The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NC: Kentucky vs UConn (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97700-nc-kentucky-vs-uconn.html)

Nevadaref Mon Apr 07, 2014 08:07pm

NC: Kentucky vs UConn
 
Opening a thread for the national championship game.

canuckrefguy Mon Apr 07, 2014 08:24pm

DeRosa throwing the opening tip.

Nevadaref Mon Apr 07, 2014 08:36pm

Looked like an incorrect whistle for a backcourt violation about five minutes into the game.

billyu2 Mon Apr 07, 2014 08:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 930840)
Looked like an incorrect whistle for a backcourt violation about five minutes into the game.

I thought that too. DeRosa was right there but it didn't appear that the ball touched the backcourt during the dribble.

Nevadaref Mon Apr 07, 2014 08:56pm

Officials ignore a running OOB violation (per the NCAA rule) by UConn and they hit a 3 on the possession with just under 5 mins left in the first half.

JRutledge Mon Apr 07, 2014 08:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by canuckrefguy (Post 930839)
DeRosa throwing the opening tip.

That wasn't DeRosa.

Peace

Nevadaref Mon Apr 07, 2014 09:07pm

Was the final foul of the first half in the act of shooting?
Seemed that the player had the ball in his right hand when fouled and then switched it over to his left for his shot.
2.9 secs on the clock

Nevadaref Mon Apr 07, 2014 09:10pm

UConn player on the wing with about 12:50 on the clock in the first half.
Did he travel before going around his defender for a dunk?

grunewar Mon Apr 07, 2014 09:17pm

About midway through the first half UCONN guard drives the lane and leaves his feet and passes to his team mate on his right. His player misses the ball, looks like the ball goes untouched, and the same guard retrieves his own pass. Happening right in front of the KY bench, Coach Calipari, needless to say, has a little hissy fit.

grunewar Mon Apr 07, 2014 09:19pm

Just shows to go you.....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 930844)
I thought that too. DeRosa was right there but it didn't appear that the ball touched the backcourt during the dribble.

I initially thought it to be a pretty good call at first. But, the second angle looked like it wasn't BC.

canuckrefguy Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 930847)
That wasn't DeRosa.

Really? Sure looked like it was him. Well you Yanks would know better than I would :)

JRutledge Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by canuckrefguy (Post 930863)
Really? Sure looked like it was him. Well you Yanks would know better than I would :)

The taller white guy is not DeRosa. I will look at the replay to be sure, but I am pretty positive that was not DeRosa.

BTW, Doug Shows was an official I saw at a UConn at DePaul game last season. Shows T's up Ollie for being out of the coaching box. UConn won in kind of a blowout, but I never forgot him after that afternoon game I attended.

Peace

JRutledge Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:10pm

These guys for the most part are having a great game. I agree with about every call they show in slow motion. Very solid so far.

Peace

michblue Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:21pm

I have to agree with JRut. This crew had solid night overall.

eyezen Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 930866)
These guys for the most part are having a great game. I agree with about every call they show in slow motion. Very solid so far.

Peace

At least one team on the court did....terrible basketball.

JRutledge Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:26pm

I did not love the charge that Verne Harris made, but we have all been there.

Peace

Camron Rust Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 930850)
Was the final foul of the first half in the act of shooting?
Seemed that the player had the ball in his right hand when fouled and then switched it over to his left for his shot.
2.9 secs on the clock

While I haven't look at the video to see the play, why would it matter that he switched hands?

Camron Rust Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 930866)
These guys for the most part are having a great game. I agree with about every call they show in slow motion. Very solid so far.

Peace

Quote:

Originally Posted by michblue (Post 930869)
I have to agree with JRut. This crew had solid night overall.

I agree. The misses were generally minor and hard to really complain about....the backcourt call was wrong but insignificant as was the lack of a call on the running OOB violation mentioned above. One foul called incorrectly was the PC called on the spin move by #22 for UK....there was very little contact at all and defender flopped.

There was really only one drive where I thought there appeared to be a substantial amount of contact where I'd like to have seen a different angle on.

Napier shot the lights out....UK missed their FTs and really missed Cauley-Stein and his ability to back up his guards and let them play more aggressive defense on the perimeter.

AremRed Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 930851)
UConn player on the wing with about 12:50 on the clock in the first half.
Did he travel before going around his defender for a dunk?

I thought so.

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 930856)
About midway through the first half UCONN guard drives the lane and leaves his feet and passes to his team mate on his right. His player misses the ball, looks like the ball goes untouched, and the same guard retrieves his own pass. Happening right in front of the KY bench, Coach Calipari, needless to say, has a little hissy fit.

I thought it was touched by the defender.

Quote:

Originally Posted by canuckrefguy (Post 930839)
DeRosa throwing the opening tip.

No, that was Doug Shows.

canuckrefguy Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:36pm

By all accounts, "maybe" two misses on the night.

A terrific job by Harris, Shows, and DeRosa - made more so perhaps by all the stuff that went on in the semis that drew controversy.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 930877)
No, that was Doug Shows.

Dammit, Rut - just ONCE I'd like to catch you being wrong ;)

Eleven years and counting.... :D

JRutledge Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by canuckrefguy (Post 930878)
By all accounts, "maybe" two misses on the night.

A terrific job by Harris, Shows, and DeRosa - made more so perhaps by all the stuff that went on in the semis that drew controversy.



Dammit, Rut - just ONCE I'd like to catch you being wrong ;)

Eleven years and counting.... :D

Watch one of my games, and you will see things wrong more than I would like to admit. ;)

Peace

7IronRef Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 930870)
At least one team on the court did....terrible basketball.

much better game than it looked. points in the paint were at a premium on both ends, no uncontested shots, a ton of blocked shots.

Nevadaref Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by canuckrefguy (Post 930878)
By all accounts, "maybe" two misses on the night.

Two whistles were definitely incorrect (bc call after first five minutes and PC by Verne). There are a few others which we can debate.

I will agree that the crew was excellent overall in a game that wasn't easy to call. Lots of blocked shots and rebounding battles. I give them an Attaboy.

JRutledge Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 930882)
Two whistles were definitely incorrect (bc call after first five minutes and PC by Verne). There are a few others which we can debate.

That is pretty darn good if you ask me.

The kick call was a great call.

Peace

Sharpshooternes Mon Apr 07, 2014 11:02pm

I thought the officials did an excellent job. And even if the missed two calls, that is a high percentage of correct calls. The difference I that game was uconn FTs 10 for 10 or so and Kentucky 15 for 30 or something.

eyezen Mon Apr 07, 2014 11:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 7IronRef (Post 930881)
much better game than it looked. points in the paint were at a premium on both ends, no uncontested shots, a ton of blocked shots.

I also saw one team clang a bunch of missed free throws (uk 54%) neither team shot 50% from the field (uconn 41%) several souvenirs thrown into the stands (23 turnovers) and the winning team averaged 1.5 pts a minute

caliref Tue Apr 08, 2014 12:49am

When Vern Harris is the referee, he always has the U2 throw the ball up.

Nevadaref Tue Apr 08, 2014 01:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 930874)
While I haven't look at the video to see the play, why would it matter that he switched hands?

Pretty tough to define it as continuous motion when the other hand is used to shoot the ball.

Camron Rust Tue Apr 08, 2014 01:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 930896)
Pretty tough to define it as continuous motion when the other hand is used to shoot the ball.

Not sure I've ever heard that interpretation before. If it is all in one effort/motion, I view it as continuous.

just another ref Tue Apr 08, 2014 01:40am

Only time I've seen this argument is when the contact knocks the ball completely free, then the airborne player grabs it out of the air and puts it in.

Nevadaref Tue Apr 08, 2014 03:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 930898)
Not sure I've ever heard that interpretation before. If it is all in one effort/motion, I view it as continuous.

The argument is simple. If the ball wasn't in his left hand when he was fouled and that is the hand the player eventually shoots it with, then he couldn't have been in the act of shooting FOR THAT TRY at the time of the foul.
To put it in question form: how could he have already begun the try when the ball wasn't even in the hand that he used to shoot?

If an official is going to consider that continuous motion, then the player should be permitted to execute a crossover dribble between the foul and the try. What difference does it make if the ball bounces on the floor or not in the switch between one hand and the other?

Camron Rust Tue Apr 08, 2014 03:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 930902)
The argument is simple. If the ball wasn't in his left hand when he was fouled and that is the hand the player eventually shoots it with, then he couldn't have been in the act of shooting FOR THAT TRY at the time of the foul.
To put it in question form: how could he have already begun the try when the ball wasn't even in the hand that he used to shoot?

If an official is going to consider that continuous motion, then the player should be permitted to execute a crossover dribble between the foul and the try. What difference does it make if the ball bounces on the floor or not in the switch between one hand and the other?

I've never seen anything that even remotely suggests what you're suggesting....that a try that starts in one hand can't be shifted to the other. The attempt to score begins when that start to go up with the ball and continues until they release the "try", lose the ball, or come down with it. Whatever specific movement they do with the ball after they start going up to score is of no consequence.

Raymond Tue Apr 08, 2014 07:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 930865)
The taller white guy is not DeRosa. I will look at the replay to be sure, but I am pretty positive that was not DeRosa.

BTW, Doug Shows was an official I saw at a UConn at DePaul game last season. Shows T's up Ollie for being out of the coaching box. UConn won in kind of a blowout, but I never forgot him after that afternoon game I attended.

Peace

Shows tossed the ball. He is far more muscular than Derosa, plus Shows always palms the ball in one hand to show off :D . He's a pretty big dude.

Raymond Tue Apr 08, 2014 07:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 930898)
Not sure I've ever heard that interpretation before. If it is all in one effort/motion, I view it as continuous.

Just b/c you view it one way doesn't mean it's correct, or what's interpreted elsewhere is incorrect.

I know I saw Harrison go to through lane in the 2nd half, get bumped, then pass the ball off. And I know I saw the Crew Chief indicate a "pass off" and give Harrison bonus free throws instead of 2 shots.

rockyroad Tue Apr 08, 2014 10:01am

Any chance we can get video of the play Nevadaref is talking about?? I didn't see it, and am having a hard time picturing what is being discussed...did the player jump to shoot right handed, get hit, and then shift ball to left hand and shoot before landing?

dahoopref Tue Apr 08, 2014 10:36am

Video Request
 
2nd half at 18:05

Attempted dunk by UConn player is blocked by UK player but continues to the rim. UConn player appears to still have ball in hand to continue the dunk, ball hits the rim, but dunk is not completed.

The crew goes to the monitor and resets the shot clock.

Please correct me if I'm wrong, but was there a NCAA video bulletin last season about this play and to NOT reset the shot clock? :confused:

johnny d Tue Apr 08, 2014 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 930947)
2nd half at 18:05

Attempted dunk by UConn player is blocked by UK player but continues to the rim. UConn player appears to still have ball in hand to continue the dunk, ball hits the rim, but dunk is not completed.

The crew goes to the monitor and resets the shot clock.

Please correct me if I'm wrong, but was there a NCAA video bulletin last season about this play and to NOT reset the shot clock? :confused:

Correct, if the ball does not leave the shooters hand, it is not considered a shot clock attempt and the shot clock should not be reset.

twocentsworth Tue Apr 08, 2014 11:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 930847)
That wasn't DeRosa.

Peace

Doug Shows tossed (I believe he was actually U2)
Joe DeRosa was U1
Verne Harris started in U2 position (believe he was R and let Shows toss)

twocentsworth Tue Apr 08, 2014 11:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 930952)
Correct, if the ball does not leave the shooters hand, it is not considered a shot clock attempt and the shot clock should not be reset.

The NBA rule on shot clock resets is what the NCAA-M should go to.....ball hits rim (doesn't matter how/why) = reset. Currently in NCAA-M, clock reset ONLY when legal shot hits rim.

dahoopref Tue Apr 08, 2014 12:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 930952)
Correct, if the ball does not leave the shooters hand, it is not considered a shot clock attempt and the shot clock should not be reset.

Thanks for re-affirming my memory.

jeremy341a Tue Apr 08, 2014 12:28pm

intercept pass and land on opponent
 
What are the thoughts in the game last night when the UCONN player picked off a pass and landed on a pretty much stationary Kentucky player who was waiting to receive the pass? It was ruled a block. Did anyone else see that play and know about when it took place. I believe it was in the second half.

Raymond Tue Apr 08, 2014 12:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 930947)
2nd half at 18:05

Attempted dunk by UConn player is blocked by UK player but continues to the rim. UConn player appears to still have ball in hand to continue the dunk, ball hits the rim, but dunk is not completed.

The crew goes to the monitor and resets the shot clock.

Please correct me if I'm wrong, but was there a NCAA video bulletin last season about this play and to NOT reset the shot clock? :confused:

You're are correct about the interp, but in the play in question here, the ball did leave A1's hand and hit the rim.

JRutledge Tue Apr 08, 2014 12:35pm

It was not only a good call, but a great call. As a matter of fact he came forward towards the UConn player (Boatright) and contacted the Kentucky player (Harrison) that was airborne. Replay showed that clearly and was a good foul by Shows. Harrison never gave Boatright a place to land and was not in a legal position when Boatright went airborne. Replay showed how good a call this was. It was hard to tell live and the angle of the camera.

Peace

Multiple Sports Tue Apr 08, 2014 12:46pm

Post a Video
 
C'mon Jeremy, show us what you got. You went from a ms video, to rehashing something from last year, to an NBA video in the past few weeks.....

Show us your skills !!!!!

jeremy341a Tue Apr 08, 2014 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Multiple Sports (Post 930978)
C'mon Jeremy, show us what you got. You went from a ms video, to rehashing something from last year, to an NBA video in the past few weeks.....

Show us your skills !!!!!

I can't post videos. I have been banned by the public due to my poor past performance.

Camron Rust Tue Apr 08, 2014 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 930917)
Just b/c you view it one way doesn't mean it's correct, or what's interpreted elsewhere is incorrect.

I know I saw Harrison go to through lane in the 2nd half, get bumped, then pass the ball off. And I know I saw the Crew Chief indicate a "pass off" and give Harrison bonus free throws instead of 2 shots.

True, but have you ever heard anyone say that shifting the ball from one hand to the other ends the try?

And I agreed with the pass off call. I don't think he was in the shooting motion on that play...not because he ultimately passed but because he was never in a shooting motion.

Camron Rust Tue Apr 08, 2014 01:30pm

I thought it was the correct call. Defender caught the ball and became offense, Harrison moved towards him while he was airborne. If the defender hadn't caught the ball and it made it to Harrison, the foul would have been the other way since the onus on obtaining a legal position is on the "defense".

dahoopref Tue Apr 08, 2014 02:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 930973)
You're are correct about the interp, but in the play in question here, the ball did leave A1's hand and hit the rim.

That's why I'd like to see the video of this play; I wasn't sure if it did.

JetMetFan Tue Apr 08, 2014 04:27pm

Guys -

I'll get to these tomorrow. It took a bit to find some of them (ahem... :rolleyes: ) and now it's time for me to hit the hay. I think APG got dinged by the NCAA video police so he's off the grid for a bit.

All_Heart Tue Apr 08, 2014 04:40pm

You can watch the game here: Championship Game. The play occurs with 2.9 seconds left in the 1st half.

The switching of hands appeared to occur primarily b/c of the backboard being in the way of shooting with his right hand.

How would you rule on these plays?:
  • The Micheal Jordan shot Video where he starts with one hand and switches to the other. Lets say he got fouled after starting his motion but before he switches hands are we not scoring it?
  • B1 fouls A1 as he is jumping to shoot a layup. B2 is defending the basket and forces A1 to switch hands and shoot a reverse layup.
This isn't applicable to whether or not we would rule a shooting foul but for fun ;) if you were the person in charge of inputting the stats at the scorers table would you record 1 made field goal on 2 attempts in Jordan's play?

In my opinion the rules support this as being a shooting foul but I think that its good Nevada brings the question up. Anytime we can think critically/differently it helps us in truly understanding the rules. :)

JRutledge Tue Apr 08, 2014 05:24pm

Are we talking about the Randall play?

I do not see anything unusual or that would make me not call a shooting foul.

Peace

just another ref Tue Apr 08, 2014 05:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 931013)
Guys -

I'll get to these tomorrow. It took a bit to find some of them (ahem... :rolleyes: ) and now it's time for me to hit the hay. I think APG got dinged by the NCAA video police so he's off the grid for a bit.

Don't tell us anything we don't need to know.

Multiple Sports Tue Apr 08, 2014 07:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremy341a (Post 930972)
What are the thoughts in the game last night when the UCONN player picked off a pass and landed on a pretty much stationary Kentucky player who was waiting to receive the pass? It was ruled a block. Did anyone else see that play and know about when it took place. I believe it was in the second half.

Jeremy -

Not only have you been barred for posting poor videos, but now you start a thread and it was integrated into an already existing thread......

Damn.....:D:D:D

ballgame99 Wed Apr 09, 2014 08:19am

Just watched the and-one play of Randall's with 2 seconds to go in the first; he goes up with two hands, is fouled, and finishes with the left. Not sure what the discussion is even about. Is someone really suggesting you wave that one off?

Great game all around by the officials I thought, there were some great blocks that I was happy to see nothing called on because there was nothing there. Randall had a couple beautys. The only play that stuck out to me was that PC on the spin move. I'm sure that official is not happy with that call in hindsight, but the defense really sold it on him.

Raymond Wed Apr 09, 2014 09:47am

I have no idea why we are discussing the foul at 2.9 of the 1st half. It's a basic 'And-1' play. :confused:

jeremy341a Wed Apr 09, 2014 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Multiple Sports (Post 931029)
Jeremy -

Not only have you been barred for posting poor videos, but now you start a thread and it was integrated into an already existing thread......

Damn.....:D:D:D


I know it didn't put it in this thread bc I knew all the topics would get intermingled. You can't tell what reply goes with what specific play.

Nevadaref Wed Apr 09, 2014 04:47pm

Please post the video of the Kentucky dunk while being fouled by Brimah of UConn during the 2nd half. The score was 48-39 at the time. The whistle occurred at 10:40 of the second half.

AremRed Thu Apr 10, 2014 09:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 931151)
Please post the video of the Kentucky dunk while being fouled by Brimah of UConn during the 2nd half. The score was 48-39 at the time. The whistle occurred at 10:40 of the second half.

Why? So we can debate BI?? Ok, "John Adams".


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1