The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   questions from a non-official (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98967-questions-non-official.html)

CecilOne Sun Jan 04, 2015 11:56am

questions from a non-official
 
NCAA - seen on TV, not live

(A ) Team X shoots & misses. Scramble for rebound, including 2 or 3 bodies on floor.
Team Y ends up with ball, goes to other end of court and makes a shot.

(B) Officials then stop play because a Team X player (X1) is still lying on the floor at Team X's offensive end.
They check monitors and determine that in the above rebound scramble, a Team Y player kicked the Team X player (X1) in the shin.
(replayed several times by me, looked like just rolling over)

(C) It is called a flagrant 1, the kicked player (X1) shoots 2 free throws and Team X gets possession at the Team Y offensive end, where play was stopped.

Questions
1) Should the Team Y basket in (A) be disallowed because it was scored after the foul?

2) Should the Team X possession be determined by the foul location, not the stoppage location?

(D) Before the free throws in (C), a different player (X2) goes to the line and makes a free throw. Team Y then insists it be the fouled player (X1) and the officials remove the point and conduct the proper free throws. The Team X coach says he can sub for the “injured” player (X1), but the officials see X1 walking around and appearing fit to play.

Questions
3) Should the X2 free throw be called a technical?
4) Does question 3 depend on whether the X2 player was already in the game?

Thanks!

Adam Sun Jan 04, 2015 12:03pm

1. No.
2. Play is resumed from where it was interrupted, X's throw in following Y's basket.
3. The only time we call a T is if we know for sure X2 intentionally took a FT to which he wasn't entitled. If there's any chance he thought it was a technical, or any other confusion, just do what they did.
4. No.

bob jenkins Sun Jan 04, 2015 12:44pm

Sounds to me kike the officials got it right.

The only possible issue is any "unsporting" substituting for the "injured" X1, but there's not a whole lot the officials can do for that.

Let me add that if this is NCAAM, then I think there's some rule that if a player is injured that the opposing coach can choose any of the remaining four players on the floor to shoot the FTs -- but I'm not sure if that applies to flagrant fouls.

BigCat Sun Jan 04, 2015 01:40pm

1. no
2. offended team gets ball at place game stopped to review.
3. no T. i'm wondering, since X1 was still lying on the floor, did trainer or coach come out requiring him to leave game? If so he is unable to shoot because of injury....since the foul was flagrant his coach could send any player or team member to line to shoot....including X2.

johnny d Sun Jan 04, 2015 05:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 948618)

Let me add that if this is NCAAM, then I think there's some rule that if a player is injured that the opposing coach can choose any of the remaining four players on the floor to shoot the FTs -- but I'm not sure if that applies to flagrant fouls.


You are correct, when the player is injured because of a flagrant foul, this rule does not apply.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1