The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Who gets the T? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/9765-who-gets-t.html)

Back In The Saddle Tue Aug 19, 2003 10:05am

Excess time-outs must be granted at the expense of a technical foul. Is any person charged with the T? Does it count towards anyone's disqualification?

Ref in PA Tue Aug 19, 2003 10:17am

This is a team technical ...
 
as described in NF 10-1-7. The team is assessed a team foul that counts toward the bonus, but neither player or head coach is charged with anything. On page 72 of the NF rulebook is a summary of technical fouls and the penalty. This falls under the area of "administrative."

[Edited by Ref in PA on Aug 19th, 2003 at 01:07 PM]

DownTownTonyBrown Tue Aug 19, 2003 03:52pm

correct-o-mundo
 
Team foul. Shoot two and continue.

Adam Tue Aug 19, 2003 04:58pm

Don't forget to give them the timeout. Wait, do you give them the TO before or after the free throws?

Adam

Jurassic Referee Tue Aug 19, 2003 05:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Don't forget to give them the timeout. Wait, do you give them the TO before or after the free throws?


Before.Shoot the FT's when the TO is over.

Jay R Tue Aug 19, 2003 05:55pm

Are NF and NCAA the same here?

In NCAA, it is an indirect technical foul for an excessive time-out. This would mean it would not count as a team foul. I have no idea if NF is similar.

Jay

bigwhistle Tue Aug 19, 2003 06:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jay R
Are NF and NCAA the same here?

In NCAA, it is an indirect technical foul for an excessive time-out. This would mean it would not count as a team foul. I have no idea if NF is similar.

Jay

ALL techinal fouls in NF go toward the bonus, therefore do count as a team foul.

Jay R Tue Aug 19, 2003 07:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bigwhistle
Quote:

Originally posted by Jay R
Are NF and NCAA the same here?

In NCAA, it is an indirect technical foul for an excessive time-out. This would mean it would not count as a team foul. I have no idea if NF is similar.

Jay

ALL techinal fouls in NF go toward the bonus, therefore do count as a team foul.

Thanks Bigwhistle

Mark Dexter Tue Aug 26, 2003 11:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bigwhistle

ALL techinal fouls in NF go toward the bonus, therefore do count as a team foul.


Nope - indirect technical fouls charged to the head coach do not count toward the team bonus.

bigwhistle Wed Aug 27, 2003 10:00am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:

Originally posted by bigwhistle

ALL techinal fouls in NF go toward the bonus, therefore do count as a team foul.


Nope - indirect technical fouls charged to the head coach do not count toward the team bonus.

Really???

What about 4-8-2, where it states:
PC fouls and technical fouls are counted as team fouls to reach the bonus. When a technical foul is also charged indirectly to the head coach, it counts only as one team foul.

For any indirect technical foul to be charged to the head coach, the same action resulted in a direct technical foul to some other individual on the team or coaching staff (4-19-5-e).

Jurassic Referee Wed Aug 27, 2003 10:32am

Quote:

Originally posted by bigwhistle
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:

Originally posted by bigwhistle

ALL techinal fouls in NF go toward the bonus, therefore do count as a team foul.


Nope - indirect technical fouls charged to the head coach do not count toward the team bonus.

Really???

What about 4-8-2, where it states:
PC fouls and technical fouls are counted as team fouls to reach the bonus. When a technical foul is also charged indirectly to the head coach, it counts only as one team foul.

For any indirect technical foul to be charged to the head coach, the same action resulted in a direct technical foul to some other individual on the team or coaching staff (4-19-5-e).

The direct technical foul that is charged to another team member or assistant coach,as mentioned in R4-19-5e,is charged as a team foul.The indirect technical charged to the head coach as a result of the direct technical foul is NOT counted as a team foul,as per R4-8-2. R4-8-2 says that you only charge one of the two technical fouls towards the team fouls totals.

Mark Dexter Wed Aug 27, 2003 11:59am

Quote:

Originally posted by bigwhistle
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:

Originally posted by bigwhistle

ALL techinal fouls in NF go toward the bonus, therefore do count as a team foul.


Nope - indirect technical fouls charged to the head coach do not count toward the team bonus.

Really???

What about 4-8-2, where it states:
PC fouls and technical fouls are counted as team fouls to reach the bonus. When a technical foul is also charged indirectly to the head coach, it counts only as one team foul.

For any indirect technical foul to be charged to the head coach, the same action resulted in a direct technical foul to some other individual on the team or coaching staff (4-19-5-e).


I guess it's just semantics, but I consider the foul that counts toward the bonus is the direct technical foul - you can't have an indirect technical without a direct technical.

Camron Rust Wed Aug 27, 2003 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by bigwhistle
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:

Originally posted by bigwhistle

ALL techinal fouls in NF go toward the bonus, therefore do count as a team foul.


Nope - indirect technical fouls charged to the head coach do not count toward the team bonus.

Really???

What about 4-8-2, where it states:
PC fouls and technical fouls are counted as team fouls to reach the bonus. When a technical foul is also charged indirectly to the head coach, it counts only as one team foul.

For any indirect technical foul to be charged to the head coach, the same action resulted in a direct technical foul to some other individual on the team or coaching staff (4-19-5-e).

The direct technical foul that is charged to another team member or assistant coach,as mentioned in R4-19-5e,is charged as a team foul.The indirect technical charged to the head coach as a result of the direct technical foul is NOT counted as a team foul,as per R4-8-2. R4-8-2 says that you only charge one of the two technical fouls towards the team fouls totals.

I think this is really just a matter of how you view it. Is it two fouls, charged to two people, one of which does not count toward the bonus? Or, is it one foul, charged to two people, one directly, the other indirectly?

I view it as the latter. It was one action/infraction therefore one foul....just that two people are held accountable.

Jurassic Referee Wed Aug 27, 2003 01:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust


[/B]
I think this is really just a matter of how you view it. Is it two fouls, charged to two people, one of which does not count toward the bonus? Or, is it one foul, charged to two people, one directly, the other indirectly?

I view it as the latter. It was one action/infraction therefore one foul....just that two people are held accountable. [/B][/QUOTE]Casebook play 4.8.2SIT(b):

"A team A member dunks during the pre-game warm-ups:- Ruling:The foul counts towards disqualification and it counts as one of the seven team fouls to reach the bonus.A technical foul is ALSO charged indirectly to the team A head coach."

Two fouls and one penalty charged!

Leggs45 Sat Aug 30, 2003 06:25pm

Administration of the Throw-in after Team A has possession of the ball and calls the excessive timeout:

NFHS: Team B will administer the throw-in after any player from Team B shoots 2 free-throws (different players can shoot each free-throw).

NCAA (men): Any player from Team B will shoot the 2 free-throws and play will resume at the point of interruption, i.e., Team A will have the throw-in (the same player must shoot both free-throws).

NCAA (women): Any player from Team B will shoot the 2 free-throws but Team A losses possession and Team B will administer the throw-in (the same player must shoot both free-throws).

Confused???


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1