The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   UNC vs. SCAR (Women's) Throw-In Violation Missed? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97653-unc-vs-scar-womens-throw-violation-missed.html)

bballref3966 Sun Mar 30, 2014 07:20pm

UNC vs. SCAR (Women's) Throw-In Violation Missed?
 
Somewhere between 16- and 17-minute marks in second half. South Carolina has a sideline throw-in in front of its bench, the thrown ball hits Dawn Staley's rolled-up paper and knocks it out of her hand. No call.

JetMetFan Tue Apr 01, 2014 10:36am

video added
 
Here's the play...

<iframe width="853" height="480" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/I3dZChiGMgQ?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Raymond Tue Apr 01, 2014 12:07pm

Keep the game moving.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Apr 01, 2014 12:33pm

Should have been a throw-in violation by White.

MTD, Sr.

rockyroad Tue Apr 01, 2014 01:46pm

Having a hard time thinking today...why would this be a throw-in violation? The thrower released a pass (in time) directly onto the court. Stupid coach raises arm with rolled up paper in it and rolled up paper is over the line and over the in-bounds area.. .if calling anything, shouldn't it be a T on the coach for interfering with a live ball?

Camron Rust Tue Apr 01, 2014 01:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 930187)
Having a hard time thinking today...why would this be a throw-in violation? The thrower released a pass (in time) directly onto the court. Stupid coach raises arm with rolled up paper in it and rolled up paper is over the line and over the in-bounds area.. .if calling anything, shouldn't it be a T on the coach for interfering with a live ball?

It hit a person or object that was OOB.

NCAA 7-1-2
The ball shall be out of bounds when it touches a player who is out of bounds; any other person, the floor or any object on or outside a boundary;...


I would think that the coach would be considered to be OOB since she was standing OOB. If not, then you'd have a coach interfering with play while out of the coaches box and a T would be in order (it might be anyway, as you suggest, even if the coach was in the box, if it was anything more than accidental).

So, it would be a throwin violation because the ball went OOB before being touched by another player inbounds.

rockyroad Tue Apr 01, 2014 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 930189)
It hit a person or object that was OOB.

NCAA 7-1-2
The ball shall be out of bounds when it touches a player who is out of bounds; any other person, the floor or any object on or outside a boundary;...


I would think that the coach would be considered to be OOB since she was standing OOB. If not, then you'd have a coach interfering with play while out of the coaches box and a T would be in order (it might be anyway, as you suggest, even if the coach was in the box, if it was anything more than accidental).

So, it would be a throwin violation because the ball went OOB before being touched by another player inbounds.

Yabut...:)

It didn't hit the coach who was standing oob. It hit the rolled up paper, which was over the playing surface, so it was inbounds. Seems to me that is the coach interfering..

Weird play. Something needed to be called. The violation would be the common sense call, but I just don't see it supported by the rule. Again - probably just me being thick.

Camron Rust Tue Apr 01, 2014 04:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 930205)
Yabut...:)

It didn't hit the coach who was standing oob. It hit the rolled up paper, which was over the playing surface, so it was inbounds. Seems to me that is the coach interfering..

Weird play. Something needed to be called. The violation would be the common sense call, but I just don't see it supported by the rule. Again - probably just me being thick.

Sort of like a backboard/basket/net hanging over the sideline in many small gyms? Or the ceiling or stuff hanging from the ceiling?

I don't think that being over the inbounds area makes something inbounds.

BillyMac Tue Apr 01, 2014 05:00pm

Overhead Scoreboard ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 930210)
I don't think that being over the inbounds area makes something inbounds.

Agree.

rockyroad Tue Apr 01, 2014 06:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 930210)
Sort of like a backboard/basket/net hanging over the sideline in many small gyms? Or the ceiling or stuff hanging from the ceiling?

I don't think that being over the inbounds area makes something inbounds.

Ok...that makes sense.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1