The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Designated spot (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/9781-designated-spot.html)

Adam Fri Aug 22, 2003 04:39pm

Whatever the rule book says, that's what I meant. :)

Hawks Coach Fri Aug 22, 2003 04:45pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach


SOME refs are of the philosophy that they point to the center of a sacrosanct 36 inch area. If the player doesn't find that center point, then the player may be located at one edge or another with respect to the "designated spot."

These refs are wrong.

NCAA 4-15-1

A desginated spot is a location at which the thrower-in is presented disposal of the ball out of bounds....

It doesn't say "a location that the referee who has too much time on his hands points to". ;)

Actuall, these refs are probably using NF rules (granted, inital question was NCAA):

NF Rule 4
SECTION 41 THROW-IN, THROWER, DESIGNATED SPOT
ART. 6 . . . The designated throw-in spot is 3 feet wide with no depth limitation and is established by the official prior to putting the ball at the thrower' s disposal.

This rule indicates that the ref establishes a fixed spot, and where the inbounder is when he receives the ball may or may not be on this spot. I like NCAA better, and most refs call this way in NF as well. But the rule is not exactly the same.

Dan_ref Fri Aug 22, 2003 08:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach


SOME refs are of the philosophy that they point to the center of a sacrosanct 36 inch area. If the player doesn't find that center point, then the player may be located at one edge or another with respect to the "designated spot."

These refs are wrong.

NCAA 4-15-1

A desginated spot is a location at which the thrower-in is presented disposal of the ball out of bounds....

It doesn't say "a location that the referee who has too much time on his hands points to". ;)

Actuall, these refs are probably using NF rules (granted, inital question was NCAA):

NF Rule 4
SECTION 41 THROW-IN, THROWER, DESIGNATED SPOT
ART. 6 . . . The designated throw-in spot is 3 feet wide with no depth limitation and is established by the official prior to putting the ball at the thrower' s disposal.

This rule indicates that the ref establishes a fixed spot, and where the inbounder is when he receives the ball may or may not be on this spot. I like NCAA better, and most refs call this way in NF as well. But the rule is not exactly the same.

So you're serious about this. OK. Imagine you & I are working a game together. You're at trail and call a travel, and since you have excellent presence, rules knowledge and mechanics you give the travel signal, point to a spot on the sideline in front of the bench, point downcourt to designate the direction of the ball & hightail it to new lead. I, as new trail, decide there's no reason for me to cross the court and put the ball in play in front of the coach who I T'ed 2 minutes ago. I decide to put the ball in play on the sideline opposite the table. You with me so far? Good. You're saying as soon as I hand A1 the ball on the throw-in he's violated?

Adam Sat Aug 23, 2003 02:24pm

Seems to me that even under this interpretation, the spot would be established by the official administering the throw in, not by the official who called the violation.

Hawks Coach Sat Aug 23, 2003 08:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref

So you're serious about this. OK. Imagine you & I are working a game together. You're at trail and call a travel, and since you have excellent presence, rules knowledge and mechanics you give the travel signal, point to a spot on the sideline in front of the bench, point downcourt to designate the direction of the ball & hightail it to new lead. I, as new trail, decide there's no reason for me to cross the court and put the ball in play in front of the coach who I T'ed 2 minutes ago. I decide to put the ball in play on the sideline opposite the table. You with me so far? Good. You're saying as soon as I hand A1 the ball on the throw-in he's violated? [/B]
If you read my posts, you know that I would never call it this way. I am merely pointing out (for the umpteenth time) that there are people who find a rules-based reason for viewing things this way. They are not ignoring the rules, they are reading the rules a bit too literally. They are wrong by NCAA, but can argue they are right by NF.

And by the way Dan, the administering official is the one who establishes the spot prior to giving the ball up for the throw in, and so nobody, even the refs that call in this manner, should have a violation in the case you outline :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1