The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   End of Game Clock- Rule vs GM (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98877-end-game-clock-rule-vs-gm.html)

wyo96 Thu Dec 18, 2014 04:10pm

End of Game Clock- Rule vs GM
 
Girls Varsity, 7.2 sec left in 4th, home (H) team down by 11. (30-19, neither side is scoring much)

H1 has ball on side line for throw in. H1 throws ball, and V1 slaps it, ball bounces inbounds and goes back out, will be Home ball again. All of this happens bang-bang. So fast that the administering official never chopped the clock.

Clock does not start, so 7.2 still on clock.

No one on the crew has definite knowledge, just that the clock did not start/stop. All agree that it SHOULD have started. (would any on you have definite knowledge in this situation)

What do you do?

1; Nothing, no definite knowledge.
2: Have timer start/stop clock quick so "reaction time" goes off. (.3 to .4 sec I would guess)_
3: Nothing, Game management dictates this is not critical, so play on.


Is your answer different in a 2 point game? (Game Management?)
Is it different if 6:25 is left on the clock?

MD Longhorn Thu Dec 18, 2014 04:13pm

You can only take time off the clock (or put it back on) if you have definite knowledge. I don't see how this would be possible in the scenario you posted.

Raymond Thu Dec 18, 2014 04:15pm

I have a college supervisor who says in his games we are to take 0.3 off the clock in such situations.

Adam Thu Dec 18, 2014 04:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wyo96 (Post 947384)
Girls Varsity, 7.2 sec left in 4th, home (H) team down by 11. (30-19, neither side is scoring much)

H1 has ball on side line for throw in. H1 throws ball, and V1 slaps it, ball bounces inbounds and goes back out, will be Home ball again. All of this happens bang-bang. So fast that the administering official never chopped the clock.

Clock does not start, so 7.2 still on clock.

No one on the crew has definite knowledge, just that the clock did not start/stop. All agree that it SHOULD have started. (would any on you have definite knowledge in this situation)

What do you do?

1; Nothing, no definite knowledge.
2: Have timer start/stop clock quick so "reaction time" goes off. (.3 to .4 sec I would guess)_
3: Nothing, Game management dictates this is not critical, so play on.


Is your answer different in a 2 point game? (Game Management?)
Is it different if 6:25 is left on the clock?

You'll spend more time trying to correct the clock than you would just letting it play out. I'm not worrying about this regardless of the circumstances (score or time left).

BatteryPowered Thu Dec 18, 2014 04:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 947387)
You'll spend more time trying to correct the clock than you would just letting it play out. I'm not worrying about this regardless of the circumstances (score or time left).

Amen!!!

Even in varsity games at some schools in our area we are elated when we go an entire game with the clock starting and stopping properly in normal situations. It would take some of these operators a good 15 minutes to figure out how to take 0.3 off the clock.

Play on...

BigCat Thu Dec 18, 2014 05:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 947386)
I have a college supervisor who says in his games we are to take 0.3 off the clock in such situations.

we dont do that but ive heard about it. where does it come from? the .3 rule says player cant possess ball and shoot if .3 or less left. that doesnt really mean every touch in bounds always takes up at least .3. maybe it does...i just havnt seen anything saying that...

APG Thu Dec 18, 2014 07:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 947394)
we dont do that but ive heard about it. where does it come from? the .3 rule says player cant possess ball and shoot if .3 or less left. that doesnt really mean every touch in bounds always takes up at least .3. maybe it does...i just havnt seen anything saying that...

It comes from the NBA rule that mandates that a ball legally touched inbounds must result in at least .3 coming off the clock (well at least if no reply is being used...replay can go back and take only .2 or .1 off the clock).

AremRed Thu Dec 18, 2014 11:16pm

Worked a Varsity game last year that was a 2 point game in the final minute. Winning team was inbounding near the division line with about 7.5 seconds left, defender immediately slapped ball out of bounds. I'm C tableside. I look at the clock, no time had come off. Winning coach behind me starts screaming to take time off. I tell him we didn't have definite knowledge, etc. and can't take time off. I turn back to the court and here comes Trail (also the R) across the court straight to the timer where he takes off .3 seconds. Not sure if the losing coach called the assignor but I'd like to hear how that conversation went.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Dec 18, 2014 11:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 947386)
I have a college supervisor who says in his games we are to take 0.3 off the clock in such situations.


BNR:

What NCAA Rule does your college supervisor use to defend his position?

MTD, Sr.

Raymond Thu Dec 18, 2014 11:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 947441)
BNR:

What NCAA Rule does your college supervisor use to defend his position?

MTD, Sr.

See APG's response above...We didn't question it, so he had no need to defend it.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Dec 19, 2014 12:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 947444)
See APG's response above...I didn't question it.


Rhetrical question: How can a college supervisor apply and NBA/WNBA rule to the college game?

MTD, Sr.

Raymond Fri Dec 19, 2014 12:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 947445)
Rhetrical question: How can a college supervisor apply and NBA/WNBA rule to the college game?

MTD, Sr.

Rhetorical answer.:p

AremRed Fri Dec 19, 2014 12:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 947446)
Rhetorical answer.:p

Rhetrical* :D

AremRed Fri Dec 19, 2014 12:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 947445)
Rhetrical question: How can a college supervisor apply and NBA/WNBA rule to the college game?

MTD, Sr.

I think you'll have to ask his supervisor on that one Mark.

Adam Fri Dec 19, 2014 12:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 947446)
Rhetorical answer.:p

Ad hominem retort.

AremRed Fri Dec 19, 2014 12:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 947450)
Ad hominem retort.

Fallacious reasoning referencing a decade-old rules interpretation!

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Dec 19, 2014 12:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 947446)
Rhetorical answer.:p


I corrected the spelling and added a P.S. LOL!

MTD, Sr.

biggravy Fri Dec 19, 2014 12:58am

In that spot, without definitive knowledge, we are playing on. Also, I quickly decide we do not have definitive knowledge so the ball is quickly getting put back in play.

In your 6:25 sitch, same thing. We are rolling on.

In your two point left sitch, again, without definitive knowledge, we are playing on. Maybe I am taking game management to an OCD level but with less than a minute left in a close game I am counting one one thousand two one thousand on a touch like that. What if the ball is tipped on the throw in away from all the players and clearly three or four seconds elapse before the ball goes out of bounds way down the court? That is why I am counting.

bob jenkins Fri Dec 19, 2014 08:55am

See this FED interp from 2009-2010 (emphasis added):

SITUATION 11: Team B scores a goal to take the lead by one point. A1 immediately requests and is granted a timeout with three seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Following the time-out, Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in from anywhere along the end line. A1 passes the ball to A2, who is also outside the boundary; A2 passes the ball to A1 who is inbounds and running the length of the court. The timer mistakenly starts the clock when A2 touches A1’s pass while standing outside the boundary. An official notices the clock starting on A2’s touch (a), before A2 releases the throw-in pass to A1, (b), while A2’s throw-in pass is in flight to A1, or (c), as soon as A1 catches the throw-in pass. RULING: This is an obvious timing mistake and may be corrected. In (a) and (b), the official shall blow the whistle, stop play and direct the timer to put three seconds on the game clock. Since the throw-in had not ended, play is resumed with a Team A throw-in from anywhere along the end line. In (c), the official may put the correct time on the clock, but must make some allowance for the touching by A1 – likely 10ths of a second, if displayed. The ball is put in play nearest to where it was located when the stoppage occurred to correct the timing mistake. A “do over” is not permitted in (c), since the throw-in had ended. (4-36; 5-10-1)

wyo96 Fri Dec 19, 2014 12:37pm

No do overs
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 947460)
See this FED interp from 2009-2010 (emphasis added):

A “do over” is not permitted in (c), since the throw-in had ended. (4-36; 5-10-1)

Therefore, since the throw in ended with V1 touch, and no definite knowledge the correct answerer to the OP is 1. That is the path we took, but it was a good discussion on the way home.

wyo96 Fri Dec 19, 2014 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 947460)
See this FED interp from 2009-2010 (emphasis added):

In (c), the official may put the correct time on the clock, but must make some allowance for the touching by A1 – likely 10ths of a second, if displayed. The ball is put in play nearest to where it was located when the stoppage occurred to correct the timing mistake. A “do over” is not permitted in (c), since the throw-in had ended. (4-36; 5-10-1)

Opps, on the first read I thought it said "may" in both cases. Bob do you think the interp supports taking some time off the clock in the OP without definite knowledge?

HokiePaul Fri Dec 19, 2014 01:29pm

My opinion is that you always have definite knowledge that some time should have gone off the clock in any case where the clock didn't start -- it is definitely more than 0.0 seconds. So you do have definite knowledge that at least .1 seconds elapsed. In the case of a tap directly out of bounds where the clock didn't start, I'm probably going with 0.3 seconds.

To not do this could penalize the defense in certain situations. What happens when the clock says .5 and this happens with the offense down by 2? I'm not letting the offense another "catch and shoot" attempt. If I don't have definite knowledge that it was .5 seconds and the game is over, then I'm taking between .3 off the clock and only a "tap" can score.

crosscountry55 Fri Dec 19, 2014 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 947460)
See this FED interp from 2009-2010 (emphasis added):

Good find. I was in the "no definite knowledge" camp until I read this. That case play sold me.

My greater wonder now is why the NFHS removed this from their case book? I'll bet they were concerned that officials' manipulation of the clock was being interpreted too liberally.

Welpe Fri Dec 19, 2014 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 947483)
My greater wonder now is why the NFHS removed this from their case book?

They didn't. This was published in their interpretations that they issue every year.

Altor Fri Dec 19, 2014 01:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 947481)
If I don't have definite knowledge that it was .5 seconds and the game is over, then I'm taking between .3 off the clock and only a "tap" can score.

If a rulebook specifies that at least 0.3 seconds should be run off any time the clock starts properly, that's one thing.

But, I think the logic is faulty to use NFHS 5-2-5 and declare that at least 0.3 seconds must run off on a deflection that goes immediately OOB. That rule says that 0.3 seconds is the minimal amount of time that a player needs to "catch and release." If there's no control, it could be less. Heck, that's essentially what 5-2-5 says in regards to the try.

A player has his hand an inch above the ground over OOB deflects the thrown-in directly to the floor and you'd take off 0.3 seconds? If the player caught the ball and immediately tossed it into the first row, I'd agree with you that at least 0.3 seconds should come off.

just another ref Fri Dec 19, 2014 01:55pm

The interp provokes questions of its own.

.....must make allowance for the touching, likely tenths of a second, if displayed.


likely? if displayed?

And what if they're not displayed? You take off a whole second for this? I don't think so.

HokiePaul Fri Dec 19, 2014 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 947487)
If a rulebook specifies that at least 0.3 seconds should be run off any time the clock starts properly, that's one thing.

But, I think the logic is faulty to use NFHS 5-2-5 and declare that at least 0.3 seconds must run off on a deflection that goes immediately OOB. That rule says that 0.3 seconds is the minimal amount of time that a player needs to "catch and release." If there's no control, it could be less. Heck, that's essentially what 5-2-5 says in regards to the try.

A player has his hand an inch above the ground over OOB deflects the thrown-in directly to the floor and you'd take off 0.3 seconds? If the player caught the ball and immediately tossed it into the first row, I'd agree with you that at least 0.3 seconds should come off.

I agree. It could be 0.1. I'm saying 0.3 for anything that is clearly longer but no other count was being conducted. But if it is immediately out of bounds, then I'd go 0.1. I just don't think it can be 0.0.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1