![]() |
When is a travel, a travel?
I know, I know, there are two other threads going. But mine is different/better :D
My first year officiating a freshman girls basketball game. A girl anticipates a pass, steals it. The problem, she fumbled it in her arms without it hitting the floor for a minimum of 7 steps while covering 15ft on the floor. I called a travel. She was not doing it on purpose, but I assumed it had to be a violation to never put the ball down for that length of time and distance. ???? pfan |
Why do you think it is different? ;)
And you since you know about the other thread, you already know if you were right or wrong. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Here is the relevant one for your situation: 4.44 SITUATION A: A1 attempts to catch the ball while running rapidly. A1 muffs the ball, but succeeds in securing it before it strikes the floor. A1 then begins a *dribble, taking several steps between the time the ball was first touched until it was caught. RULING: There has been no violation provided A1, after catching the ball, released the ball to start the dribble before the pivot foot was lifted from the floor. (4-15) |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56pm. |