The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Foul by the Thrower (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97663-foul-thrower-video.html)

referee99 Mon Mar 31, 2014 10:40pm

Foul by the Thrower (Video)
 
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/TKycLRf1p0s?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Foul on White 23, and then Unsporting T on Blue 5.

What, in your opinion, it the correct foul to assess on White 23 for contact?
Player Control, Intentional, or Technical?

Coach Bill Mon Mar 31, 2014 10:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee99 (Post 930080)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/TKycLRf1p0s?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Foul on White 23, and then Unsporting T on Blue 5.

What, in your opinion, it the correct foul to assess on White 23 for contact?
Player Control, Intentional, or Technical?

None of the above. Incidental contact. I didn't see anything dirty.

AremRed Mon Mar 31, 2014 10:50pm

Tech on W23 for the contact.

Unsporting tech on B5 for the stare-down.

just another ref Mon Mar 31, 2014 10:59pm

I'm good with the calls. Ball is live when W23 gains control, so I suppose it would be a PC foul, and if you want to call it intentional I can live with that, too. I assume B5 said something unacceptable.

Adam Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:02pm

Looks intentional to me. I don't mind a T here.

I would have a talk with #5, but that's about it from what I see.

Adam Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 930084)
I'm good with the calls. Ball is live when W23 gains control, so I suppose it would be a PC foul, and if you want to call it intentional I can live with that, too. I assume B5 said something unacceptable.

The ball isn't live until it's the point where you would start your count. He's barely getting OOB when he makes contact, the ball is still dead, IMO.

just another ref Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 930086)
The ball isn't live until it's the point where you would start your count. He's barely getting OOB when he makes contact, the ball is still dead, IMO.

You're right. I knew the definition of at disposal after a goal said "available to a player." I didn't realize it also said "and the official begins the throw-in count."

In light of this new information you honor, I'd go with a T for an intentional foul here.

Adam Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 930089)
You're right. I knew the definition of at disposal after a goal said "available to a player." I didn't realize it also said "and the official begins the throw-in count."

In light of this new information you honor, I'd go with a T for an intentional foul here.

So, when do you start your throw in count?

Nevadaref Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:19pm

Some extra info for those on this forum:
1. The was the D2 boys State Championship game in CA.
2. The player in white is the son of the head coach.

The proper ruling here is to ignore what would have been a common foul by white had it occurred during a live ball. Simply move on with the game and continue with the throw-in.

just another ref Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 930092)
So, when do you start your throw in count?

It depends. In this case, had the foul not happened, it would have started when W23 stepped out of bounds with the ball. Sometimes, the ball is available, but the offense deliberately is slow to pick it up while their press break set up or whatever. In this case the count may start with the ball on the floor.

just another ref Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 930093)
The proper ruling here is to ignore what would have been a common foul by white had it occurred during a live ball.

Common foul? I see deliberate contact with "an opponent who is clearly not involved in the play."

What do you see?

Camron Rust Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 930085)
Looks intentional to me. I don't mind a T here.

I would have a talk with #5, but that's about it from what I see.

Agree....INT, which becomes a T due to the dead ball. The kid knew exactly what he was doing. He was looking for a call but the one he got was quite a bit different than the one he hoped for.

Adam Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 930094)
It depends. In this case, had the foul not happened, it would have started when W23 stepped out of bounds with the ball. Sometimes, the ball is available, but the offense deliberately is slow to pick it up while their press break set up or whatever. In this case the count may start with the ball on the floor.

Unless there's a delay, I don't think you can consider this a live ball until the thrower is out of bounds.

just another ref Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 930098)
Unless there's a delay, I don't think you can consider this a live ball until the thrower is out of bounds.

I'm with you here. I think this foul happened a split second before the count should have started. Never had reason to separate it like this before.

Nevadaref Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 930097)
Agree....INT, which becomes a T due to the dead ball. The kid knew exactly what he was doing. He was looking for a call but the one he got was quite a bit different than the one he hoped for.

I concur with your assessment that the thrower is seeking the contact and hoping to draw a significant penalty against his opponent. However, the action is nothing more than an illegal screen, thus in my opinion it would only warrant a common foul and therefore is ignored by rule during this dead ball period.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1