error (2-10) rule specifically states when you are able to correct an error, and no mention is made about not being able to carry over to another period.

frezer11 Sun Jan 11, 2015 12:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 949560)
All very nice in theory, but do you have a rule citation for your thesis that a correctable error cannot carry-over from one period to the next?

I don't think he implied that they can't?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Jan 11, 2015 12:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 949607)
Huh?????? Never heard this. The correctable error (2-10) rule specifically states when you are able to correct an error, and no mention is made about not being able to carry over to another period.


What I meant that the FTs for the CE are considered part of the Period in which they should have been attempted.

A good example of a penalty not carrying over to the next period is B1 committing a IPF against A1 just before the Signal sound to end the First Quarter (NFHS) and First Half (NCAA M & W); and for the sake of disucssion we will assume the game is a game being player under NFHS Rules. The Team B has the AP Arrow. A1 will attempt two FTs with the FT Lane cleared before the one minute period between the First and Second Quarter. Team A will not receive the ball for a TI nearest the sport of B1's IPF to start the Second Quarter, but Team B will receive the ball at the Division Line opposite the Scorer's Table per the AP Arrow to start the Second Quarter.

MTD, Sr.

frezer11 Sun Jan 11, 2015 12:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 949612)
What I meant that the FTs for the CE are considered part of the Period in which they should have been attempted.

A good example of a penalty not carrying over to the next period is B1 committing a IPF against A1 just before the Signal sound to end the First Quarter (NFHS) and First Half (NCAA M & W); and for the sake of disucssion we will assume the game is a game being player under NFHS Rules. The Team B has the AP Arrow. A1 will attempt two FTs with the FT Lane cleared before the one minute period between the First and Second Quarter. Team A will not receive the ball for a TI nearest the sport of B1's IPF to start the Second Quarter, but Team B will receive the ball at the Division Line opposite the Scorer's Table per the AP Arrow to start the Second Quarter.

MTD, Sr.

Got ya. Based on your previous posts on this forum, that seemed out of place, to the point where I then starting questioning my own knowledge!!

just another ref Sun Jan 11, 2015 12:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 949601)
I can't remember off hand which rule it is but no penalty can carry over to another period. It has been like that for over 45 years.

MTD, Sr.

5-6-2 exceptions 3: No penalty or part of a penalty carries over from one quarter or extra period to the next, except when a correctable error, as in 2-10 is rectified.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Jan 11, 2015 12:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 949612)
What I meant that the FTs for the CE are considered part of the Period in which they should have been attempted.

A good example of a penalty not carrying over to the next period is B1 committing a IPF against A1 just before the Signal sound to end the First Quarter (NFHS) and First Half (NCAA M & W); and for the sake of disucssion we will assume the game is a game being player under NFHS Rules. The Team B has the AP Arrow. A1 will attempt two FTs with the FT Lane cleared before the one minute period between the First and Second Quarter. Team A will not receive the ball for a TI nearest the sport of B1's IPF to start the Second Quarter, but Team B will receive the ball at the Division Line opposite the Scorer's Table per the AP Arrow to start the Second Quarter.

MTD, Sr.

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 949616)
5-6-2 exceptions 3: No penalty or part of a penalty carries over from one quarter or extra period to the next, except when a correctable error, as in 2-10 is rectified.


NFHS R5-S6-A2, Exception 3 really means that the penalty (meaning FTs but excluding TIs) for a CE can be applied in the next Period if the CE Time Limit has not expired.

Lets tweak the play that I described above. For some reason the Game Officials fell asleep and forgot to award A1 his/her two FTs until immediately after Team B had inbounded the AP TI to start the Second Quarter. A1 would attempt his two FTs but Team B would receive the Ball for a TI nearest the spot of the ball when the Officials stopped play to administer A1 his two FTs. Team A would not receive the Ball for a TI after A1's FTs as part of the Penalty for B1's IPF at the end of the First Quarter.

MTD, Sr.

just another ref Sun Jan 11, 2015 12:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 949618)
NFHS R5-S6-A2, Exception 3 really means that the penalty (meaning FTs but excluding TIs) for a CE can be applied in the next Period if the CE Time Limit has not expired.


Right. As opposed to what YOU said.

Quote:

NO penalty may carry over.......

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Jan 11, 2015 01:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 949619)
Right. As opposed to what YOU said.


I don't like the way the Rule is worded because CEs are not really penalties that are being carried over which as I stated in my tweaked play Team A does not receive the ball for a TI because it is part of the penalty for a IPF.

CEs are just that correcting an Error made by the Game Officials and the CE Rule only speaks in terms of Time Limits with not mention prohibiting the Time Limit spanning two Periods. That is why I do not like the wording of R5-6-S2, Exception 3. I guess I say tomaaato, and you say tomaahhto. :D

MTD, Sr.

Camron Rust Sun Jan 11, 2015 01:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 949601)
I can't remember off hand which rule it is but no penalty can carry over to another period. It has been like that for over 45 years.

MTD, Sr.

While that is true, it assumes the penalties are properly applied when they should be.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Jan 11, 2015 01:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 949626)
While that is true, it assumes the penalties are properly applied when they should be.


Camron:

Read my clarification in Post #16.

MTD, Sr.

just another ref Sun Jan 11, 2015 01:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 949625)
I I guess I say tomaaato, and you say tomaahhto. :D

MTD, Sr.

We actually say tuh-may-ter. It's a Southern thing. You wouldn't understand. :rolleyes:

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Jan 11, 2015 01:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 949631)
We actually say tuh-may-ter. It's a Southern thing. You wouldn't understand. :rolleyes:


I like it and yes I would understand.

MTD, Sr.

Camron Rust Sun Jan 11, 2015 03:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 949627)
Camron:

Read my clarification in Post #16.

MTD, Sr.

Yep....saw that after I had replied to the earlier post.

Nevadaref Sun Jan 11, 2015 04:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 949625)
I don't like the way the Rule is worded because CEs are not really penalties that are being carried over which as I stated in my tweaked play Team A does not receive the ball for a TI because it is part of the penalty for a IPF.

CEs are just that correcting an Error made by the Game Officials and the CE Rule only speaks in terms of Time Limits with not mention prohibiting the Time Limit spanning two Periods. That is why I do not like the wording of R5-6-S2, Exception 3. I guess I say tomaaato, and you say tomaahhto. :D

MTD, Sr.

I don't agree with that. You have the right conclusion, but the wrong reason.
The reason that Team A does not receive a throw-in in addition to the two FTs is that a throw-in is not one of the five correctable errors, so BY RULE the officials may only award Team A it's merited FTs, but not also it's merited throw-in.

The fact that the CE time limit in such a case spans over two periods of play has absolutely no impact. To prove that simply consider the proper administration of the same CE during a single period of play. The officials would still correct the mistake by awarding only the FTs and not the subsequent throw-in. The game would be continued at the POI.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Jan 11, 2015 02:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 949662)
I don't agree with that. You have the right conclusion, but the wrong reason.

The reason that Team A does not receive a throw-in in addition to the two FTs is that a throw-in is not one of the five correctable errors, so BY RULE the officials may only award Team A it's merited FTs, but not also it's merited throw-in.

The fact that the CE time limit in such a case spans over two periods of play has absolutely no impact. To prove that simply consider the proper administration of the same CE during a single period of play. The officials would still correct the mistake by awarding only the FTs and not the subsequent throw-in. The game would be continued at the POI.


Nevada:

That is what I said only using less words (I can't believe I just said that, :p.).

MTD, Sr.

BillyMac Sun Jan 11, 2015 02:16pm

Only 6,264 Posts ???
 
What did they do? Reset to zero when your posts hit one million?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 949718)
That is what I said only using less words.

Which could be said about every single post that you've ever made on the Forum.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Jan 11, 2015 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 949612)
What I meant that the FTs for the CE are considered part of the Period in which they should have been attempted.

A good example of a penalty not carrying over to the next period is B1 committing a IPF against A1 just before the Signal sound to end the First Quarter (NFHS) and First Half (NCAA M & W); and for the sake of disucssion we will assume the game is a game being player under NFHS Rules. The Team B has the AP Arrow. A1 will attempt two FTs with the FT Lane cleared before the one minute period between the First and Second Quarter. Team A will not receive the ball for a TI nearest the sport of B1's IPF to start the Second Quarter, but Team B will receive the ball at the Division Line opposite the Scorer's Table per the AP Arrow to start the Second Quarter.

MTD, Sr.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 949618)
NFHS R5-S6-A2, Exception 3 really means that the penalty (meaning FTs but excluding TIs) for a CE can be applied in the next Period if the CE Time Limit has not expired.

Lets tweak the play that I described above. For some reason the Game Officials fell asleep and forgot to award A1 his/her two FTs until immediately after Team B had inbounded the AP TI to start the Second Quarter. A1 would attempt his two FTs but Team B would receive the Ball for a TI nearest the spot of the ball when the Officials stopped play to administer A1 his two FTs. Team A would not receive the Ball for a TI after A1's FTs as part of the Penalty for B1's IPF at the end of the First Quarter.

MTD, Sr.


After getting a good night's sleep, I came up with a play that is not a play on an Exam but is more likely happen in real life.


B1 fouls A1 as he attempts an unsuccessful 3-pt FG just prior to the Signal that ends the First Quarter. The AP Arrow is Team B's to start the Second Quarter.

A1 is awarded two rather than three FTs.

Immediately after B1 has inbounded the ball to B2 to start the Second Quarter, the Game Officials remember that A1 only attempted two FTs and not three.

A1 would attempt his third FT but Team B would receive the Ball for a TI nearest the spot of the ball when the Officials stopped play to administer A1 his two FTs. Team A would not receive the Ball for a TI after A1's FTs as part of the Penalty for B1's IPF at the end of the First Quarter.


The idea that the Game Officials would fall asleep and forget to award A1 two FTs before starting the Second Quarter is not plausible. LOL!!

MTD, Sr.

Nevadaref Sun Jan 11, 2015 06:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 949722)
After getting a good night's sleep, I came up with a play that is not a play on an Exam but is more likely happen in real life.


B1 INTENTIONALLY fouls A1 as he attempts an unsuccessful 3-pt FG just prior to the Signal that ends the First Quarter. The AP Arrow is Team B's to start the Second Quarter.

A1 is awarded two rather than three FTs.

Immediately after B1 has inbounded the ball to B2 to start the Second Quarter, the Game Officials remember that A1 only attempted two FTs and not three.

A1 would attempt his third FT but Team B would receive the Ball for a TI nearest the spot of the ball when the Officials stopped play to administer A1 his third FT. Team A would not receive the Ball for a TI after A1's FTs as part of the Penalty for B1's IPF at the end of the First Quarter.


The idea that the Game Officials would fall asleep and forget to award A1 two FTs before starting the Second Quarter is not plausible. LOL!!

MTD, Sr.

Fixed it for ya. Otherwise, good play construction.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Jan 11, 2015 06:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 949753)
Fixed it for ya. Otherwise, good play construction.

Thanks. Great minds think alike, LOL!

That is what I get for not taking my post-lunch nap before posting.

MTD, Sr.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1