The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Lane Spots (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98563-lane-spots.html)

The_Rookie Tue Oct 28, 2014 08:43am

Lane Spots
 
Discussion last night at a meeting about the Lane Spots for FT.

We know that when A1 is shooting FT..B1 and B2 are to be located in the first marked lane spots.

Question: If team A elects not to place players in the lane spots next to B1 and B2, can B3 and B4 take those spots? Can they move down a spot?

Have you seen this done in a game?

JRutledge Tue Oct 28, 2014 08:45am

I have seen it a couple of times, but most players/teams have no idea they can do this.

Peace

Raymond Tue Oct 28, 2014 09:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 942502)
Discussion last night at a meeting about the Lane Spots for FT.

We know that when A1 is shooting FT..B1 and B2 are to be located in the first marked lane spots.

Question: If team A elects not to place players in the lane spots next to B1 and B2, can B3 and B4 take those spots? Can they move down a spot?

Have you seen this done in a game?

I believe NCAA-W are the only ones with a restriction, NCAA-M and NFHS have no such restrictions.

Was anybody able to find any references in the rule or case book during your discussion?

Rob1968 Tue Oct 28, 2014 09:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 942508)
I believe NCAA-W are the only ones with a restriction, NCAA-M and NFHS have no such restrictions.

Was anybody able to find and references in the rule or case book during your discussion?

Case Book 8.1.3 b) covers the situation, noting that "...The offense chooses not to occupy the second marked lane spaces. . . .four defensive players are permitted in any of the first three vacant marked lane spaces."

Raymond Tue Oct 28, 2014 09:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 942511)
Case Book 8.1.3 b) covers the situation, noting that "...The offense chooses not to occupy the second marked lane spaces. . . .four defensive players are permitted in any of the first three vacant marked lane spaces."

Exactly ;)

ballgame99 Tue Oct 28, 2014 10:04am

One interesting note from our rules meeting last night regarding free throw spaces that I did not know; while the lane space extends back 36 inches, the player occupying that space must have at least one foot in the proximity of the lane line (inside the lane space markers).

Rob1968 Tue Oct 28, 2014 10:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 942515)
One interesting note from our rules meeting last night regarding free throw spaces that I did not know; while the lane space extends back 36 inches, the player occupying that space must have at least one foot in the proximity of the lane line (inside the lane space markers).

That restriction appears in 9-1-3 g) " A player shall position one foot near the outer edge of the free-throw lane line. The other foot may be positioned anywhere within the designated 36-inch lane space."
"...near the outer edge of the free-throw lane line." is usually interpreted as "within 12 inches".

Camron Rust Tue Oct 28, 2014 10:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 942515)
One interesting note from our rules meeting last night regarding free throw spaces that I did not know; while the lane space extends back 36 inches, the player occupying that space must have at least one foot in the proximity of the lane line (inside the lane space markers).

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 942516)
That restriction appears in 9-1-3 g) " A player shall position one foot near the outer edge of the free-throw lane line. The other foot may be positioned anywhere within the designated 36-inch lane space."
"...near the outer edge of the free-throw lane line." is usually interpreted as "within 12 inches".

Yes...that is a rule change they made a couple years ago that. Not sure why they made it, however. I don't see an problem it solves.

Rob1968 Tue Oct 28, 2014 11:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 942520)
Yes...that is a rule change they may a couple yeara sgo that. Not sure why they made it, however. I don't see an problem it solves.

I agree.

The statement first appeared in the 2009-10 Rules Book, as a "Major Editorial Change", and was characterized as a "clarification." No further explanation was noted in the POE's or Comments.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Oct 28, 2014 12:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 942502)
Discussion last night at a meeting about the Lane Spots for FT.

We know that when A1 is shooting FT..B1 and B2 are to be located in the first marked lane spots.

Question: If team A elects not to place players in the lane spots next to B1 and B2, can B3 and B4 take those spots? Can they move down a spot?

Have you seen this done in a game?


Yes: NFHS and NCAA Men's

No: NCAA Women's, FIBA, and NBA/WNBA

MTD, Sr.

Kansas Ref Tue Oct 28, 2014 02:35pm

Now what I've seen 100% of the time is that those vacant spots are left vacant. I"m not sure if coaches/players know if they can occupy or not--but then again, what useful purpose would it serve to occupy those spaces when you already have two players on the same team and there is no "competition" for the rebound?

ballgame99 Tue Oct 28, 2014 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 942520)
Yes...that is a rule change they made a couple years ago that. Not sure why they made it, however. I don't see an problem it solves.

Our state association director of officials stated that it was so a rebounder couldn't stand back 36 inches from the lane and get a running start at the rebound.

justacoach Tue Oct 28, 2014 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 942531)
Our state association director of officials stated that it was so a rebounder couldn't stand back 36 inches from the lane and get a running start at the rebound.

That is just his opinion but no such reasoning was ever voiced by NFHS authorities when the editorial change was implemented.

JRutledge Tue Oct 28, 2014 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 942541)
That is just his opinion but no such reasoning was ever voiced by NFHS authorities when the editorial change was implemented.

There are a lot of reasoning for things that do not get voiced publicly. It might be an educated opinion or one that has talked to someone that makes the final decisions or was in the meeting.

Peace

Camron Rust Tue Oct 28, 2014 05:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 942531)
Our state association director of officials stated that it was so a rebounder couldn't stand back 36 inches from the lane and get a running start at the rebound.

Why would that be a problem?

And remember, it was called an editorial clarification, not a rule change.

It may have been that someone had been imposing that restriction upon players in their games for years and got the change pushed through as an editorial to make themselves correct retroactively.

Bad Zebra Wed Oct 29, 2014 09:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 942531)
Our state association director of officials stated that it was so a rebounder couldn't stand back 36 inches from the lane and get a running start at the rebound.

This is the same reasoning we got from our state association a couple years ago, who supposedly got it unofficially, verbally from the Fed. Who knows where it originated from...probably a Fed board member saw it at a game once and thought "there outta be a rule..."

Adam Wed Oct 29, 2014 10:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Zebra (Post 942573)
This is the same reasoning we got from our state association a couple years ago, who supposedly got it unofficially, verbally from the Fed. Who knows where it originated from...probably a Fed board member saw it at a game once and thought "there outta be a rule..."

I was under the impression it was meant to stop the play where A2 steps back and drops behind B1 unseen: but I never really heard officially.

I've never actually seen a player stand back far enough to warrant making this call.

ballgame99 Wed Oct 29, 2014 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 942555)
Why would that be a problem?

There is enough contact on a missed FT as it is, giving one player a 3 foot head start to come crashing in would only result in more, I'm guessing.

Lotto Wed Oct 29, 2014 12:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 942525)
Yes: NFHS and NCAA Men's

No: NCAA Women's, FIBA, and NBA/WNBA

MTD, Sr.

I believe that the answer in NCAAW is yes. This was a change, I think, 2 years ago. B cannot put more than 4 players in lane spaces, but if spaces are vacant, players can move to occupy them. (8-4.4b and c)

bob jenkins Wed Oct 29, 2014 12:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lotto (Post 942584)
I believe that the answer in NCAAW is yes. This was a change, I think, 2 years ago. B cannot put more than 4 players in lane spaces, but if spaces are vacant, players can move to occupy them. (8-4.4b and c)

Correct. Changed for the 2011-12 season.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Oct 29, 2014 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lotto (Post 942584)
I believe that the answer in NCAAW is yes. This was a change, I think, 2 years ago. B cannot put more than 4 players in lane spaces, but if spaces are vacant, players can move to occupy them. (8-4.4b and c)



I stand corrected. I retired from officiating college basketball after the 2007-08 season, and while I purchase the NCAA Men's and Women's college rules books every year, I sometimes do not peruse them as closely as I should.

MTD, Sr.

Adam Wed Oct 29, 2014 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 942578)
There is enough contact on a missed FT as it is, giving one player a 3 foot head start to come crashing in would only result in more, I'm guessing.

And calling the foul would put a quick stop to it.

No need to guess. :)

JetMetFan Wed Oct 29, 2014 02:20pm

The answer is...
 
From May 2009:

Quote:

New language in Rule 9-1-3d states that a player leaves a marked lane space when he or she contacts any part of the court outside the marked lane space (3 feet by 3 feet). A clarification to Rule 9-1-3g indicates that a player occupying a marked lane space must have one foot positioned near the outer edge of the free-throw lane line with the other positioned anywhere within the designated 36-inch lane space.

(Mary) Struckhoff said these changes were necessitated by players attempting to leave their positions too early to gain a rebound advantage.

OKREF Wed Oct 29, 2014 03:02pm

Doesn't being able to move on the release make this reasoning obsolete now?

Kansas Ref Wed Oct 29, 2014 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 942597)
Doesn't being able to move on the release make this reasoning obsolete now?

*I'm thinking the same thing

BryanV21 Wed Oct 29, 2014 03:20pm

I guess they're trying to avoid players gaining momentum, and thus turning a simple foul into something that could cause injury.

Kansas Ref Wed Oct 29, 2014 10:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 942603)
I guess they're trying to avoid players gaining momentum, and thus turning a simple foul into something that could cause injury.

*Well I must say that you are conferring a measure of "fore sight" to our NFHS rule makers, perhaps that was their stratagem--an ultimate concern for the student-athlete's safety but hey I am just a worker bee.

Sharpshooternes Thu Oct 30, 2014 09:43pm

Just remember, only two offensive and four defensive players maximum are allowed at any time no matter how many empty spots there are.

Adam Thu Oct 30, 2014 09:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 942681)
Just remember, only two offensive and four players maximum are allowed at any time no matter how many empty spots there are.

??

Adam Thu Oct 30, 2014 10:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 942597)
Doesn't being able to move on the release make this reasoning obsolete now?

That reasoning, yes. I'm not sure that was it, though.

AremRed Thu Oct 30, 2014 10:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 942682)
??

He forgot to include the word "defensive".

Sharpshooternes Fri Oct 31, 2014 12:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 942682)
??

Sorry left out defensive. It is now correct.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1