![]() |
Whack, after held ball or b/t quarters
Happened in a tournament over the weekend.....
Quarter 1 ends, A coach comes onto floor going ballistic. Easy T. The rule book says that quarter 2 begins with the 2 free throws for team B. Then my English ain't real good. Does B retain the possession arrow if it was theirs to start the second quarter? I assume this would be the same if there was a held ball, possession arrow going to team B. A1 earns a technical foul. B would get two shots and the ball and retain the arrow. I can't find it, but makes a whole lot of sense to me. pfan |
The penalty for FTs includes the throw in (NFHS rules). You only use the arrow when there's no other way to determine who gets possession. In either of your situations, regardless of who has the arrow, it will not change.
|
AS long as the quarter was truly over, Adam is correct. Sometimes, though, the T happens after time expires, but before the quarter is over. In that instance, B gets the FTs, of course, but the next quarter starts with the arrow.
|
AFTER...but before?
Quote:
|
Quote:
Coach for defense issued a T for arguing the call. The quarter is not over because there are still free throws to administer for the foul on the last second shot. So shoot the free throws for the initial foul. Then shoot the Technical foul shots. The quarter is then over and the next quarter resumes with the AP |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16pm. |