The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2014-2015 NFHS test (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98546-2014-2015-nfhs-test.html)

Mo-Money Wed Oct 22, 2014 03:55am

2014-2015 NFHS test
 
Has anyone taken the test yet? I have a copy of the test and already answered all the questions. But I would like to go over it to double check my answers.

PG_Ref Wed Oct 22, 2014 06:30am

There's usually two tests. Part I & II. Part two doesn't open until December. So, not everyone has taken the test yet.

Mo-Money Wed Oct 22, 2014 06:37am

I know part 2 is not out for a while. I only have part 1 done and just want to see if anyone else have theirs done and want to compare answers. I got a 94% but don't know which one I missed.

grunewar Wed Oct 22, 2014 08:16am

Our Part I testing doesn't open until 9 Nov.

That being said, after I complete and submit my on-line exam, I will get my score immediately, and know the areas of the question I missed (Chapter, Section, and Par), but, I won't know the exact verbiage or have a copy of the test at that time.

OKREF Wed Oct 22, 2014 11:03am

Already taken mine. We take ours on the arbiter site. Get score immediately. But not able to review what we missed.

Raymond Wed Oct 22, 2014 12:20pm

When does the NFHS post the new rule and case books on the NFHS hub? I won't be receiving my hard copy books until November 9th.

john5396 Wed Oct 22, 2014 12:25pm

NFHS no longer posts the books behind their membership firewall. The eBook are available for purchase on the amazon kindle.

Raymond Wed Oct 22, 2014 12:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by john5396 (Post 942208)
NFHS no longer posts the books behind their membership firewall. The eBook are available for purchase on the amazon kindle.

So no more free electronic copies? Boo!!!!! :mad:

OKREF Wed Oct 22, 2014 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 942207)
When does the NFHS post the new rule and case books on the NFHS hub? I won't be receiving my hard copy books until November 9th.

Go to this website. You can see the rule and case books.

nfhs.arbitersports.com

Go to publications, click on basketball publications, there is a link to both.

You may have to register, but is free.

scrounge Wed Oct 22, 2014 01:18pm

If you'd like the Kindle version, here's the amazon links as well:

Rules book:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...RAI4W7MSBCORKK

Case book:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...FN3OMJBZL7WPL2

Raymond Wed Oct 22, 2014 01:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 942215)
Go to this website. You can see the rule and case books.

nfhs.arbitersports.com

Go to publications, click on basketball publications, there is a link to both.

You may have to register, but is free.

That's the thing, I thought I was already registered. In Virginia we have to register with the state through an association. They take our money in the spring. I thought that always took care of our NFHS registration as well. Maybe my memory is going.

Raymond Wed Oct 22, 2014 01:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 942215)
Go to this website. You can see the rule and case books.

nfhs.arbitersports.com

Go to publications, click on basketball publications, there is a link to both.

You may have to register, but is free.

I figured out what's happening. Long ago I established a GMAIL account to use for Arbiter. I used it for HS and College. A couple of years ago I created a new GMAIL account to use just for HS, so that I would have separate logins for my HS and College arbiter accounts. I still use my original GMAIL for college. Arbiter for some reason could not transfer my full NFHS hub privileges to my newer HS GMAIL account for some odd reason. So to get the publications I still need to use my original GMAIL account when signing into Arbiter. I will probably have to do so for the test also.

SNIPERBBB Wed Oct 22, 2014 04:32pm

We don't take tests here after the initial class other than for varsity certification after our second year.

OKREF Wed Oct 22, 2014 05:04pm

I was able to review my test on arbiter. Thoughts on this question?

Television replay equipment or monitoring equipment may be placed away from the court and information relayed to the coach on the bench during the game.

True or false

Raymond Wed Oct 22, 2014 07:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 942239)
I was able to review my test on arbiter. Thoughts on this question?

Television replay equipment or monitoring equipment may be placed away from the court and information relayed to the coach on the bench during the game.

True or false

False

Ed Maeder Wed Oct 22, 2014 08:05pm

True 1-19

OKREF Wed Oct 22, 2014 09:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 942239)
I was able to review my test on arbiter. Thoughts on this question?

Television replay equipment or monitoring equipment may be placed away from the court and information relayed to the coach on the bench during the game.

True or false

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 942249)
False

I answered false, and got it wrong. 1-19

Raymond Wed Oct 22, 2014 09:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 942262)
I answered false, and got it wrong. 1-19

you learn something new everyday.:)

Camron Rust Thu Oct 23, 2014 01:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 942264)
you learn something new everyday.:)

That was a change in the last year or two. Previously, it was a technical foul.

I think they changed it since, with the proliferation high tech gear everywhere around us, it would be impossible to control and judge.

Moosie74 Thu Oct 23, 2014 09:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 942207)
When does the NFHS post the new rule and case books on the NFHS hub? I won't be receiving my hard copy books until November 9th.

They are up now and have been for a few weeks now. Web access only but they are available and searchable.

Rich Fri Oct 24, 2014 08:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 942268)
That was a change in the last year or two. Previously, it was a technical foul.

I think they changed it since, with the proliferation high tech gear everywhere around us, it would be impossible to control and judge.

A case play covers that question better, actually.

Here's one from the test:

Q: If the timer erroneously runs the clock for more than five seconds, the referee has no authority to put five seconds on the clock.

Raymond Fri Oct 24, 2014 09:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 942351)
A case play covers that question better, actually.

Here's one from the test:

Q: If the timer erroneously runs the clock for more than five seconds, the referee has no authority to put five seconds on the clock.

False, 5-10, case plays from 5.10.1

OKREF Fri Oct 24, 2014 10:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 942351)
A case play covers that question better, actually.

Here's one from the test:

Q: If the timer erroneously runs the clock for more than five seconds, the referee has no authority to put five seconds on the clock.

False

Rich Fri Oct 24, 2014 12:21pm

Where's the definite knowledge of 5 seconds?

Or are you saying that if I know at least 5 seconds ran off it's perfectly OK for me to put 5 on, even though that's not an accurate number?

Raymond Fri Oct 24, 2014 12:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 942370)
Where's the definite knowledge of 5 seconds?

Or are you saying that if I know at least 5 seconds ran off it's perfectly OK for me to put 5 on, even though that's not an accurate number?

Oh, so it's a trick question? B/c we are definitely allowed to put time on the clock. That's the kind of crap I don't like on these tests.

"...the referee has no authority to put five seconds on the clock." is false b/c the referee does have that authority; whether or not he had definite knowledge is not addressed.

OKREF Fri Oct 24, 2014 01:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 942370)
Where's the definite knowledge of 5 seconds?

Or are you saying that if I know at least 5 seconds ran off it's perfectly OK for me to put 5 on, even though that's not an accurate number?

I don't have my rule books in front of me, but they do mention something about using counts to go by--5 second closely guarded, 10 second count. I have a habit of looking at the clock when my partner has a whistle, especially late in the game just for these kinds of things.

Camron Rust Fri Oct 24, 2014 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 942370)
Where's the definite knowledge of 5 seconds?

Or are you saying that if I know at least 5 seconds ran off it's perfectly OK for me to put 5 on, even though that's not an accurate number?

It is a given. If you know that at least 5 seconds elapsed you know it. The rule says nothing about the knowledge being compete or accurate. You put back as much as you know...but no more.

grunewar Fri Oct 24, 2014 05:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 942371)
That's the kind of crap I don't like on these tests.

Agreed!

Will. Must. May. Shall. Could. Some of my least favorite words.......

Camron Rust Fri Oct 24, 2014 06:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 942381)
Agreed!

Will. Must. May. Shall. Could. Some of my least favorite words.......

Why? Those are about the most clear words. What is wrong with them?

SNIPERBBB Sat Oct 25, 2014 07:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 942383)
Why? Those are about the most clear words. What is wrong with them?

You have to assume that they are interpreted correctly and defined as such in the rules.

Camron Rust Sat Oct 25, 2014 08:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 942397)
You have to assume that they are interpreted correctly and defined as such in the rules.

They're not complicated words.

SNIPERBBB Sat Oct 25, 2014 11:13pm

They are to golfers lol.

Been a few local meetings where I felt a dictionary was required

pocket1000 Wed Nov 26, 2014 09:17am

okay is there a link to the web version
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Moosie74 (Post 942280)
They are up now and have been for a few weeks now. Web access only but they are available and searchable.

okay is there a link to the web version

Raymond Wed Nov 26, 2014 09:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 942351)
A case play covers that question better, actually.

Here's one from the test:

Q: If the timer erroneously runs the clock for more than five seconds, the referee has no authority to put five seconds on the clock.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 942354)
False, 5-10, case plays from 5.10.1

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 942370)
Where's the definite knowledge of 5 seconds?

Or are you saying that if I know at least 5 seconds ran off it's perfectly OK for me to put 5 on, even though that's not an accurate number?

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 942371)
Oh, so it's a trick question? B/c we are definitely allowed to put time on the clock. That's the kind of crap I don't like on these tests.

"...the referee has no authority to put five seconds on the clock." is false b/c the referee does have that authority; whether or not he had definite knowledge is not addressed.

However the question was worded on the test, I got it wrong...SMH Maybe I missed a word or something. Again, to me, this is a trick question, instead of a question geared at finding out if we know the rule.

Camron Rust Wed Nov 26, 2014 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 944803)
However the question was worded on the test, I got it wrong...SMH Maybe I missed a word or something. Again, to me, this is a trick question, instead of a question geared at finding out if we know the rule.

I read that question to be a question on the statute of limitations for making a correction.....that if the time that ran off was more than 5 seconds, it is or is not too late to make a correction. I did not think it was about definite knowledge.

just another ref Wed Nov 26, 2014 03:10pm

Okay, here's the question I missed:

Prior to either team gaining control on a jump ball to start the overtime period, B2 is charged with an intentional personal foul. Ruling: The scorer should set the arrow when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower for the throw-in opposite the table at mid court.


true or false

bob jenkins Wed Nov 26, 2014 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 944837)
Okay, here's the question I missed:

Prior to either team gaining control on a jump ball to start the overtime period, B2 is charged with an intentional personal foul. Ruling: The scorer should set the arrow when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower for the throw-in opposite the table at mid court.


true or false

Not enough information to answer.

IF the nearest spot to the foul is "opposite the table at mid court" then it's true. IF the nearest spot to the foul is other than that, then it's false.

Or, if you think they are asking about the arrow alone (and ignoring any spot issues), it's true.

PG_Ref Wed Nov 26, 2014 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 944837)
Okay, here's the question I missed:

Prior to either team gaining control on a jump ball to start the overtime period, B2 is charged with an intentional personal foul. Ruling: The scorer should set the arrow when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower for the throw-in opposite the table at mid court.


true or false

me thinks not enough info to correctly answer

PG_Ref Wed Nov 26, 2014 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 944838)
Not enough information to answer.

IF the nearest spot to the foul is "opposite the table at mid court" then it's true. IF the nearest spot to the foul is other than that, then it's false.
Or, if you think they are asking about the arrow alone (and ignoring any spot issues), it's true.

Poorly worded question. I'll go out on a limb and say maybe they are trying to see if officials know that the throw-in spot for an intentional personal foul isn't automaticlly at the division line opposite the table.

just another ref Wed Nov 26, 2014 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 944841)
Poorly worded question. I'll go out on a limb and say maybe they are trying to see if officials know that the throw-in spot for an intentional personal foul isn't automaticlly at the division line opposite the table.

Apparently the key to the question was when the arrow is set. I think I've had a variation of this before which stated it was set when the free throw shooter got the ball at his disposal. I take the position that the phrase "at the division line opposite the table" makes the whole thing false. As pointed out above, it shouldn't take a coincidence to make a true statement on a test.

Unfortunately, the "correct" answer was listed as true.

Fortunately, this was the only question I missed, so my rating was not affected. I hope that missing this question didn't affect anyone else's rating.

Raymond Wed Nov 26, 2014 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 944842)
Apparently the key to the question was when the arrow is set. I think I've had a variation of this before which stated it was set when the free throw shooter got the ball at his disposal....

I took that as the point of the question. If it had been a common foul, the arrow would be set when ball placed at the disposal of the free throw shooter. For an intentional or technical foul (and flagrant?), arrow isn't set until at the disposal of the thrower-in.

BigCat Wed Nov 26, 2014 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 944843)
I took that as the point of the question. If it had been a common foul, the arrow would be set when ball placed at the disposal of the free throw shooter. For an intentional or technical foul (and flagrant?), arrow isn't set until at the disposal of the thrower-in.

i agree the questions arent clear often. add things to confuse. reading the question itself, it wants to know when the scorer is to set the arrow. if the referee decides to put the ball in play from the dead corner at the opposite end of the court, completely wrong area, the scorer should still set the arrow...

They add the stuff about mid court etc which just confuses etc. and with them it wouldnt surprise me which answer they said was correct....very frustrating....

WhistlesAndStripes Sat Dec 27, 2014 04:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 944837)
Okay, here's the question I missed:

Prior to either team gaining control on a jump ball to start the overtime period, B2 is charged with an intentional personal foul. Ruling: The scorer should set the arrow when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower for the throw-in opposite the table at mid court.


true or false

Was this on Part 2? Cause I didn't see it on part 1.

Adam Sat Dec 27, 2014 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 944838)
Not enough information to answer.

IF the nearest spot to the foul is "opposite the table at mid court" then it's true. IF the nearest spot to the foul is other than that, then it's false.

Or, if you think they are asking about the arrow alone (and ignoring any spot issues), it's true.

It's false either way. The arrow is set sooner than this.

Kelvin green Sat Dec 27, 2014 04:58pm

Bob is right with the rule. Not sure what you meant by the arrow is set sooner than this. By definition...

4-3
“Alternating-possession control is established and the initial direction of the possession arrow is set toward the opponent’s basket when:

ART. 1 . . . A player secures control of the ball, as after the jump ball beginning the game and each extra period.

ART. 2 . . . The ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower after a *common foul when the bonus free throw is in effect.

ART. 3 . . . The ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower after:

a. A violation during or following the jump before a player secures control.

b. The free throws for a noncommon foul.

c. A common foul before the bonus free throw is in effect.”

Excerpt From: NFHS & Theresia Wynns. “2014-15 Basketball Rules Book.” NFHS. iBooks.
This material may be protected by copyright.

Check out this book on the iBooks Store: https://itun.es/us/s1l02.l

Adam Sat Dec 27, 2014 05:07pm

Interesting, that's what I get for not double checking the rule.

ahmedalmaz2 Sun Feb 22, 2015 01:13pm

did you answered the questions?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mo-Money (Post 942167)
Has anyone taken the test yet? I have a copy of the test and already answered all the questions. But I would like to go over it to double check my answers.


did you answered the questions?

official2013 Tue Dec 08, 2015 10:26am

Confused
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 944803)
However the question was worded on the test, I got it wrong...SMH Maybe I missed a word or something. Again, to me, this is a trick question, instead of a question geared at finding out if we know the rule.

Okay, so to officially clarify, what is the correct answer to that question?

Raymond Tue Dec 08, 2015 02:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by official2013 (Post 972037)
Okay, so to officially clarify, what is the correct answer to that question?

That was from last year's test, I never went back to check. Don't know if the answer key is still available.

Scratch85 Tue Dec 08, 2015 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 972061)
That was from last year's test

It is also on this years (15-16) Part II test.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1