![]() |
Free Thrower being boxed out (Video)
Does anyone have a rules reference to the penalty (if any) of a defender in a marked lane space boxing out the free throw shooter? May the player break the plane of the free throw line? May he/she make contact? Violation? Foul?
I understand that dislodging would be a foul for sure, but is the player in the marked lane space required to wait until it HITS now to break the free throw line since the free throw shooter must wait? Thanks! Tim |
Read this thread
http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...staff-mtg.html
This might help? Or confuse! |
Probably Confuse ...
Quote:
http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...tml#post941796 Power Point slide: If there is contact on the free throw shooter by the defender who breaks the free throw line plane, ignore contact unless intentional. (9-1-3-B) |
Quote:
Dislodging or pushing is a foul. That about covers it. |
It Depends On Where You Officiate ...
Quote:
|
So how are the rules written for NCAA Men and women? NCAA Players in marked spaces are allowed to enter the lane upon release
|
Quote:
|
Iaabo ...
Quote:
http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...tml#post944383 Adam's warning to check your local listings is still a good one. |
This happened last night, which seemed to be on topic.
Seems we adjudicated it correctly. Defender Displaces FT Shooter <iframe width="640" height="480" src="//www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/70UZIhwL-00" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
Free Throw Is Successful ...
Nice video. Thanks Freddy.
If the defender had waited another split second before making contact, the ball would be dead (successful free throw) and the official would have to decide if the foul was intentional (no common fouls during the dead ball period after a successful try, the contact must be intentional, or flagrant, to be charged). Also, in Connecticut, this would have been a delayed violation for the marked lane space defender breaking the pane of the free throw line before the ball hit the rim or backboard (IAABO Connecticut Only: No opponent occupying a marked lane space shall break the plane of the free throw line until the ball touches the ring, or backboard, or until the free throw ends. If there is contact on the free throw shooter by the defender who breaks the free throw line plane, ignore contact unless intentional). In states that don't end in "icut: Would the official award another free throw if the throw was unsuccessful due to disconcertion? The contact was made after the release, so how could the contact be disconcerting? |
There is a question on this on this year's part 2 exam. I wish I could remember the exact question and my answer. It was one of those that wasn't cut and dried. If anyone hasn't taken it, please take note of that question and answer, but the gist was that the defender couldn't cross the free throw line until the ball hit rim.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Loyal Order Of Water Buffaloes Lodge No. 26 ...
Quote:
The caseplay was published in the fall issue of the Sportorial, IAABO's quarterly magazine. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22pm. |