Freddy |
Wed Apr 09, 2014 03:00pm |
"Might as Well (not Yet) Jump" -- Van Halen
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a
(Post 931070)
In the NCAA and NBA is a jumper allowed to touch the ball before it reaches the highest point. I see it happen quite often but never seen it called. This leads me to believe that is possibly isn't a rule.
|
Only had it once that I can recall. After opening tip the ball is tied up again between 5'5" guard and 6'9" forward. We sent them to the midcourt circle to jump it up and the guard, sensing the only chance he had was to get it on the way up, did so agregiously. Had to be called.
Since coming up with a different way of administering the jump ball -- sorta a "layup" between them, approaching them after a whistle and a bounce of the ball and a step before going up with it -- it seems that they don't anticipate the jump as much and haven't had a problem with it for years.
Might not work for all, but it works for me.
Others I see giving a sort of feint upward before administering the jump ball keeps 'em honest, it appears.
Those failing to make this call when called for seem also to be indifferent regarding RSBQ fouls out top ("That's only a game interrupter--I like to let 'em play."), looking off-ball ("What does 'PCA' stand for again?"), and three seconds ("Oh, I just don't call that in my game").
|