The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Florida State/Nebraska blarge (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98751-florida-state-nebraska-blarge-video.html)

bballref3966 Tue Dec 02, 2014 09:53am

Florida State/Nebraska blarge (Video)
 
3:53 second half.

I happened to stumble upon Jay Bilas's brutal, incessant commentary on his Twitter feed...

"Wow. A double foul on a block/charge. Wow. If that doesn't signal college basketball is a hot mess, nothing will. What a joke."

"Officials from the FSU-Nebraska game are not allowed to drive to the airport together. "The light is red. The light is green! Go! Stop!" (I don't get it)

"Can't wait for SportsCenter's Top Ten Plays tonight, to see how many college basketball charges made the list! Oh yeah, nobody gives a $%*@."

"Another screw-up on a charge/block call in NEB/FSU. One ref whistles without a call, the other signals block, pulls it back. Laughable."

"Terran Petteway's fifth foul was a total joke. What an embarrassment to college basketball. That was NOT an offensive foul. Outrageous." (You're right, Jay. It was a player-control foul :D)

SC Official Tue Dec 02, 2014 11:16am

Also worth a look was the player-control foul on the Nebraska player at 2:25 left in the game.

zm1283 Tue Dec 02, 2014 11:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bballref3966 (Post 945282)
3:53 second half.

I happened to stumble upon Jay Bilas's brutal, incessant commentary on his Twitter feed...

"Wow. A double foul on a block/charge. Wow. If that doesn't signal college basketball is a hot mess, nothing will. What a joke."

"Officials from the FSU-Nebraska game are not allowed to drive to the airport together. "The light is red. The light is green! Go! Stop!" (I don't get it)

"Can't wait for SportsCenter's Top Ten Plays tonight, to see how many college basketball charges made the list! Oh yeah, nobody gives a $%*@."

"Another screw-up on a charge/block call in NEB/FSU. One ref whistles without a call, the other signals block, pulls it back. Laughable."

"Terran Petteway's fifth foul was a total joke. What an embarrassment to college basketball. That was NOT an offensive foul. Outrageous." (You're right, Jay. It was a player-control foul :D)

Can we get a video of this one? Is it the one referenced below at 2:25?

Nevermind. Found it on ESPN's site: http://scores.espn.go.com/ncb/video?gameId=400587810

You have to browse the videos on the right.

Welpe Tue Dec 02, 2014 12:24pm

There's a reason I don't follow Jay Bilas on Twitter.

AremRed Tue Dec 02, 2014 12:45pm

Some of you may be able to browse to the plays (3:53 and 2:25 second half) here: ESPN3 -- Nebraska vs. Florida State

SC Official Tue Dec 02, 2014 12:48pm

I just watched the blarge replay on WatchESPN (I don't know how to embed the clip, unfortunately).

The L and C both held up fists, and the C began to signal block but appeared to back off of it. After a delay, the T comes in and goes the other way with it. I do not believe the T should have taken it.

The correct call would have been PC in my judgment.

zm1283 Tue Dec 02, 2014 03:03pm

I used to somewhat enjoy listening to Bilas, but he has gone off the rails. He was working on some of the games from the Bahamas last week and he is an idiot. Hates all player control fouls, hates that the officials have cleaned up hand checks on ball handlers. He is constantly complaining about how bad the officials are.

SC Official Wed Dec 03, 2014 10:54am

Bilas worries about coaches' behavior eroding public confidence in officiating yet is ridiculously and incessantly critical when he goes on air. I don't get it.

APG Wed Dec 03, 2014 12:26pm

<iframe width="853" height="480" src="//www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/zFFcngpIp5o" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

zm1283 Wed Dec 03, 2014 01:21pm

From what I can see, the Lead never signals anything preliminary. He just raises his fist and holds. The Center goes straight to the block signal then puts his fist up. Someone said the Trail came in and had a PC? I definitely don't see that on the video posted. If so it must have happened very late.

Since the Lead didn't give a preliminary, why not just go with the block that the Center had? (I thought this was a PC foul by the way)

SC Official Wed Dec 03, 2014 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 945465)
From what I can see, the Lead never signals anything preliminary. He just raises his fist and holds. The Center goes straight to the block signal then puts his fist up. Someone said the Trail came in and had a PC? I definitely don't see that on the video posted. If so it must have happened very late.

Since the Lead didn't give a preliminary, why not just go with the block that the Center had? (I thought this was a PC foul by the way)

When the camera cuts to the endline angle, you could hear a series of whistles. Although the video doesn't show it, that came from the T, Mike Roberts, according to the commentators. He went the other way with it, which is why it was a double foul. Not sure why he chose to make a call as it definitely was not his to make.

ballgame99 Wed Dec 03, 2014 01:46pm

That looks like a clear PC. As a ref with very little 3 man experience, is that the C's call since it was on the C's side of the lane?

dahoopref Wed Dec 03, 2014 01:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 945473)
That looks like a clear PC. As a ref with very little 3 man experience, is that the C's call since it was on the C's side of the lane?

My supervisor has instructed his staff that the L has the primary call on a secondary defender (which FSU #15 is). If there is a double-whistle between the L & C or L & T on a block-charge call in the paint, the outside official is supposed to "hold" and is NOT to give a preliminary signal. Prior to my games, this possible play situation is repeated over & over during the pre-game discussion.

The ball is rebounded by Neb #2 and drives down the lane on the C side of the centerline. In my conference, this is the L's primary call.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Dec 03, 2014 02:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 945450)
<iframe width="853" height="480" src="//www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/zFFcngpIp5o" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>


1) This is the C's call all the way. In my humble opinion there was no need for two whistles (well I could have lived with the L sounding his whistle but it is still the C's call the way) let alone three whistles on this play.

2) I believe that the C should have taken one step in toward the play as it developed to get a better look, and definitely should have been stepping toward the players has he made his call.

3) CHARGE!!

MTD, Sr.

Camron Rust Wed Dec 03, 2014 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 945475)
My supervisor has instructed his staff that the L has the primary call on a secondary defender (which FSU #15 is). If there is a double-whistle between the L & C or L & T on a block-charge call in the paint, the outside official is supposed to "hold" and is NOT to give a preliminary signal. Prior to my games, this possible play situation is repeated over & over during the pre-game discussion.

The ball is rebounded by Neb #2 and drives down the lane on the C side of the centerline. In my conference, this is the L's primary call.

And I'd agree with your supervisor. Yet another example of a rotating defender coming form the L's primary to the C's side with the C jumping on the call and getting it wrong.

Remington Wed Dec 03, 2014 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 945475)
My supervisor has instructed his staff that the L has the primary call on a secondary defender (which FSU #15 is). If there is a double-whistle between the L & C or L & T on a block-charge call in the paint, the outside official is supposed to "hold" and is NOT to give a preliminary signal. Prior to my games, this possible play situation is repeated over & over during the pre-game discussion.

The ball is rebounded by Neb #2 and drives down the lane on the C side of the centerline. In my conference, this is the L's primary call.

This is what we have been instructed in our leagues as well and I can tell you from camp with Big 10 officials and supervisors, this is the leads call (at least first crack).

constable Wed Dec 03, 2014 06:26pm

That's a miss by the C.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Dec 03, 2014 06:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 945479)
And I'd agree with your supervisor. Yet another example of a rotating defender coming form the L's primary to the C's side with the C jumping on the call and getting it wrong.


I do not necessarily have a problem with the L getting this call, the way this play played out, the C had a great view of the play should have been able to pick up the new defender with no problems. As I stated earlier, that in this play the C should have had this play from the beginning.

Going off on a tangent as I am wont to do, I really do not believe that the Defender that took the charge can be classified as a Secondary Defender in the play because the Offensive Player had been passed his original Defender so as to be classifed as an Offensive Player who was not being defended and therefore a new Defensive Player started to guard him.

MTD, Sr.

bob jenkins Thu Dec 04, 2014 09:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 945509)
Going off on a tangent as I am wont to do, I really do not believe that the Defender that took the charge can be classified as a Secondary Defender in the play because the Offensive Player had been passed his original Defender so as to be classifed as an Offensive Player who was not being defended and therefore a new Defensive Player started to guard him.

That's pretty much the definition of Secondary Defender (and even where it is not, the video is an example of one)

Raymond Thu Dec 04, 2014 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 945509)
... I really do not believe that the Defender that took the charge can be classified as a Secondary Defender in the play because the Offensive Player had been passed his original Defender so as to be classifed as an Offensive Player who was not being defended and therefore a new Defensive Player started to guard him.

MTD, Sr.

Then you're failing to grasp the definition of secondary defender as put forth my NCAA-Men's basketball.

johnny d Thu Dec 04, 2014 10:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 945567)
Then you're failing to grasp the definition of secondary defender as put forth my NCAA-Men's basketball.


Hypothetical question. Assume this contact occurred in the RA, would you call a block because the secondary defender cannot establish initial LGP in the RA, or is the RA not in effect since the player who got the offensive rebound went immediately to the basket, thus eliminating the secondary defender rule?

bob jenkins Thu Dec 04, 2014 10:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 945573)
Hypothetical question. Assume this contact occurred in the RA, would you call a block because the secondary defender cannot establish initial LGP in the RA, or is the RA not in effect since the player who got the offensive rebound went immediately to the basket, thus eliminating the secondary defender rule?

NCAAW: Because the drive started outside the LDB, contact inside the RA cannot be a charge (absent a leading knee, etc.)

Raymond Thu Dec 04, 2014 11:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 945573)
Hypothetical question. Assume this contact occurred in the RA, would you call a block because the secondary defender cannot establish initial LGP in the RA, or is the RA not in effect since the player who got the offensive rebound went immediately to the basket, thus eliminating the secondary defender rule?

Though he made an immediate move, he did have a primary defender on him when he started his move.

I always took the rebounding exception to mean that the first defender encountered was a defender in the RA.

Raymond Thu Dec 04, 2014 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 945509)
I do not necessarily have a problem with the L getting this call, the way this play played out, the C had a great view of the play should have been able to pick up the new defender with no problems. As I stated earlier, that in this play the C should have had this play from the beginning....
MTD, Sr.

Then he needs to quit bailing on plays as a ball handler is moving towards the basket.

Camron Rust Thu Dec 04, 2014 12:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 945564)
That's pretty much the definition of Secondary Defender (and even where it is not, the video is an example of one)

At some point, however, a secondary defender would become the primary defender.

johnny d Thu Dec 04, 2014 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 945587)
Though he made an immediate move, he did have a primary defender on him when he started his move.

I already took the rebounding exception to mean that the first defender encountered was a defender in the RA.

I would consider this a secondary defender as well, but I am not sure how I would rule an RA play in this case. The rebounding exception doesn't say anything about how many defenders encountered, it just says there are no secondary defenders when the rebounder makes an immediate move to the basket.

johnny d Thu Dec 04, 2014 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 945576)
NCAAW: Because the drive started outside the LDB, contact inside the RA cannot be a charge (absent a leading knee, etc.)


Interesting that NCAA-W does not have the immediate move by the rebounder exception. Also, NCAA-M does not have LDB

johnny d Thu Dec 04, 2014 04:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 945604)
At some point, however, a secondary defender would become the primary defender.

We have gone over this before. It really doesn't matter when this switch from secondary to primary occurs. It only matters for establishing initial LGP. Further, once the player with the ball stops continuous movement towards the basket and initiates illegal contact with the secondary defender in the RA, this is a player control foul. Essentially, once the offensive player stops movement towards the basket, the secondary defender becomes the primary defender.

rockyroad Thu Dec 04, 2014 04:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 945631)
I would consider this a secondary defender as well, but I am not sure how I would rule an RA play in this case. The rebounding exception doesn't say anything about how many defenders encountered, it just says there are no secondary defenders when the rebounder makes an immediate move to the basket.

Would the pump fake and then dribble take away the "immediate move to the basket" part of the NCAA-M interp on this play? Seems like the immediate move would have been him going up for the intial shot, but by pump faking and dribbling away from that defender...??


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1