The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   "Long Jump" on a Throw In? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98504-long-jump-throw.html)

Freddy Sun Oct 12, 2014 09:04pm

"Long Jump" on a Throw In?
 
Thrower-inner A1 backs up and, running toward the endline, jumps across the endline over the court and releases a throw-in pass prior to landing on the floor inbounds.

On a designated spot throw-in the illegality of this "long jumper" seems clear because of 7-6-3 ("...shall not leave the designated throw-in spot until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass") and 4-42-6 NOTE ("...must keep one foot on or over the spot until the ball is released). The throw-in spot exists only in out of bounds area, according to 4-42-2 ("...a method of putting the ball in play from out of bounds").

QUESTION: What rulebook citation, if any, exists that prohibits "long jumper" A1 from doing this on a throw-in after a made or awarded basket, when the designated throw-in spot is not relevant?

bballref3966 Sun Oct 12, 2014 09:31pm

No violation. He was OOB when he released the ball. (9-2-10 Note)

The thrower has no depth limitation on a throw-in. As long as he stays within the width of designated spot, your scenario is not illegal.

Freddy Sun Oct 12, 2014 09:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bballref3966 (Post 941525)
No violation. He was OOB when he released the ball. (9-2-10 Note)

The thrower has no depth limitation on a throw-in. As long as he stays within the width of designated spot, your scenario is not illegal.

I appreciate your reference to 9-2-10 Note. That seems to be a relevant citation.
However, your second point is not applicable because in the question the designated spot does not prevail--it's after a made or awarded basket when there is not designated throw-in spot.

bballref3966 Mon Oct 13, 2014 05:51am

You're right. My take would be as long as he's along the end line, nothing illegal.

BillyMac Mon Oct 13, 2014 06:07am

Confucius Says ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bballref3966 (Post 941525)
No violation. He was OOB when he released the ball.

You are where you were until you get where you're going.

rockyroad Mon Oct 13, 2014 10:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 941527)
I appreciate your reference to 9-2-10 Note. That seems to be a relevant citation.
However, your second point is not applicable because in the question the designated spot does not prevail--it's after a made or awarded basket when there is not designated throw-in spot.

The post did point out that you were wrong in your assumption that it was illegal on a designated spot throw-in.

As for a throw-in after a made basket, there is no restriction on the throw-in breaking the plane on a throw-in. So it doesn't matter whether ir is a spot throw-in or after a made basket. As long as they release the throw before they touch inbounds.

BryanV21 Mon Oct 13, 2014 11:30am

I think our answer is in the note at the end of Rule 9.2.10...

"The thrower may penetrate the plane provided he/she does not touch the inbounds area or a player inbounds before the ball is released on the throw-in pass."

Since said thrower last touched the spot-throw area, therefore is technically still there, then the play is legal.

However, if the thrower touches a player defending the throw-in before releasing the ball, it's illegal.

Freddy Mon Oct 13, 2014 01:49pm

This Still Seems to be a Puzzler, Methinks
 
I'm happy to call the long-jumper "legal" on a designated spot throw-in, except for this one requirement, expressed in two places, that sticks in my mind:
"The thrower must keep one foot on or over the spot until the ball is released" (4-42-6 NOTE). And, "The thrower shall not leave the designated throw-in spot until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass" (7-6-3 and 9-2-1). The phrase "You are where you were 'til you get where you're going" seems not to apply when the above requirement restricts it, with the designated spot, of course, not extending past the boundary line.
The NOTE after 9-2-10 ("The thrower may penetrate the plane provided he/she doesn not touch the inbounds area..." doesn't, I'm thinking, dismiss the above requirement, either.
Agree?

Important to me cuz "Throw-Ins" is the topic of our next pre-season rules meeting.

Thanx for your responses, the ones that dwell on what's in the book.

rockyroad Mon Oct 13, 2014 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 941553)
I'm happy to call the long-jumper "legal" on a designated spot throw-in, except for this one requirement, expressed in two places, that sticks in my mind:
"The thrower must keep one foot on or over the spot until the ball is released" (4-42-6 NOTE). And, "The thrower shall not leave the designated throw-in spot until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass" (7-6-3 and 9-2-1). The phrase "You are where you were 'til you get where you're going" seems not to apply when the above requirement restricts it, with the designated spot, of course, not extending past the boundary line.
The NOTE after 9-2-10 ("The thrower may penetrate the plane provided he/she doesn not touch the inbounds area..." doesn't, I'm thinking, dismiss the above requirement, either.
Agree?

Important to me cuz "Throw-Ins" is the topic of our next pre-season rules meeting.

Thanx for your responses, the ones that dwell on what's in the book.

Does the definition of the designated spot say that the thrower can not break the plane? Don't have my books with me, but if I remember correctly, the designated spot "definition" has no depth limitations - simply width limitations.

just another ref Mon Oct 13, 2014 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 941558)
Does the definition of the designated spot say that the thrower can not break the plane? Don't have my books with me, but if I remember correctly, the designated spot "definition" has no depth limitations - simply width limitations.

The spot is out of bounds.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Oct 13, 2014 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 941524)
Thrower-inner A1 backs up and, running toward the endline, jumps across the endline over the court and releases a throw-in pass prior to landing on the floor inbounds.

On a designated spot throw-in the illegality of this "long jumper" seems clear because of 7-6-3 ("...shall not leave the designated throw-in spot until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass") and 4-42-6 NOTE ("...must keep one foot on or over the spot until the ball is released). The throw-in spot exists only in out of bounds area, according to 4-42-2 ("...a method of putting the ball in play from out of bounds").

QUESTION: What rulebook citation, if any, exists that prohibits "long jumper" A1 from doing this on a throw-in after a made or awarded basket, when the designated throw-in spot is not relevant?

Quote:

Originally Posted by bballref3966 (Post 941525)
No violation. He was OOB when he released the ball. (9-2-10 Note)

The thrower has no depth limitation on a throw-in. As long as he stays within the width of designated spot, your scenario is not illegal.

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 941544)
The post did point out that you were wrong in your assumption that it was illegal on a designated spot throw-in.

As for a throw-in after a made basket, there is no restriction on the throw-in breaking the plane on a throw-in. So it doesn't matter whether ir is a spot throw-in or after a made basket. As long as they release the throw before they touch inbounds.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 941553)
I'm happy to call the long-jumper "legal" on a designated spot throw-in, except for this one requirement, expressed in two places, that sticks in my mind:
"The thrower must keep one foot on or over the spot until the ball is released" (4-42-6 NOTE). And, "The thrower shall not leave the designated throw-in spot until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass" (7-6-3 and 9-2-1). The phrase "You are where you were 'til you get where you're going" seems not to apply when the above requirement restricts it, with the designated spot, of course, not extending past the boundary line.
The NOTE after 9-2-10 ("The thrower may penetrate the plane provided he/she doesn not touch the inbounds area..." doesn't, I'm thinking, dismiss the above requirement, either.
Agree?

Important to me cuz "Throw-Ins" is the topic of our next pre-season rules meeting.

Thanx for your responses, the ones that dwell on what's in the book.


The correct RULING for the situation in the OP is that it is a Throw-in Violation. Why? The governing rules citations are NFHS R4-S42-A6 Note and R7-S6-A3. NFHS R4-S42-A2 and R9-S2-A10 are not relevant to this play. Furthermore, it would be a Throw-in Violation regardless whether it was a Designated Spot Throw-in or a Throw-in anywhere along the End Line after a score.

MTD, Sr.

Camron Rust Mon Oct 13, 2014 05:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 941558)
Does the definition of the designated spot say that the thrower can not break the plane? Don't have my books with me, but if I remember correctly, the designated spot "definition" has no depth limitations - simply width limitations.

I believe the above phrase is only saying that, while the width is specifically 3', there is no specific number of feet away from the boundary where the spot is limited. But, the spot IS limited in that directly, just not by a number of feet. It is limited by a wall/seats/bleachers/etc.

I believe the spot is defined to be OOB.

Thus, a player jumping over the inbounds area will have left the spot if neither foot is still over the OOB spot.

Freddy Mon Oct 13, 2014 05:34pm

To Coin a Phrase for Your 2 Cents Worth
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 941569)
The correct RULING for the situation in the OP is that it is a Throw-in Violation. Why? The governing rules citations are NFHS R4-S42-A6 Note and R7-S6-A3. NFHS R4-S42-A2 and R9-S2-A10 are not relevant to this play. Furthermore, it would be a Throw-in Violation regardless whether it was a Designated Spot Throw-in or a Throw-in anywhere along the End Line after a score. MTD, Sr.

By your assessment of relevant rules, would you deem it correct to say that on a throw-in the thrower must "have something out and nothing in", to use a phrase? I'd like to be able to say that. But I'm not quite there yet.......

just another ref Mon Oct 13, 2014 07:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 941580)
By your assessment of relevant rules, would you deem it correct to say that on a throw-in the thrower must "have something out and nothing in", to use a phrase? I'd like to be able to say that. But I'm not quite there yet.......

Just quote the rule. Something on or over the spot and the spot is out of bounds.

BillyMac Tue Oct 14, 2014 06:07am

Throwin Plane ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 941576)
... a player jumping over the inbounds area will have left the spot of neither foot is still over the OOB spot.

Sounds good, but I'm having some trouble (can't really put my finger on it, it's just a bad feeling) giving my full agreement.

In the words of the great, esteemed Forum member, Freddy ...

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 941580)
But I'm not quite there yet.......

I guess that I need a little push.

This is a very interesting thread. I hope that we eventually get a definitive answer.

Rob1968 Tue Oct 14, 2014 09:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 941610)
Sounds good, but I'm having some trouble (can't really put my finger on it, it's just a bad feeling) giving my full agreement.

In the words of the great, esteemed Forum member, Freddy ...



I guess that I need a little push.

This is a very interesting thread. I hope that we eventually get a definitive answer.

It appears that this element of a throw-in is an omission in the verbiage, that allows a loophole. That is, since there is technically no "spot", when a thrower has the opportunity to run the endline, then he/she can't be penalized for "one foot not being on or over the 'spot' when the ball is released."
Logic may seem to be that "one foot must still be on or over the oob area behind the endline, when the ball is released," but the lack of such a statement in the rule can be the basis for a non-violation in such a case, and the genesis of this thread.

JugglingReferee Tue Oct 14, 2014 09:31am

Allowing this isn't desirable to the game. It'll be successful only a minute percentage of the time, with little to gain and more to lose.

And I do believe it violates the on or over stipulation. I say it's a violation.

On a play with the end line, the term spot infers the entire end line, imho.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Oct 14, 2014 09:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 941580)
By your assessment of relevant rules, would you deem it correct to say that on a throw-in the thrower must "have something out and nothing in", to use a phrase? I'd like to be able to say that. But I'm not quite there yet.......


Freddy:

I would prefer to use the following phrase to describe the violation: "Everything out and nothing in or over the throw-in spot."


I would also like to add:

1) There are two types of throw-in spots and they are defined by the width of the spot: a) Designated Throw-in Spot (three feet wide). b) A throw-in after a successful FG, FT, or awarded points (the width of the basketball court: behind the End Line between the Side Lines). The depth of both (a) and (b) are the same.

2) The throw-in rules apply equally to both (a) and (b).

3) NFHS R4-S46-A2 NOTE is the governing rule in either (a) or (b).

MTD, Sr.

bob jenkins Tue Oct 14, 2014 10:05am

9-2-10 Note can be read as allowing the player to jump over the court, as long as the ball is released before the court (or anyone on the court) is touched.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Oct 14, 2014 10:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 941644)
9-2-10 Note can be read as allowing the player to jump over the court, as long as the ball is released before the court (or anyone on the court) is touched.


Bob:

I have to disagree. I do not remember when the rule was changed in both NFHS and NCAA Men's/Women's but there was a time when it was a throw-in violation for the thrower to hold the ball through boundary line plane. The rule was written such that of the thrower broke the boundary line plane with the ball while releasing the pass it was a throw-in violation. The NOTE lends itself to an "old" rule and how the "new" rule pertains to the thrower-in's opponent. R4-S42-A6 NOTE still is the governing rule. And it also applies in both NCAA Men's and Women's.

MTD, Sr.

Jesse James Tue Oct 14, 2014 10:45am

This thread gives me two more things to see before I die

1) Seeing a defender draw a PC foul on the inbounder

2) Watching the inbounder launch himself toward the hoop, attempt a shot (I know it's not a try, and can't score, but the defense won't) and have the defender called for an intentional foul for contacting the inbounder.

Camron Rust Tue Oct 14, 2014 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jesse James (Post 941652)
This thread gives me two more things to see before I die

1) Seeing a defender draw a PC foul on the inbounder

2) Watching the inbounder launch himself toward the hoop, attempt a shot (I know it's not a try, and can't score, but the defense won't) and have the defender called for an intentional foul for contacting the inbounder.

And THAT is precisely why the change to the inbounder/intentional rule is idiotic. They should have left it as an intentional foul to contact the thrower across the plane, not just contacting the inbounder. If the inbounder wants to extend any part of their body across the line, they should loose the protection of being a thrower if fouled on those parts.

HokiePaul Tue Oct 14, 2014 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jesse James (Post 941652)
This thread gives me two more things to see before I die

1) Seeing a defender draw a PC foul on the inbounder

2) Watching the inbounder launch himself toward the hoop, attempt a shot (I know it's not a try, and can't score, but the defense won't) and have the defender called for an intentional foul for contacting the inbounder.

Wouldn't #1 be impossible? I would have a violation for contacting a defender inbounds at the first touch with the defender. So before a PC would occur, the ball would be dead and other contact would be ignored unless intentional or flagrant. Am I missing something?

Camron Rust Tue Oct 14, 2014 03:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 941662)
Wouldn't #1 be impossible? I would have a violation for contacting a defender inbounds at the first touch with the defender. So before a PC would occur, the ball would be dead and other contact would be ignored unless intentional or flagrant. Am I missing something?

Yet we have another rule that says it is an intentional foul to CONTACT the thrower regardless of where the contact is made.

So, you could have a foul, caused by the thrower that meets the definition of a PC (perhaps the thrower shoves the defender away), but is also a throwin violation and also an intentional foul. All by rule. :eek:

bob jenkins Tue Oct 14, 2014 03:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 941662)
Wouldn't #1 be impossible? I would have a violation for contacting a defender inbounds at the first touch with the defender. So before a PC would occur, the ball would be dead and other contact would be ignored unless intentional or flagrant. Am I missing something?

Case 9.2.5B indicates that the official needs to judge whether it's a violation or a foul.

It doesn't help answer the "PC" question because it just says that it's a Personal foul -- it doesn't specify PC or (just) common or I or F.

BillyMac Tue Oct 14, 2014 05:47pm

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 941682)
Case 9.2.5B .

9.2.5 SITUATION B: A1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in and is being
guarded by B1. Before releasing the ball, A1 loses his/her balance, reaches out
and puts his/her hand on B1 (who is inbounds) in an effort to regain his/her balance.
RULING: Throw-in violation by A1. A1 is required to remain out of bounds
until releasing the throw-in pass. When A1 touches an inbounds player, he/she
has inbound status. However, if the contact on B1 is illegal, a personal foul shall
be called. (9-2-10 Note)

BillyMac Wed Oct 15, 2014 06:14am

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 941644)
9-2-10 Note can be read as allowing the player to jump over the court, as long as the ball is released before the court (or anyone on the court) is touched.

NOTE: The thrower may penetrate the plane provided he/she does not touch the inbounds
area or a player inbounds before the ball is released on the throw-in pass. The opponent
in this situation may legally touch or grasp the ball.

Freddy Wed Oct 15, 2014 06:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 941644)
9-2-10 Note can be read as allowing the player to jump over the court, as long as the ball is released before the court (or anyone on the court) is touched.

Correct, it could. However the NOTE after 4-42-6 requires that, "The thrower must keep one foot on our over the spot until the ball is released. " Therefore is it correct that, at least with a designated spot throw in, the long jumper is not complying and is illegal?
What seems interesting is that the same doesn't seem to prevail for a throw in after a made our awarded basket where there is no designated spot.

Smitty Wed Oct 15, 2014 06:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 941679)
Yet we have another rule that says it is an intentional foul to CONTACT the thrower regardless of where the contact is made.

So, you could have a foul, caused by the thrower that meets the definition of a PC (perhaps the thrower shoves the defender away), but is also a throwin violation and also an intentional foul. All by rule. :eek:

I think this is a stretch, Camron. How do you interpret the thrower pushing the defender as an intentional foul on the defender? The defender did not contact the thrower. The opposite happened.

AremRed Wed Oct 15, 2014 07:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jesse James (Post 941652)
This thread gives me two more things to see before I die

1) Seeing a defender draw a PC foul on the inbounder

I think you mean TC foul :D

bob jenkins Wed Oct 15, 2014 07:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 941697)
Correct, it could. However the NOTE after 4-42-6 requires that, "The thrower must keep one foot on our over the spot until the ball is released. " Therefore is it correct that, at least with a designated spot throw in, the long jumper is not complying and is illegal?
What seems interesting is that the same doesn't seem to prevail for a throw in after a made our awarded basket where there is no designated spot.

It all depends on whether that is really meant to stop at the boundary line, or was meant just for lateral movement.

One interp says, " he or she may move laterally if at least one foot is kept on or over the designated area. " so that could be read as the later. But, the same interp says "jump vertically" so that could be read as NOT allowing a jump over the court.

It has been discussed here in the past, and I thought there was a defining case or interp, but I can't find it.

Camron Rust Wed Oct 15, 2014 10:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 941698)
I think this is a stretch, Camron. How do you interpret the thrower pushing the defender as an intentional foul on the defender? The defender did not contact the thrower. The opposite happened.

In spirit, I agree. But, as written, the rule defines it as an intentional foul for a defender to contact a thrower. It doesn't distinguish between who causes the contact. Just that their is contact. I think it is a stupid rule.

bob jenkins Wed Oct 15, 2014 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 941718)
In spirit, I agree. But, as written, the rule defines it as an intentional foul for a defender to contact a thrower. It doesn't distinguish between who causes the contact. Just that their is contact. I think it is a stupid rule.

I think "contact" in this case is an action verb -- the defense must act to cause contact.

It does not say "or is contacted by the inbounder".

And, the relevant case play has it as either a throw-in violation or a foul on the offense -- but not as an intentional foul on the defense.

Camron Rust Thu Oct 16, 2014 12:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 941738)
I think "contact" in this case is an action verb -- the defense must act to cause contact.

It does not say "or is contacted by the inbounder".

And, the relevant case play has it as either a throw-in violation or a foul on the offense -- but not as an intentional foul on the defense.

That case play predated the change to making contact with the thrower an IF...who knows if they considered it when they changed the rule for no good reason.

Even if you're right (and I think you likely are), it is still a dumb rule. If B1 can legally play the ball when it is held beyond the throwin plane, they should not , as long as the action is entirely on the inbounds side of the line, be liable for an IF if they miss the ball and hit the throwers arm instead. There is nothing about that play that needs to be an IF.

Reaching through the line and fouling the thrower being ruled and IF, as has always been the case, was sufficient.

bob jenkins Thu Oct 16, 2014 07:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 941757)
Even if you're right (and I think you likely are), it is still a dumb rule. If B1 can legally play the ball when it is held beyond the throwin plane, they should not , as long as the action is entirely on the inbounds side of the line, be liable for an IF if they miss the ball and hit the throwers arm instead. There is nothing about that play that needs to be an IF.

I agree with that.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1