The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 22, 2003, 04:39pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Whatever the rule book says, that's what I meant.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 22, 2003, 04:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach


SOME refs are of the philosophy that they point to the center of a sacrosanct 36 inch area. If the player doesn't find that center point, then the player may be located at one edge or another with respect to the "designated spot."
These refs are wrong.

NCAA 4-15-1

A desginated spot is a location at which the thrower-in is presented disposal of the ball out of bounds....

It doesn't say "a location that the referee who has too much time on his hands points to".
Actuall, these refs are probably using NF rules (granted, inital question was NCAA):

NF Rule 4
SECTION 41 THROW-IN, THROWER, DESIGNATED SPOT
ART. 6 . . . The designated throw-in spot is 3 feet wide with no depth limitation and is established by the official prior to putting the ball at the thrower' s disposal.

This rule indicates that the ref establishes a fixed spot, and where the inbounder is when he receives the ball may or may not be on this spot. I like NCAA better, and most refs call this way in NF as well. But the rule is not exactly the same.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 22, 2003, 08:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach


SOME refs are of the philosophy that they point to the center of a sacrosanct 36 inch area. If the player doesn't find that center point, then the player may be located at one edge or another with respect to the "designated spot."
These refs are wrong.

NCAA 4-15-1

A desginated spot is a location at which the thrower-in is presented disposal of the ball out of bounds....

It doesn't say "a location that the referee who has too much time on his hands points to".
Actuall, these refs are probably using NF rules (granted, inital question was NCAA):

NF Rule 4
SECTION 41 THROW-IN, THROWER, DESIGNATED SPOT
ART. 6 . . . The designated throw-in spot is 3 feet wide with no depth limitation and is established by the official prior to putting the ball at the thrower' s disposal.

This rule indicates that the ref establishes a fixed spot, and where the inbounder is when he receives the ball may or may not be on this spot. I like NCAA better, and most refs call this way in NF as well. But the rule is not exactly the same.
So you're serious about this. OK. Imagine you & I are working a game together. You're at trail and call a travel, and since you have excellent presence, rules knowledge and mechanics you give the travel signal, point to a spot on the sideline in front of the bench, point downcourt to designate the direction of the ball & hightail it to new lead. I, as new trail, decide there's no reason for me to cross the court and put the ball in play in front of the coach who I T'ed 2 minutes ago. I decide to put the ball in play on the sideline opposite the table. You with me so far? Good. You're saying as soon as I hand A1 the ball on the throw-in he's violated?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 23, 2003, 02:24pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Seems to me that even under this interpretation, the spot would be established by the official administering the throw in, not by the official who called the violation.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 23, 2003, 08:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref

So you're serious about this. OK. Imagine you & I are working a game together. You're at trail and call a travel, and since you have excellent presence, rules knowledge and mechanics you give the travel signal, point to a spot on the sideline in front of the bench, point downcourt to designate the direction of the ball & hightail it to new lead. I, as new trail, decide there's no reason for me to cross the court and put the ball in play in front of the coach who I T'ed 2 minutes ago. I decide to put the ball in play on the sideline opposite the table. You with me so far? Good. You're saying as soon as I hand A1 the ball on the throw-in he's violated? [/B]
If you read my posts, you know that I would never call it this way. I am merely pointing out (for the umpteenth time) that there are people who find a rules-based reason for viewing things this way. They are not ignoring the rules, they are reading the rules a bit too literally. They are wrong by NCAA, but can argue they are right by NF.

And by the way Dan, the administering official is the one who establishes the spot prior to giving the ball up for the throw in, and so nobody, even the refs that call in this manner, should have a violation in the case you outline
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1