![]() |
IU/UL video request (Video)
I have 2 plays to discuss, both from first half.
1) jump stop followed by using pivot foot (6:10) 2) taunting (5:18) Thank you |
Block/charge at 16:23
|
Block/charge at 11:34
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
<iframe width="853" height="480" src="//www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/qerYKgCdPac" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> Taunting? <iframe width="853" height="480" src="//www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/5SZQvQngkkE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> Quote:
Quote:
|
Play 1: By rule, travel.
Play 2: Tech Play 3: Charge Play 4: Charge |
Quote:
I agree on number 1, but the first time I saw it, I thought the gather was in the air, allowing the pivot. |
Quote:
|
1. If you pause it around 29 seconds you can see the dribble ends with a pivot foot down, therefore this IS a travel, but really tough to see live.
2. Context matters here. I don't see the taunt being significant enough in and of itself to be a T, but it could be in context. 3. Charge 4. Charge |
1. Travel
2. Depends on context 3. Block 4. Charge |
1) I don't see the travel
2) Tech 3) Charge 4) Charge |
1: This was a travel.
2: It would depend on the tone of that game. I think the officials did a good job handling it. 3: Charge. 4: Clear charge. Peace |
1. Travel (in HS)
2. T (in HS) if for no other reason than to end it right there. 3. Charge 4. My first instinct in real time was Block...but agree with a charge after review. |
Play 3) PC foul...LGP established prior to A1 going airborne
Play 4) PC foul...A1 never went airborne....defender established LGP and moved to maintain it. He was actually retreating at point of contact. |
1. Travel.
2. Maybe a T or just conversation depending on prior events 3. Block....forward movement never stopped....didn't get his torso to the spot first. 4. Charge |
Quote:
2. I am ok with a T or not depending on what has led up to this. 3. Block ~ I don't think he was done moving forward (to establish his LGP) until after the offensive player leaves the floor. 4. Charge ~ This is the only play I actually saw on TV and when it happened I was amazed with the block call. I wonder if he was trying to match a call(s) from earlier...... |
1) Travel
2) Depends on tone of game to that point. Good either way (T or no T) 3) PC 4) PC |
1. Don't know.
2. T 3. Block 4. PC |
Quote:
How many actually do this? I think this is an example of what happens when you try. |
1. Travel
2. T 3. PC 4. PC |
Quote:
|
Quote:
So the line "I had a play similar to this and called it a block so now I call this one a block" runs through your mind? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
1. By rule travel, but very hard to pickup in live action.
2. Depends on context. Really liked how they handled situation assuming nothing else had gone on prior. 3. PC but could be moving slightly forward prior to contact. Not splitting hairs though 4. PC and obvious. Don't know how he went Block. Just an add on, Play 3: defender doesn't have to get out of the RA to take the charge but still does which makes this play a little tougher to call because he's moving forward. |
I thought that was a great move on the non-travel call. Maybe technically by rule it is a travel, but on those tough calls like that if I see a HS player make a good play like that, using the jump shot and pivot to step through I'm letting it go unless I can tell for sure it was a travel which you can't here without the replay. That's just good basketball.
3 Charge 4. I thought block in real-time as well. And again when I stopped it at 5 seconds. The offensive player is trying the euro step and I see the defender's legs to his right on the dash marks but then he moves them to the side, too late for the charge. Good call by the ref. |
Quote:
|
For calls that are clear violations yes I'm going to call it. Or if I thought it was a travel I will. Say I'm 70% certain. But for that ref, on real speed, that is a very tough call, and I thought it was a great move by the player so yes if I'm undecided, I'm going to let it go even if I know it may have been a travel. I thought the ref made the right move by not blowing it a travel.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12am. |