The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Who should make this call? L or C? (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98677-who-should-make-call-l-c-video.html)

JRutledge Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:15am

Who should make this call? L or C? (Video)
 
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/74Q4VB6k6n4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

bob jenkins Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:30am

Anyone.

WALDO Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:37am

The C definitely. The play originates in his PCA. Good mechanics also.

rockyroad Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:43am

What Bob said...

Actually the T had an excellent look at this play and could have had the call also. I think the L had a lot of bodies in the way.

BryanV21 Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:59am

As long as it's the right call I'm not really concerned with who makes it. However, as the C, since the secondary defender that took the charge came from the L's PCA I may give him first crack at it.

I'm probably not looking at this play as the T, but if I saw it, and neither the C nor L made a call, then I would blow the whistle. I'd rather the crew got questioned about who should have the call, rather than not making a call at all.

Raymond Fri Nov 21, 2014 11:12am

JRut has been digging in someone's crates.

Raymond Fri Nov 21, 2014 11:16am

Because this was a NCAA-M's try-out camp, the Lead should have had this call. Slot should have been a little slower (cadence) whistle, but he made the correct call for HS rules that were being utilized. The Trail has a body in between himself and the play, so I don't see him putting a whistle on this play.

In an NCAA game, that was clearly a block because of the RA. Hopefully this play was fully discussed among the crew and with the observers.

AremRed Fri Nov 21, 2014 12:03pm

Lead's call. Lead should be at close down anticipating secondary defenders, especially because the C has an on-ball defender to worry about. No RA block, defender establishes position outside RA before his right foot goes back over RA.

Raymond Fri Nov 21, 2014 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 944325)
...No RA block, defender establishes position outside RA before his right foot goes back over RA.

Maybe I need to see this on my home laptop, but from my phone I don't see LGP established outside the arc. I see his left foot on the arc when he establishes position.

AremRed Fri Nov 21, 2014 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 944326)
Maybe I need to see this on my home laptop, but from my phone I don't see LGP established outside the arc. I see his left foot on the arc when he establishes position.

Don't think it's your device, it's the video quality. :)

Left foot looks outside to me.

Raymond Fri Nov 21, 2014 12:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 944329)
Don't think it's your device, it's the video quality. :)

Left foot looks outside to me.

It's actually that damn backboard. I got it to 720 on my phone.

Lcubed48 Fri Nov 21, 2014 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 944310)
JRut has been digging in someone's crates.

+1. Thank goodness, it wasn't in any of mine. Otherwise my one and only blarge might appear. :D

Lcubed48 Fri Nov 21, 2014 01:59pm

The call is correct, IMO, using NFHS rules under which this camp operates. I would rather the call from the L due to the secondary defender's involvement. But the correct call is more important.

JRutledge Fri Nov 21, 2014 02:38pm

I think this is the C's call all the way. The L was not able to rotate based on a quick pass and immediate drive to the basket. The C saw this the entire way and based on the look we are given, I cannot see that the call was incorrect. The defender was there. The fact that there is a secondary defender should not matter as the C can anticipate there will be contact and referee the defense. Not to say that L cannot ever make a call or should not make a call, but I like the C getting this better when they can know the drive is happening and get in position to see the contact. The L might see the end if they had not already rotated IMO.

The reason I showed this video is to get us thinking mechanically what we should do. This play should be a pre-game conversation every time so that you are all on the same page. Kind of like the play that was called in the other video where the L took the play from the C.

Peace

Raymond Sat Nov 22, 2014 01:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 944329)
Don't think it's your device, it's the video quality. :)

Left foot looks outside to me.

On my laptop now.

You are correct, the defender was not in the RA. So the call is correct under NCAA-M's rules also.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1