The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Player control during throw-in (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98495-player-control-during-throw.html)

just another ref Thu Oct 09, 2014 05:13pm

Player control during throw-in
 
I see no reason why this matters anyway, but it's a study guide question so it might be a test question. Is there player control during the throw-in? Answer key says no. I say why not? Definition says player control means player holding a live ball?

I'm sure this has been discussed before.

SNIPERBBB Thu Oct 09, 2014 05:21pm

I cant see anything that would disagree with you. Don't see much practicality in the question though if it was on a test?

BillyMac Thu Oct 09, 2014 06:32pm

Fire Up The Flux Capacitor ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 941419)
Is there player control during the throw-in?

4-12: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling
a live ball. There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches
the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper, or during an
interrupted dribble.

A team is in control of the ball:
d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in.

The 2010-11 NFHS Basketball Rulebook states: 4-12: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling
a live ball inbounds. The word "inbounds" disappeared in the 2011-12 Rulebook, and has not be seen, or heard from, since then.

Camron Rust Thu Oct 09, 2014 08:51pm

Not sure why they took the word "inbounds" out of the definition. The only thing it may have done was make it a PC foul if they committed a foul (which is hard for them to do). I guess it may have been part of the half-brained attempt at cleaning up the team control mess they made.

BillyMac Fri Oct 10, 2014 06:10am

Pick A Prize From The Top shelf ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 941424)
... the half-brained attempt at cleaning up the team control mess they made.

Bingo.

Smitty Fri Oct 10, 2014 08:39am

In the NFHS "Preseason Guide" handout for this season, there is a small article on Team Control Status During Throw-In. A note in that article states:

Quote:

Team control during a throw-in is not intended to be equated to player-control status inbounds, creating team-control status inbounds. During the throw-in 10 seconds, three seconds, frontcourt status, backcourt status, closely guarded, etc., are not factors as there has yet to be player control/team control status obtained inbounds.

Freddy Fri Oct 10, 2014 09:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 941424)
Not sure why they too the work "inbounds" out of the definition.

:confused:
Had it not been consonants that seem to be at issue, I'd diagnose that your keyboard was suffering from "Irritable Vowel Syndrome."

Adam Fri Oct 10, 2014 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 941437)
In the NFHS "Preseason Guide" handout for this season, there is a small article on Team Control Status During Throw-In. A note in that article states:
Quote:

Team control during a throw-in is not intended to be equated to player-control status inbounds, creating team-control status inbounds. During the throw-in 10 seconds, three seconds, frontcourt status, backcourt status, closely guarded, etc., are not factors as there has yet to be player control/team control status obtained inbounds.

They could easily resolve this by fixing the rule, then they wouldn't have to rely on people reading the preseason handouts and previous season rule change notifications.

Camron Rust Fri Oct 10, 2014 10:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 941438)
:confused:
Had it not been consonants that seem to be at issue, I'd diagnose that your keyboard was suffering from "Irritable Vowel Syndrome."

LOL (fixed my typos).

BillyMac Fri Oct 10, 2014 04:14pm

Inquiring Minds Want To Know ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 941437)
Team control during a throw-in is not intended to be equated to player-control status inbounds, creating team-control status inbounds. During the throw-in 10 seconds, three seconds, frontcourt status, backcourt status, closely guarded, etc., are not factors as there has yet to be player control/team control status obtained inbounds.

How about player control status, or for that matter, team control status, out of bounds?

4-12: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling
a live ball.

Smitty Mon Oct 13, 2014 06:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 941447)
They could easily resolve this by fixing the rule, then they wouldn't have to rely on people reading the preseason handouts and previous season rule change notifications.


Sure. I was just trying to help with some context I found in the article.

Smitty Mon Oct 13, 2014 06:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 941466)
How about player control status, or for that matter, team control status, out of bounds?

It seems obvious (to me) that you can derive that from what was stated.

BillyMac Tue Oct 14, 2014 06:21am

Player Control ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 941537)
It seems obvious (to me) that you can derive that from what was stated.

So you would agree that there is player control during the throw-in (as described in the original thread)?

Smitty Tue Oct 14, 2014 06:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 941613)
So you would agree that there is player control during the throw-in (as described in the original thread)?

No I would not agree with that. At all.

Adam Tue Oct 14, 2014 07:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 941614)
No I would not agree with that. At all.

What's missing?

Smitty Tue Oct 14, 2014 08:02am

I'm going by the text of the note I quoted above. There is specific wording that team control during a throw-in is not intended to equate to player control. There is no mention of player control existing out of bounds. It only makes sense that player control exists inbounds.

Rob1968 Tue Oct 14, 2014 09:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 941620)
I'm going by the text of the note I quoted above. There is specific wording that team control during a throw-in is not intended to equate to player control. There is no mention of player control existing out of bounds. It only makes sense that player control exists inbounds.

But, Smitty, 4-12-1 tells us that "A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball."
And, 4-12-2 "A team is in control of the ball:
a. When a player of the team is in control.
d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in."

Thus, for purposes of a Test question/answer, as to whether there is player control during a throw-in, one must play the "what does the test administrator want for an answer, type game," and respond, "Yes."
I seem to recall that this same or a similarly worded question appeared on last year's test, and they were eliciting a "True" answer. (?)

Smitty Tue Oct 14, 2014 09:49am

The answer key in the OP says no. I agree. I think they added enough wording via the notations to imply there is no player control during a throw-in. The fact that it's not implicitly stated in the rules doesn't keep me up at night.

just another ref Tue Oct 14, 2014 10:12am

It doesn't keep me up at night either, but since it is a question it needs an answer. There is only one important thing about this question, the fact that it can be missed on a test. Other than that, I see it as totally irrelevant, one way or the other.

Smitty Tue Oct 14, 2014 10:14am

There's always an ambiguous question or two on the test. In this case, however, even though they may have written the rules poorly, I think they made it clear in the followup notifications. It makes no sense to me that a player who is out of bounds would still have player control status.

Camron Rust Tue Oct 14, 2014 11:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 941637)
But, Smitty, 4-12-1 tells us that "A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball."
And, 4-12-2 "A team is in control of the ball:
a. When a player of the team is in control.
d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in."

Thus, for purposes of a Test question/answer, as to whether there is player control during a throw-in, one must play the "what does the test administrator want for an answer, type game," and respond, "Yes."
I seem to recall that this same or a similarly worded question appeared on last year's test, and they were eliciting a "True" answer. (?)

They dropped a key word from this rule recently...'inbounds". Perhaps it was an editing error and they still intend for PC to only exist inbounds.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1