The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2014 Unannounced Changes? (e.g. Casebook 4.14.1 Sit. D) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98366-2014-unannounced-changes-e-g-casebook-4-14-1-sit-d.html)

Scrapper1 Sat Sep 06, 2014 08:47am

2014 Unannounced Changes? (e.g. Casebook 4.14.1 Sit. D)
 
Has anybody found or posted a list of any unannounced rule changes for the current season's rule book?

JetMetFan Sat Sep 06, 2014 09:36am

You've heard/seen something we need to know?

Scrapper1 Sat Sep 06, 2014 10:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 939812)
You've heard/seen something we need to know?

No, but you just KNOW that they've made some, which is why I was hoping somebody else had put together a list.

I was discussing goaltending today and remembered that they removed "outside the cylinder" from the definition last year in an unannounced change. So I thought I would ask about this season's book.

Adam Sat Sep 06, 2014 11:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 939813)
No, but you just KNOW that they've made some, which is why I was hoping somebody else had put together a list.

I was discussing goaltending today and remembered that they removed "outside the cylinder" from the definition last year in an unannounced change. So I thought I would ask about this season's book.

It's almost a given that there will be some unanounced changes that affect more than what they understand, and there will be announced changes that have little to no real impact on the rules.

BillyMac Sat Sep 06, 2014 11:47am

Two Violations In One ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 939813)
... they removed "outside the cylinder" from the definition last year in an unannounced change.

Goaltending. No. Basket Interference. Tastes great. No. Less filling.

Freddy Sat Sep 06, 2014 02:22pm

"Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes"...Unannounced Type
 
In Rule 4 . . .

4-15-3:
Was: "The dribble may be started by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor before the pivot foot is lifted."
Now: "The dribble begins by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor before the pivot foot is lifted.
Assessment: I like any time they get rid of the word "may", I'm for it. Sometimes leaves options open that aren't really permitted. Wish they'd clean up 8-1-4 in similar fashion.

4-19-3d:
Oh wait, that one was "announced."

4-20-2:
Was: "The free throw starts when..."
Now: "The free throw begins when..."
Assessment: A distinction without a difference.

Scrapper1 Tue Sep 09, 2014 08:24am

Thanks, Freddy. The lack of traffic on this thread makes me feel like there might not be too many this year. I hope that's true. I'll start looking when I get my own books this week.

Raymond Tue Sep 09, 2014 10:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 939967)
Thanks, Freddy. The lack of traffic on this thread makes me feel like there might not be too many this year...

Or nobody has looked that hard yet. :D

OKREF Tue Sep 09, 2014 10:57am

Has anyone looked at the change concerning arm/leg sleeves. I really like that they have said that anything worn on the arms/or legs is a sleeve. This means the long knee pads, and tights included. They also did away with the medical verification. They just have to meet the color requirements.

Adam Tue Sep 09, 2014 11:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 939981)
Has anyone looked at the change concerning arm/leg sleeves. I really like that they have said that anything worn on the arms/or legs is a sleeve. This means the long knee pads, and tights included. They also did away with the medical verification. They just have to meet the color requirements.

I'm guessing guys will still ask, though: right before they tell them to stand still for the jump ball.

grunewar Wed Sep 10, 2014 04:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 939980)
Or nobody has looked that hard yet. :D

or hasn't received their manual yet.......

Scrapper1 Wed Sep 10, 2014 09:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 939981)
Has anyone looked at the change concerning arm/leg sleeves. I really like that they have said that anything worn on the arms/or legs is a sleeve. This means the long knee pads, and tights included. They also did away with the medical verification. They just have to meet the color requirements.

This is an announced change, so maybe it deserves its own thread. But we were told that the rule now reads that the color of these items must be black, white, gray or the "dominant" color of the jersey. It used to be any school color.

Again, I don't have my books yet, so maybe somebody can confirm this.

OKREF Wed Sep 10, 2014 09:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 940027)
This is an announced change, so maybe it deserves its own thread. But we were told that the rule now reads that the color of these items must be black, white, gray or the "dominant" color of the jersey. It used to be any school color.

Again, I don't have my books yet, so maybe somebody can confirm this.

This is from the NFHS website.

Art. 3: Arm sleeves, knee sleeves, lower leg sleeves and tights are permissible:
a. Anything worn on the arm and/or leg is a sleeve, except a knee brace, and
shall meet the color restrictions.
b. The sleeves/tights shall be black, white, beige or the predominant color of the
uniform and the same color sleeves/tights shall be worn by teammates.
c. All sleeves/tights shall be the same solid color.
d. Meet the logo requirements in 3-6.
Note: In general, a brace is defined as anything that contains hinges and/or straps or an opening over the knee cap.

Lcubed48 Thu Sep 11, 2014 09:17am

Pleeeeeeeeeeezzzzzzzeeeeeeeeee!!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 940028)
This is from the NFHS website.

Art. 3: Arm sleeves, knee sleeves, lower leg sleeves and tights are permissible:
a. Anything worn on the arm and/or leg is a sleeve, except a knee brace, and
shall meet the color restrictions.
b. The sleeves/tights shall be black, white, beige or the predominant color of the
uniform and the same color sleeves/tights shall be worn by teammates.
c. All sleeves/tights shall be the same solid color.
d. Meet the logo requirements in 3-6.
Note: In general, a brace is defined as anything that contains hinges and/or straps or an opening over the knee cap.

Now, can they give wristbands and headbands the same color and team requirements?

Raymond Thu Sep 11, 2014 09:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lcubed48 (Post 940042)
Now, can they give wristbands and headbands the same color and team requirements?

Isn't a wristband worn on the arm? :D

Rich Thu Sep 11, 2014 09:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lcubed48 (Post 940042)
Now, can they give wristbands and headbands the same color and team requirements?

Better yet, can we get out of the fashion/color business entirely? I got a game to work.

AremRed Thu Sep 11, 2014 09:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 940044)
Better yet, can we get out of the fashion/color business entirely? I got a game to work.

We should take those officials who love being fashion police and put them in a group called "Compliance Officials". They would travel around to schools and law down the fashion law. We could create a test of entirely uniform questions (wait, would that be any different than the current NFHS tests??) to find those special officials!

Either that, or have schools self-report uniform violations. I just wanna call the game.

PG_Ref Thu Sep 11, 2014 10:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lcubed48 (Post 940042)
Now, can they give wristbands and headbands the same color and team requirements?

Another change ...

NFHS 3-5-4

Headbands and wristbands shall be white, black, beige or predominant color of the uniform and shall be the same color for each item and all participants.

Adam Thu Sep 11, 2014 10:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 940044)
Better yet, can we get out of the fashion/color business entirely? I got a game to work.

It's great in theory, until the away teams start wearing white undershirts with long sleeves. AFAIC, make the color requirement simple.

Dominant jersey color only, or they take it off. No, "white, beige, black, fuscia, or predominant color..." If it doesn't match your jersey, it doesn't work.

Of course, if they wanted to make this a similar process as protesting the use of ineligible players, I wouldn't have my feelings hurt. Get it on tape and send it to the state.

Camron Rust Thu Sep 11, 2014 11:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 940044)
Better yet, can we get out of the fashion/color business entirely? I got a game to work.

Fashion, yes. Color, no. Colors on sleeves can be confusing. Imagine having several colors on each team with players on opposite teams wearing similar colors. It would make it a lot easier to allow a team to only wear a color that matches their main uniform color OR possibly home can wear white sleeves and visitor can wear dark (black) sleeves even if it is not their uniform color.

Freddy Thu Sep 11, 2014 03:50pm

Is This a Contradiction?
 
OK, it seems they've thrown out "single solid school color" and replaced it with "predominant color of the uniform". I get that. However . . .

New 3-5-4a says, "Headbands and wristbands shall be white, black, beige, or predominant color of the uniform..."

New 3.5.4 says, "Team A's school colors are blue and gold and the predominant color of Team A's jerseys are (sic) white. Prior to the game, an official notices that several Team A members are wearing . . . blue headbands and blue wristbands... RULING: Legal . . .

Is this not a contradiction between rulebook and casebook?
Or am I missing something here?

chseagle Fri Sep 12, 2014 04:16pm

I asked my family about what the casebook ruling states, & they were shaking their heads, as how can blue headbands & wristbands be considered legal when the predominant color of the uniform is white?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 940052)
OK, it seems they've thrown out "single solid school color" and replaced it with "predominant color of the uniform". I get that. However . . .

New 3-5-4a says, "Headbands and wristbands shall be white, black, beige, or predominant color of the uniform..."

New 3.5.4 says, "Team A's school colors are blue and gold and the predominant color of Team A's jerseys are (sic) white. Prior to the game, an official notices that several Team A members are wearing . . . blue headbands and blue wristbands... RULING: Legal . . .

Is this not a contradiction between rulebook and casebook?
Or am I missing something here?


Lcubed48 Sun Sep 14, 2014 06:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 940043)
Isn't a wristband worn on the arm? :D

If it is not worn on the wrist. :D

Lcubed48 Sun Sep 14, 2014 06:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 940044)
Better yet, can we get out of the fashion/color business entirely? I got a game to work.

Agreed. My bottom line feeling is junk all the fashion police stuff, and play on.

Camron Rust Sun Sep 14, 2014 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lcubed48 (Post 940042)
Now, can they give wristbands and headbands the same color and team requirements?


Are they not already??

OKREF Sun Sep 14, 2014 03:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lcubed48 (Post 940042)
Now, can they give wristbands and headbands the same color and team requirements?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 940104)
Are they not already??

Yes they are

Lcubed48 Mon Sep 15, 2014 05:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 940104)
Are they not already??

Indeed they are. I misunderstood the verbiage in the rule change. Thanks for the heads up.

BillyMac Mon Sep 15, 2014 06:09am

Fashion Police Confusion In Connecticut ...
 
Since wristbands are worn on the arm, they are sleeves? Right?

Since headbands must match the color of wristbands, then they (headbands) also fall under the "sleeves" color restrictions? Right?

The new "predominant color of the uniform" language applies to wristbands, headbands, sleeves (arm, and leg), and undershirts? Right?

Freddy Mon Sep 15, 2014 07:09am

I Hate This, But...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 940123)
Since wristbands are worn on the arm, they are sleeves? Right?

No. Compare 3-5-4c (wristbands) with 3-5-3. In an unfortunate overstatement, 3-5-3a ("Anything worn on the arm and/or leg is a sleeve") mucks things up.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 940123)
Since headbands must match the color of wristbands, then they are fall under the "sleeves" color restrictions? Right?

No. As before, headbands and wristbands are one family, arm sleeves and leg sleeves (add tights now) are another family.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 940123)
The new "predominant color of the uniform" language applies to wristbands, headbands, sleeves (arm, and leg), and undershirts? Right?

Everything is the same except "predominant color of the uniform" replaces "single solid school color"

BTW, do you have a new rulesbook?

BayStateRef Mon Sep 15, 2014 11:00am

Ugh. Just wish they left this alone.

School colors are white and green. Girls want to wear green headbands at home, with their white uniforms and green trim. Last year's ruling: legal (any single school color.) Before 2010-11: illegal (had to match the color of the torso of the shirt). The girls hated it, in part because different officials ignored the "illegal" headbands.

Four years this worked just fine. I would love to hear the back story on this: what happened that prompted the reversion to the old rule?

And now the case book contradicts the language of the rule? Double ugh. And no...I don't have my new rules book yet.

Freddy Mon Sep 15, 2014 03:21pm

Revise and Send This to Your State Office...I Did
 
Hi (state association director),
These "fashion police" changes by NFHS are getting out of hand. There are errors this year, and what worked great last year for the first time is being retracted again this year.
Any chance the (state association) can be convinced to waive the change the NFHS made once again to the color restriction regarding optional adornments? Right when they got basketball rule 3-5-3 and 3-5-4 to a point that it was easily enforcible (white, black, beige, or a single solid school color for arm-sleeves and leg-sleeves and for headbands and wristbands). No problem with that last year whatsoever. The players finally had a rule they could live with . . . and they did. Easy for everyone. And now this year they change "single solid school color" to "predominant color of the uniform."
This "fashion police" retraction to how it was previous years is not only borderline senseless, given the hesitancy of many officials not to mess with these rules at all, it will become a chaotic, unenforced, inconsistently enforced situation like it was two years ago and prior. What in the world precipitated this change? Were there rampant problems with last year's rule or something?
Any chance the (state association) can waive this new NFHS change and revert to how these two rules were last season when they worked just great?
Also, the unintended contradiction between 3-5-4a and supporting casebook 3.5.4 needs to be corrected.
Also, the phrase in 3-5-3a, "Anything worn on the arm and/or leg is a sleeve" is not correct, given 3-5-4 obviously gives separate rules for wristbands and headbands.

Please consider the headache trainers are gonna have with these errors and seemingly unnecessary changes and waive these NFHS changes for our state this and following years.

Looking forward to your seasoned and directive response.

OKREF Mon Sep 15, 2014 04:12pm

Why is this so hard? The "anything worn on arms and legs is a sleeve" pertains to the long sleeves with the pads in them, or the elbow shooting sleeves. They removed the medical permission part and lumped all into a sleeve. Nothing really has changed with the headbands and wristbands, except predominant has replaced single school color.

If a team's colors are blue, red, and yellow, and they're wearing blue tops, gotta be black, white, beige, or blue. That's it. Headbands/ wristbands must match, sleeves and legs must match, but the bands and sleeves don't have to match. In the above scenario, the HB/WB can be white and the sleeves can be black.

BillyMac Mon Sep 15, 2014 04:19pm

It Will Be Like Christmas Morning ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 940124)
Do you have a new rulebook?

Not until Wednesday, October 15, 2014.

BillyMac Mon Sep 15, 2014 04:24pm

Doesn't It Start With An F ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 940124)
"Anything worn on the arm and/or leg is a sleeve" mucks things up.

Hey Freddy: I think that you misspelled "mucks".

JetMetFan Mon Sep 15, 2014 05:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 940162)
Hi (state association director),
These "fashion police" changes by NFHS are getting out of hand. There are errors this year, and what worked great last year for the first time is being retracted again this year.
Any chance the (state association) can be convinced to waive the change the NFHS made once again to the color restriction regarding optional adornments? Right when they got basketball rule 3-5-3 and 3-5-4 to a point that it was easily enforcible (white, black, beige, or a single solid school color for arm-sleeves and leg-sleeves and for headbands and wristbands). No problem with that last year whatsoever. The players finally had a rule they could live with . . . and they did. Easy for everyone. And now this year they change "single solid school color" to "predominant color of the uniform."
This "fashion police" retraction to how it was previous years is not only borderline senseless, given the hesitancy of many officials not to mess with these rules at all, it will become a chaotic, unenforced, inconsistently enforced situation like it was two years ago and prior. What in the world precipitated this change? Were there rampant problems with last year's rule or something?
Any chance the (state association) can waive this new NFHS change and revert to how these two rules were last season when they worked just great?
Also, the unintended contradiction between 3-5-4a and supporting casebook 3.5.4 needs to be corrected.
Also, the phrase in 3-5-3a, "Anything worn on the arm and/or leg is a sleeve" is not correct, given 3-5-4 obviously gives separate rules for wristbands and headbands.

Please consider the headache trainers are gonna have with these errors and seemingly unnecessary changes and waive these NFHS changes for our state this and following years.

Looking forward to your seasoned and directive response.

I say go one step further. Send a version of the same letter to the NFHS Rules Editor, Theresia Wynns. If she receives enough of them it might effect some change. I plan to do it as soon as I either have my rule book in hand (October 21) or the new online version appears on Arbiter, whichever comes first.

Kansas Ref Tue Sep 16, 2014 01:42pm

I guess the Rules Writers at NFHS have realized that such things (i.e., leotards with knee hex-pads and so-called "shooting sleeves") are more "fashion-statements" than "medical necessities". I've noticed even 6th graders--and some 3rd graders wearing those accessories. I'm humored when I see it:rolleyes:

Adam Tue Sep 16, 2014 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 940206)
I guess the Rules Writers at NFHS have realized that such things (i.e., leotards with knee hex-pads and so-called "shooting sleeves") are more "fashion-statements" than "medical necessities". I've noticed even 6th graders--and some 3rd graders wearing those accessories. I'm humored when I see it:rolleyes:

Reminds me of Joe Pesci from The Super.

Freddy Tue Sep 16, 2014 02:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 940170)
Why is this so hard?

Because...
1. Former "single solid school color" was easy for teams to comply with and for officials to enforce and there was never a problem with it, and
2. New "predominant color of the jersey", instead, being more restrictive, means something senseless to have to educate officials on, something non-essential to the game that will need to be enforced with teams who, say, as a green and white school color team, are wearing their white jerseys and want to wear their green headbands and we have to tell 'em no that green isn't the predominant color of their jerseys
3. "Anything worn on the arm and/or leg is a sleeve" (3-5-3a)... is wrong, since 3-5-4 details requisites about wristbands, which are enforced differently than arm sleeves.
4. Casebook 3.5.4 directly contradicts rule 3-5-4a.
This whole attempt at fashion police enhancement, unnecessary as it is, seems ill-contrived and hastily thrown together and without real need. And that's no way to maintain authority and order.
Getting a group of officials to buy into a rule change as chaotic and nonsensical as this is gonna be like pushing a rope. The Fed has to put themselves of those out there in the field who have to deal with the changes they come up with like this. But they didn't.
That's why it's so hard.
Then again, don't care and it wouldn't be that hard.
I'm hoping our state reverts to last year's rule on this and we can get back to RSBQ and 1,2 Jabbar automatics, etc--things that really matter.

APG Tue Sep 23, 2014 02:12am

Thoughts on this new casebook play?

*4.14.1 SITUATION D:

A1 is fouled by B1 while Team A is in double bonus. In frustration, A1 pushes B1 after the ball becomes dead. A1 is assessed a technical foul. A1 successfully makes both free throws for the personal foul assessed to B1. B3 is ready to attempt the free throw for the technical foul by A1. The official scorer notifies the officials that the technical foul on A1 was his/her fifth.

RULING: Officials notify the Team A coach and A1 of the disqualification and allow a substitute for A1. A correctable error has occurred by allowing the wrong player (A1) to attempt the free throws for the personal foul and has been discovered within the timeframe to correct. The free throws by A1 are cancelled and A1’s substitute shall attempt the free throws for the personal foul against A1 followed by the attempts by Team B for the technical foul. (2-10-1c, 4-14-1)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Sep 23, 2014 07:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 940504)
Thoughts on this new casebook play?

*4.14.1 SITUATION D:

A1 is fouled by B1 while Team A is in double bonus. In frustration, A1 pushes B1 after the ball becomes dead. A1 is assessed a technical foul. A1 successfully makes both free throws for the personal foul assessed to B1. B3 is ready to attempt the free throw for the technical foul by A1. The official scorer notifies the officials that the technical foul on A1 was his/her fifth.

RULING: Officials notify the Team A coach and A1 of the disqualification and allow a substitute for A1. A correctable error has occurred by allowing the wrong player (A1) to attempt the free throws for the personal foul and has been discovered within the timeframe to correct. The free throws by A1 are cancelled and A1’s substitute shall attempt the free throws for the personal foul against A1 followed by the attempts by Team B for the technical foul. (2-10-1c, 4-14-1)


Whoever came up with this RULING should be sent back to Basketball Officiating 101. R2-S10-A1c and R4-S14-A1 do NOT apply. The only rule that applies is: R4-S14-A2, which states: "A player is officially disqualified and becomes bench personnel when the coach is notified by an official."

My first game of the season (also Mark, Jr.'s) is not until Nov. 13th and already I am gnashing my teeth and pulling out what little hair I left on my head.

MTD, Sr.

bob jenkins Tue Sep 23, 2014 08:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 940504)
Thoughts on this new casebook play?

iirc, NFHS had this one way, and NCAA (at least W) had it the other. I'm glad they decided to make them the same, but they changed the wrong one.

scrounge Tue Sep 23, 2014 08:45am

As an FYI, it's also available in Kindle form for $5.99....

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...XWC3ERC2AK4LX5

Raymond Tue Sep 23, 2014 08:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 940504)
Thoughts on this new casebook play?

*4.14.1 SITUATION D:

A1 is fouled by B1 while Team A is in double bonus. In frustration, A1 pushes B1 after the ball becomes dead. A1 is assessed a technical foul. A1 successfully makes both free throws for the personal foul assessed to B1. B3 is ready to attempt the free throw for the technical foul by A1. The official scorer notifies the officials that the technical foul on A1 was his/her fifth.

RULING: Officials notify the Team A coach and A1 of the disqualification and allow a substitute for A1. A correctable error has occurred by allowing the wrong player (A1) to attempt the free throws for the personal foul and has been discovered within the timeframe to correct. The free throws by A1 are cancelled and A1’s substitute shall attempt the free throws for the personal foul against A1 followed by the attempts by Team B for the technical foul. (2-10-1c, 4-14-1)

I think this falls into the category of "unannounced change".

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Sep 23, 2014 09:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 940507)
iirc, NFHS had this one way, and NCAA (at least W) had it the other. I'm glad they decided to make them the same, but they changed the wrong one.


Since I retired from college officiating after the 2007-08 season my interest in the college (men's and women's) is to the extent that I buy copies of the rules, casebooks, and CCA manuals, and only skim through them. When did the NCAA Women's make this change?

MTD, Sr.

JetMetFan Tue Sep 23, 2014 09:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 940506)
Whoever came up with this RULING should be sent back to Basketball Officiating 101. R2-S10-A1c and R4-S14-A1 do NOT apply. The only rule that applies is: R4-S14-A2, which states: "A player is officially disqualified and becomes bench personnel when the coach is notified by an official."

Along with the Note on 2-11-5: The procedure if a player who has committed his/her fifth foul continues to play because the scorer has failed to notify the official is as follows: As soon as the scorer discovers the irregularity, the game horn should be sounded after, or as soon as, the ball is in control of the offending team or is dead. The disqualified player must be removed immediately. Any points which may have been scored while such player was illegally in the game are counted. If other aspects of the error are correctable, the procedure to be followed is included among the duties of the officials.

bob jenkins Tue Sep 23, 2014 09:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 940516)
Since I retired from college officiating after the 2007-08 season my interest in the college (men's and women's) is to the extent that I buy copies of the rules, casebooks, and CCA manuals, and only skim through them. When did the NCAA Women's make this change?

MTD, Sr.

Oh, about 10 years ago (I don't know that it was a change)

JetMetFan Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:03am

NCAAW Case Play!!!
 
For those who are interested, this is the (edited) NCAAW case play for the NFHS situation detailed above:

A.R. 65. A5 is fouled during an unsuccessful try for goal. As A5 goes to the free-throw line, A5 is assessed an unsportsmanlike technical foul, which is A5’s fifth and disqualifying foul. The scorer...does not inform the official that A5 has been disqualified until after A5 attempts the free throws.

RULING: Since A5 and A5’s coach were not notified of the disqualification until after A5’s free throws, the result of A5’s free throws shall stand. (Rule 4-12.4, 8-3.2.c, 2-9.4 and 4-27.1.e)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 940520)
Oh, about 10 years ago (I don't know that it was a change)


Bob:

You mean you don't want to climb in my attic with me and go through 43 years of H.S. and college rules books and casebooks with me. :D

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 940517)
Along with the Note on 2-11-5: The procedure if a player who has committed his/her fifth foul continues to play because the scorer has failed to notify the official is as follows: As soon as the scorer discovers the irregularity, the game horn should be sounded after, or as soon as, the ball is in control of the offending team or is dead. The disqualified player must be removed immediately. Any points which may have been scored while such player was illegally in the game are counted. If other aspects of the error are correctable, the procedure to be followed is included among the duties of the officials.


Are you supporting "my" RULING or supporting the NFHS Casebook RULING? I believe that the Note in NFHS R2-11-A5 further supports "my" RULING. And should be included with NHFS R4-S14-A2.

MTD, Sr.

bob jenkins Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 940524)
For those who are interested, this is the (edited) NCAAW case play for the NFHS situation detailed above:

A.R. 65. A5 is fouled during an unsuccessful try for goal. As A5 goes to the free-throw line, A5 is assessed an unsportsmanlike technical foul, which is A5’s fifth and disqualifying foul. The scorer...does not inform the official that A5 has been disqualified until after A5 attempts the free throws.

RULING: Since A5 and A5’s coach were not notified of the disqualification until after A5’s free throws, the result of A5’s free throws shall stand. (Rule 4-12.4, 8-3.2.c, 2-9.4 and 4-27.1.e)

Thanks. Apparently I did not recall correctly. ;)

Now that you posted it, I seem to remember (but we've seen how reliable that is) that this case was put in a few years ago -- and I agree with the case.

PG_Ref Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 940504)
Thoughts on this new casebook play?

*4.14.1 SITUATION D:

A1 is fouled by B1 while Team A is in double bonus. In frustration, A1 pushes B1 after the ball becomes dead. A1 is assessed a technical foul. A1 successfully makes both free throws for the personal foul assessed to B1. B3 is ready to attempt the free throw for the technical foul by A1. The official scorer notifies the officials that the technical foul on A1 was his/her fifth.

RULING: Officials notify the Team A coach and A1 of the disqualification and allow a substitute for A1. A correctable error has occurred by allowing the wrong player (A1) to attempt the free throws for the personal foul and has been discovered within the timeframe to correct. The free throws by A1 are cancelled and A1’s substitute shall attempt the free throws for the personal foul against A1 followed by the attempts by Team B for the technical foul. (2-10-1c, 4-14-1)

This ruling has been taken to NFHS for clarification. They are supposedly going to issue a correction along with a few other seemingly contradictions between rule and caseplay. Hopefully they will correct and not confuse further.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 940524)
For those who are interested, this is the (edited) NCAAW case play for the NFHS situation detailed above:

A.R. 65. A5 is fouled during an unsuccessful try for goal. As A5 goes to the free-throw line, A5 is assessed an unsportsmanlike technical foul, which is A5’s fifth and disqualifying foul. The scorer...does not inform the official that A5 has been disqualified until after A5 attempts the free throws.

RULING: Since A5 and A5’s coach were not notified of the disqualification until after A5’s free throws, the result of A5’s free throws shall stand. (Rule 4-12.4, 8-3.2.c, 2-9.4 and 4-27.1.e)


JMF:

I agree with NCAA Women's Ruling but what year is that ruling from?

MTD, Sr.

P.S. Loss last night for you.

APG Tue Sep 23, 2014 12:08pm

Moved posts discussing this casebook play to this thread

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Sep 23, 2014 12:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 940552)
Moved posts discussing this casebook play to this thread


APG:

To which thread?

MTD, Sr.

JetMetFan Tue Sep 23, 2014 12:55pm

From Peter Webb, IAABO
 
When in doubt, go to the source...or as close as you can get:

Your groups concern is right on. The new Case Book Play 4.14.1 D ruling is not accurate. A commendation to you and the group for reviewing the Case Book play(s) and for caring to share your concern.
The NFHS Editor was informed about the concern earlier this month. IAABO will have a memo out to Interpreters shortly. The memo will include several pre-season items including this Case Book Play.

As per Rules 4.14.2 and 2.11's Note following Article 5 are support for (a) the situation not being a correctable error situation; (b) citing the accurate ruling that the player was a player when he/she attempted the free throws and the points are counted.

For IAABO,

Peter

Peter Webb
IAABO Coordinator of Rules Interpreters & Trainers

JetMetFan Tue Sep 23, 2014 12:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 940529)
JMF:

I agree with NCAA Women's Ruling but what year is that ruling from?

MTD, Sr.

P.S. Loss last night for you.

MTDS -

All I know is it's in this year's case book ;) I can't remember when the change took place. And, unfortunately, I don't have an attic :D

As for the p.s., yeah, well...

APG Tue Sep 23, 2014 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 940555)
APG:

To which thread?

MTD, Sr.

From the NFHS Rulebook/Casebook thread to the "2014 Unannounced Changes."

It appears though that we'll be getting a clarification soon from NFHS on this play

bob jenkins Tue Sep 23, 2014 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 940529)
JMF:

I agree with NCAA Women's Ruling but what year is that ruling from?

MTD, Sr.

P.S. Loss last night for you.

I think it first appears in the 2002 book.

And, here's a NFHS 2000-01 Interp:

SITUATION 4: A1 is fouled by B2 and is awarded two free throws. The foul is B2’s fifth foul. The trail official reports the fifth foul to Team B’s coach. Before a substitute is made, the lead official incorrectly permits A1 to attempt the first free throw. The trail official realizes the error and huddles with the lead official. RULING: The result of the first attempt shall stand. Team B’s head coach shall be notified of B2’s disqualification. Once B2 has been replaced, A1 shall attempt the second free throw. COMMENT: This is an official’s error and not a correctable error situation according to Rule 2-10. (10-6 Pen; 2-8-3; 10-5-1d)

BillyMac Tue Sep 23, 2014 03:52pm

Officially Disqualified ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 940506)
The only rule that applies is: R4-S14-A2, which states: "A player is officially disqualified and becomes bench personnel when the coach is notified by an official."

Nice citation Mark T, DeNucci.

In theory I agree with you, but I've always viewed specific casebook plays as "trumping" anything generic in the rulebook. It appears that the fact that the coach was not notified and that the "five foul player" made some free throws is now considered to be a correctable error.

BktBallRef Wed Sep 24, 2014 05:24pm

Received this from the NCHSAA, who received it from the NFHS today, after I asked about this case play.

Correction for 4-14-1 Situation D: A1 is fouled by B1 while Team A is in double bonus. In frustration, A1 pushes B1 after the ball becomes dead. A1 is assessed a technical foul. A1 successfully makes both free throws for the personal foul assessed to B1. B3 is ready to attempt the free throws for the technical foul by A1. The official scorer notifies the officials that the technical foul on A1 was her/his fifth.
Ruling: Officials notify the Team A coach of the disqualification and allow a substitute for A1. The points made by A1 will stand. B3 is allowed to shoot the free throws for the technical foul and Team B is given the ball at half court to continue the game. 4-14-2; 2-11-5 Note.

We will make this correction on our 2014-15 Interpretations which will be distributed a couple of weeks after the Rules Interpretation session.

Adam Wed Sep 24, 2014 05:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 940572)
Nice citation Mark T, DeNucci.

In theory I agree with you, but I've always viewed specific casebook plays as "trumping" anything generic in the rulebook. It appears that the fact that the coach was not notified and that the "five foul player" made some free throws is now considered to be a correctable error.

Or, as most of us have assumed, it might just be that someone wrote a case play without reviewing the rules or consulting someone else who had.

Camron Rust Thu Sep 25, 2014 12:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 940626)
Or, as most of us have assumed, it might just be that someone wrote a case play without reviewing the rules or consulting someone else who had.

It happens all too often for that to not be the case!

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Sep 25, 2014 03:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 940572)
Nice citation Mark T, DeNucci.

In theory I agree with you, but I've always viewed specific casebook plays as "trumping" anything generic in the rulebook. It appears that the fact that the coach was not notified and that the "five foul player" made some free throws is now considered to be a correctable error.


But not with the CB Play cannot be defended by rule.

MTD, Sr.

BillyMac Thu Sep 25, 2014 06:21am

Inquiring Minds Want To Know ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 940640)
But not with the CB Play cannot be defended by rule.

I'm on my way to work, so I don't have time to think of one, and I can't think of one off the top of my head, but aren't there a few casebook plays that are "free standing" and have no rule backing, or may actually "go against the grain" of a written rule?

BillyMac Thu Sep 25, 2014 06:23am

Break Out The Blue Font ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 940626)
...it might just be that someone wrote a case play without reviewing the rules or consulting someone else who had.

That's crazy talk. This is the NFHS. Something like that would never happen.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1