![]() |
|
|
|||
Count the basket?
Had a situation last night and I need some guidance. I am T, middle of the 3rd quarter (Girls Varisty...not that it matters). A1 puts up a 3 point attempt and while the ball is in the air my partner calls A5 for a push. The attempt was good and I give the signal as my partner is coming out, waving his arms like a windmill in a hurricane. He waves off the basket and awards B the ball for a spot throw-in on the baseline. I thought the basket should have counted but at this point A was up by 35 and it wasn't worth getting into a debate...especially since the coach for A didn't make a sound.
After the game my partner didn't want to discuss the play. My rule book wasn't in my bag (that mistake has been corrected) and I forgot to look when I got home. Should the basket have counted? It was clearly in flight when the foul was committed. Thanks, |
|
|||
Did you ask him what he had and he said "no basket?" In that case, I probably agree with you.
Or, did you just decide not to ask? In that case, I think you were wrong -- this was a rules issue and needs to be discussed (not debated) |
|
|||
Quote:
I did not ask...and yes, I should have. The score was 43-8 and the game was not nearly as close as the score indicates. ![]() When I get home tonight I will have my wife give me 50 whacks with the rule book as pentence. ![]() |
|
|||
Count it. All day, everyday, twice on Sunday.
And what does it mean he doesn't want to discuss it? He actually said "i don't want to talk about it", or he just didn't agree wity your position? |
|
|||
If you're partner is waving it off, it's possible that the foul occured before the release. That's why you have the brief discussion on the spot. I tell my partner "The ball went in -- the basket should count unless your foul occured before the release of the ball". If he waves the shot off then, there's not much you can do as you have to assume the calling official knows when the foul occured better than you do.
Question: Would this be a correctable error for erroneously counting or cancelling a score? I'm thinking of the scenario where the calling official waves off the shot. The coach asks to correct within the allowable time. And the officials discuss and agree that the foul occured after the release. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Seems to me it's entirely possible the foul happened first - why else would he be emphatic about it. Since you didn't discuss it, how do you know. You say it's obvious the shot was first ... but if the shot was in your primary, and the foul in his ... how do you know? (And is it possible the foul he's calling was significantly earlier than whatever you THOUGHT he was calling ... again, in HIS primary, and not where you would be looking with a 3-pointer about to go up).
At the VERY least, while the timing was obvious to you, perhaps it was equally obvious (but opposite) to him... I'm also curious to the exact situation regarding him not wanting to talk about it. Did you try? How? What did he say? Etc.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
count the basket or not | scat03 | Basketball | 28 | Wed Nov 19, 2008 05:55am |
Would basket count? | dknick78 | Basketball | 12 | Sun Jan 27, 2008 12:36am |
Should This Basket Count? | drothamel | Basketball | 9 | Thu Nov 17, 2005 03:53pm |
count the basket? | Dave Birch | Basketball | 7 | Mon Dec 04, 2000 11:31pm |
count the basket or not? | Ralph Stubenthal | Basketball | 9 | Sat Nov 04, 2000 05:34pm |