The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   The intentional Bobble (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98875-intentional-bobble.html)

MD Longhorn Thu Dec 18, 2014 03:28pm

The intentional Bobble
 
Other thread got convoluted.

What (and when) is the exact violation in this case:

Player in possession of the ball throws the ball upward, takes 2 steps, volleyball bumps it back up, 3 more steps, volleyball bump, 3 more steps... etc.

PG_Ref Thu Dec 18, 2014 03:37pm

Based on your description, what violation would you think to call and why?

Raymond Thu Dec 18, 2014 03:44pm

I'm calling a travel for lifting and replacing the pivot foot prior to a dribble.

Adam Thu Dec 18, 2014 03:51pm

Case play has this as a travel.

BigCat Thu Dec 18, 2014 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 947379)
Case play has this as a travel.

your going to love this Adam. in the other thread play the ball was thrown to the player and he never had control of it so 4-15-2 didnt apply. he just kept bobbling. the case book play says A passes the ball, runs several feet and CATCHES it. that equals travel. i think the catching of it makes it travel. travel rule talks of holding the ball....

in this example the player controls the ball and then throws it. he then runs and bumps it. because he bumped it and didnt catch it---the original throw of the ball was actually the start of a dribble. (dribble begins when player throws/bats ball to floor---doesnt say it has to actually hit floor to be considered start of dribble) when he runs and bumps it he has hit it twice "during the dribble" so he has violated 4-15-2. this could be the air dribble you mentioned. i'm thinking as i go. this could be all wrong... my head hurts.....and the more it hurts im thinking that the other thread play may be better categorized as illegal dribble under 4-15-2 as you said originally..

PG_Ref Thu Dec 18, 2014 05:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 947388)
your going to love this Adam. in the other thread play the ball was thrown to the player and he never had control of it so 4-15-2 didnt apply. he just kept bobbling. the case book play says A passes the ball, runs several feet and CATCHES it. that equals travel. i think the catching of it makes it travel. travel rule talks of holding the ball....

in this example the player controls the ball and then throws it. he then runs and bumps it. because he bumped it and didnt catch it---the original throw of the ball was actually the start of a dribble. (dribble begins when player throws/bats ball to floor---doesnt say it has to actually hit floor to be considered start of dribble) when he runs and bumps it he has hit it twice "during the dribble" so he has violated 4-15-2. this could be the air dribble you mentioned. i'm thinking as i go. this could be all wrong... my head hurts.....and the more it hurts im thinking that the other thread play may be better categorized as illegal dribble under 4-15-2 as you said originally..

The caseplay rules it a traveling violation. This is one of those NFHS rulings where the language of the rule doesn't quite match the caseplay ruling. The ruling says it's a travel because the ball never hit the floor.

4.44.3 SITUATION D:

(a) A1 tosses the ball from one hand to the other while keeping his/her pivot foot in contact with the floor; or (b) A1 throws the ball over the head of B1 and then takes several steps before catching it.

RULING: Legal in (a), but a traveling violation in (b). In (b), since the ball did not touch the floor, the tossing and subsequent catch is illegal. (9-4)

The NFHS has some "wording" work to do ...

JRutledge Thu Dec 18, 2014 05:26pm

When I see someone do this, I will worry about this then. ;)

Peace

BigCat Thu Dec 18, 2014 05:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 947396)
When I see someone do this, I will worry about this then. ;)

Peace

and you wont get a headache...good decision...

Camron Rust Thu Dec 18, 2014 08:25pm

Sometimes, infractions can be covered under more than one rule. This could be an illegal dribble or a a travel. Pick one...it doesn't really matter which.

AremRed Thu Dec 18, 2014 09:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 947419)
Sometimes, infractions can be covered under more than one rule. This could be an illegal dribble or a a travel. Pick one...it doesn't really matter which.

Yup.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1