![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
"...the referee has no authority to put five seconds on the clock." is false b/c the referee does have that authority; whether or not he had definite knowledge is not addressed.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Agreed!
Will. Must. May. Shall. Could. Some of my least favorite words.......
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did. |
|
|||
|
Why? Those are about the most clear words. What is wrong with them?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
You have to assume that they are interpreted correctly and defined as such in the rules.
|
|
|||
|
They're not complicated words.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
I read that question to be a question on the statute of limitations for making a correction.....that if the time that ran off was more than 5 seconds, it is or is not too late to make a correction. I did not think it was about definite knowledge.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Okay, here's the question I missed:
Prior to either team gaining control on a jump ball to start the overtime period, B2 is charged with an intentional personal foul. Ruling: The scorer should set the arrow when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower for the throw-in opposite the table at mid court. true or false
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
IF the nearest spot to the foul is "opposite the table at mid court" then it's true. IF the nearest spot to the foul is other than that, then it's false. Or, if you think they are asking about the arrow alone (and ignoring any spot issues), it's true. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
You learn something new everyday ... |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Unfortunately, the "correct" answer was listed as true. Fortunately, this was the only question I missed, so my rating was not affected. I hope that missing this question didn't affect anyone else's rating.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Bob is right with the rule. Not sure what you meant by the arrow is set sooner than this. By definition...
4-3 “Alternating-possession control is established and the initial direction of the possession arrow is set toward the opponent’s basket when: ART. 1 . . . A player secures control of the ball, as after the jump ball beginning the game and each extra period. ART. 2 . . . The ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower after a *common foul when the bonus free throw is in effect. ART. 3 . . . The ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower after: a. A violation during or following the jump before a player secures control. b. The free throws for a noncommon foul. c. A common foul before the bonus free throw is in effect.” Excerpt From: NFHS & Theresia Wynns. “2014-15 Basketball Rules Book.” NFHS. iBooks. This material may be protected by copyright. Check out this book on the iBooks Store: https://itun.es/us/s1l02.l |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
You learn something new everyday ... |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| NFHS Past Interpretations Archive (2025-26 Added) | Nevadaref | Basketball | 42 | Thu Nov 20, 2025 01:23pm |
| NBA 2014-2015 New Hires | justacoach | Basketball | 3 | Tue Aug 19, 2014 05:00pm |
| 2014-2015 NFHS Rule Book avail for Kindle... | scrounge | Football | 0 | Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:44am |
| New NFHS Rules Approved For 2014-2015 | Rich | Basketball | 69 | Thu May 08, 2014 11:47am |