The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Loose Ball Quiz (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98861-loose-ball-quiz.html)

crosscountry55 Wed Dec 17, 2014 11:43am

Loose Ball Quiz
 
A1 is dribbling the ball near the sideline in his/her frontcourt when it is deflected by B1. A2 dives toward the loose ball, collides with A1, and is injured. While the ball remains loose, the official stops play out of concern for A2’s safety.

How is play resumed?

bob jenkins Wed Dec 17, 2014 11:44am

Was a team still in control? How is play resumed when it's stopped with a team in control?

johnny d Wed Dec 17, 2014 11:46am

A face off at center ice

Adam Wed Dec 17, 2014 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 947101)
A1 is dribbling the ball near the sideline in his/her frontcourt when it is deflected by B1. A2 dives toward the loose ball, collides with A1, and is injured. While the ball remains loose, the official stops play out of concern for A2’s safety.

How is play resumed?

The important question is whether team control had ended.
4-12-3 tells you what events end team control.

AremRed Wed Dec 17, 2014 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 947104)
A face off at center ice

A dropped ball between any number of players from both teams.

La Rikardo Wed Dec 17, 2014 01:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 947104)
A face off at center ice

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 947115)
A dropped ball between any number of players from both teams.

You're both wrong, play must be resumed with a scrum.

mutantducky Wed Dec 17, 2014 06:52pm

but after mid-morning tea.

egj13 Thu Dec 18, 2014 11:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 947101)
A1 is dribbling the ball near the sideline in his/her frontcourt when it is deflected by B1. A2 dives toward the loose ball, collides with A1, and is injured. While the ball remains loose, the official stops play out of concern for A2’s safety.

How is play resumed?

I would hope that A2 is seriously, seriously hurt if play was stopped. My assumption is that the official that did this, did so at such a low level of basketball that no one would care how they resumed play. If an official did this at the HS level or above (even JV) then they should go back down and start over.

No book in front of me, but if my partner did such a thing I suppose I would go to the arrow.

Rich Thu Dec 18, 2014 11:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by egj13 (Post 947317)
I would hope that A2 is seriously, seriously hurt if play was stopped. My assumption is that the official that did this, did so at such a low level of basketball that no one would care how they resumed play. If an official did this at the HS level or above (even JV) then they should go back down and start over.

No book in front of me, but if my partner did such a thing I suppose I would go to the arrow.

And you would be wrong.

My hope is that an official who works anything above freshman ball would be able to give the correct answer to this scenario without having to look it up.

Adam Thu Dec 18, 2014 11:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by egj13 (Post 947317)
No book in front of me, but if my partner did such a thing I suppose I would go to the arrow.

I'm tempted to suggest you should go back down and start over.

so cal lurker Thu Dec 18, 2014 11:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by egj13 (Post 947317)
I would hope that A2 is seriously, seriously hurt if play was stopped. My assumption is that the official that did this, did so at such a low level of basketball that no one would care how they resumed play. If an official did this at the HS level or above (even JV) then they should go back down and start over.

No book in front of me, but if my partner did such a thing I suppose I would go to the arrow.

Perhaps you should go back and read post 4 . . .

Smitty Thu Dec 18, 2014 11:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 947323)
I'm tempted to suggest you should go back down and start over.

Like.

johnny d Thu Dec 18, 2014 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by egj13 (Post 947317)
I would hope that A2 is seriously, seriously hurt if play was stopped. My assumption is that the official that did this, did so at such a low level of basketball that no one would care how they resumed play. If an official did this at the HS level or above (even JV) then they should go back down and start over.

No book in front of me, but if my partner did such a thing I suppose I would go to the arrow.


Sounds like you never have your book in front of you or open.

crosscountry55 Thu Dec 18, 2014 01:48pm

It was a camp game with HS varsity players. My partners were thinking arrow, but I sold them on the fact that in this situation, I believe it fell under the umbrella of an "interrupted game." So given that Team A still had control, we opted for the point of interruption.

The collision was quite severe; my partner felt there might have been a concussion, so that's why he blew the whistle. But if he'd waited a second or two more, the ball was going to end up out of bounds, so we all agreed if we had it to do over again, we'd let the ball dribble out and call an OOB violation on B (based on the deflection).

The clinician who was working our court felt that we should have gone to the arrow because "there was no control." Sheesh. This proves why one needs to read through the rule and case books (cover to cover) at least once per season.

Adam Thu Dec 18, 2014 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 947348)
It was a camp game with HS varsity players. My partners were thinking arrow, but I sold them on the fact that in this situation, I believe it fell under the umbrella of an "interrupted game." So given that Team A still had control, we opted for the point of interruption.

The collision was quite severe; my partner felt there might have been a concussion, so that's why he blew the whistle. But if he'd waited a second or two more, the ball was going to end up out of bounds, so we all agreed if we had it to do over again, we'd let the ball dribble out and call an OOB violation on B (based on the deflection).

The clinician who was working our court felt that we should have gone to the arrow because "there was no control." Sheesh. This proves why one needs to read through the rule and case books (cover to cover) at least once per season.

This scares me. Did he allow you to discuss it?

As for the original scenario, there's no difference here in who gets the ball. No need to wait if you think there's a concussion or serious injury. There's no imminent scoring opportunity to interrupt, just kill the play.

Whether you kill it with the ball bouncing or after it goes OOB, it's still going to be A's ball here. If A had touched it last, I still wouldn't worry about waiting. Let A keep the ball if they only lost it because A2 knocked himself out.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1