The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Columbia vs Kentucky video request (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98822-columbia-vs-kentucky-video-request.html)

zm1283 Wed Dec 10, 2014 08:19pm

Columbia vs Kentucky video request
 
Illegal dribble 12:29 in second half.


Thanks.

zm1283 Wed Dec 10, 2014 08:25pm

10:49 PC foul

Camron Rust Thu Dec 11, 2014 03:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 946415)
Illegal dribble 12:29 in second half.


Thanks.

That was not an illegal dribble as far I as I could tell.

JetMetFan Thu Dec 11, 2014 04:16am

I may or may not be able to get to this later today, but...

Never did I think I'd be looking for video from "Columbia vs. Kentucky."

zm1283 Thu Dec 11, 2014 09:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 946430)
That was not an illegal dribble as far I as I could tell.

It was definitely not an illegal dribble. That's why I found it interesting.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 946433)
I may or may not be able to get to this later today, but...

Never did I think I'd be looking for video from "Columbia vs. Kentucky."

Hey Wednesday is my night off from officiating during the week. I'll take anything on TV I can get.

jeschmit Thu Dec 11, 2014 11:15pm

Here are the plays:

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/gzUTWEy2RpE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/a8_E-WnulTM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

AremRed Thu Dec 11, 2014 11:44pm

Play 1: Fumble

Play 2: Need another angle

La Rikardo Thu Dec 11, 2014 11:53pm

1) no violation

2) can't tell for sure from the angle, plus the video is grainy, but it doesn't look like the defender is jumping straight up

Camron Rust Fri Dec 12, 2014 03:52am

If you watch the officials mechanic on #2, you can see that he was calling the offensive player for clearing out with his arm, not a block/charge situation.

SCRef1983 Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:00am

1. Fumble so no violation.

2. Love the call. Defender jumped straight up and offensive player used left arm while in the air to create space.

walt Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:16am

1) Looks like a fumble to me so no double dribble.

2) Need another angle. Defender looked vertical but can't tell what happened on the front side.

CNYREF Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:17am

1. No violation obvious fumble

2. If he called a clear out with arm I'm okay with it but if it's block charge I would go with block seems like defender is still going forward plus he's in the arc and a secondary defender?? Thoughts?

IUgrad92 Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:25am

2. Does RA come into play? in regards to defender jumping from RA to defend....

zm1283 Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:26am

On the PC, I really wish they would have shown another angle. No one on TV said anything about it and they never showed a replay. Going off of his signal, I don't doubt that is what happened. I requested that video mainly to see if our clips would show another angle.

walt Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:27am

It might but again with bodies in the way and from the angle we have, I can't say whether he was in or out.

SCRef1983 Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IUgrad92 (Post 946626)
2. Does RA come into play? in regards to defender jumping from RA to defend....

Yes. Since it is legal for a defender to jump straight up to obtain legal guarding position, if he takes off from inside the RA and jumps straight up, he is still in the RA and a block should be called. If he takes off from inside the RA and jumps forward, causing him to be outside the RA, he is no longer legal and a block should be called as well.

Raymond Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SCRef1983 (Post 946635)
Yes. Since it is legal for a defender to jump straight up to obtain legal guarding position, if he takes off from inside the RA and jumps straight up, he is still in the RA and a block should be called. ....

If he maintains verticality while jumping within the RA to play defense it is not a block.

BigCat Fri Dec 12, 2014 12:18pm

secondary defender rule says player can't establish LGP in the RA "for purposes of drawing player control foul…." if I'm jumping to block your shot from the RA and there's body contact you might call the foul because of body contact but not simply because i was in the RA and body contact occurred.

johnny d Fri Dec 12, 2014 12:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SCRef1983 (Post 946635)
Yes. Since it is legal for a defender to jump straight up to obtain legal guarding position, if he takes off from inside the RA and jumps straight up, he is still in the RA and a block should be called.

The call in this play was a player control foul because the offensive player used his extended arm to push off the defender. Therefore, in regards to this play, your statement above is incorrect. Unnatural extension of an arm, leg, or foot by the offensive player is one of the exceptions to the RA rule.

SCRef1983 Fri Dec 12, 2014 12:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 946636)
If he maintains verticality while jumping within the RA to play defense it is not a block.

So let me ask a play then:

A1 drives to the basket. B1 is a secondary defender who is located in the RA. B1 jumps in the air maintaining verticality and A1 plows him over. What's the call?

SCRef1983 Fri Dec 12, 2014 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 946648)
The call in this play was a player control foul because the offensive player used his extended arm to push off the defender. Therefore, in regards to this play, your statement above is incorrect. Unnatural extension of an arm, leg, or foot by the offensive player is one of the exceptions to the RA rule.

I agree with that statement and its application to the play mentioned. I answered in a general sense about a defender taking off inside the RA.

Raymond Fri Dec 12, 2014 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SCRef1983 (Post 946649)
So let me ask a play then:

A1 drives to the basket. B1 is a secondary defender who is located in the RA. B1 jumps in the air maintaining verticality and A1 plows him over. What's the call?

It's a PC on the Men's side....defender is not in the RA trying to draw a charge, they are playing the ball.

mutantducky Fri Dec 12, 2014 01:07pm

fumble.
no call or pc if he did use his arm to clear out.

BigCat Fri Dec 12, 2014 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SCRef1983 (Post 946649)
So let me ask a play then:

A1 drives to the basket. B1 is a secondary defender who is located in the RA. B1 jumps in the air maintaining verticality and A1 plows him over. What's the call?

rule wording says secondary defender can't establish LGP in the RA "for the purpose of drawing player control/or charge…" it goes on to say the RA rule does not prohibit the defender in the RA from trying to block the shot.

the purpose of the RA was to stop players from setting up to take charges near or under the basket. the rule specifically allows the player to jump to block the shot. and he's not doing that with "purpose of drawing a charge.."

so if he gets blown up by the offense, when he's not trying to get blown up by the offense, i think yo call the charge. that's just my thought from reading the rule etc. if the guy is truly trying to block the shot and does nothing else wrong.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1