The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   AZ v SD St. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97630-az-v-sd-st.html)

Nevadaref Thu Mar 27, 2014 11:41pm

AZ v SD St.
 
The danger of the new NCAA mechanic of using the shot clock for the backcourt count. The T lost his focus and forgot that there was a TO following a previously inbounded ball and the shot clock was already at 32.

Raymond Thu Mar 27, 2014 11:43pm

This is why I pre-game with my crew on every college game, "when we have a throw-in in the backcourt after time has come off the shot clock, communicate as a crew what the new target time is".


It's one of the ways I fool my supervisors with BS. :rolleyes:

zm1283 Thu Mar 27, 2014 11:50pm

Can someone get the video for the play at 12:35 in the 2nd half? SD State player called for a foul.

Rooster Fri Mar 28, 2014 11:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 929406)
The danger of the new NCAA mechanic of using the shot clock for the backcourt count. The T lost his focus and forgot that there was a TO following a previously inbounded ball and the shot clock was already at 32.

I'd be willing to bet that cost the crew a chance to move to the next round.

JRutledge Fri Mar 28, 2014 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rooster (Post 929491)
I'd be willing to bet that cost the crew a chance to move to the next round.

It might cost the official, not so sure about the crew. They got it right in the end by giving the ball back to the team with the ball who was Arizona. I know there was reference to the replay, but I am not so sure that was the case.

CNYREF Fri Mar 28, 2014 04:49pm

Video?

dahoopref Fri Mar 28, 2014 06:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rooster (Post 929491)
I'd be willing to bet that cost the crew a chance to move to the next round.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 929537)
It might cost the official, not so sure about the crew. They got it right in the end by giving the ball back to the team with the ball who was Arizona. I know there was reference to the replay, but I am not so sure that was the case.

Jamie Luckie was the official who made the initial mistake but he also called Basket Interference against SDSU during a crucial moment that I believed was a IC.

JRutledge Fri Mar 28, 2014 06:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 929556)
Jamie Luckie was the official who made the initial mistake but he also called Basket Interference against SDSU during a crucial moment that I believed was a IC.

Well what happen with the BI and why was it incorrect?

Peace

Nevadaref Fri Mar 28, 2014 06:44pm

It was a GT situation and I believe that he was correct. It was extremely close whether the ball was on its downward flight or not.

JRutledge Fri Mar 28, 2014 06:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 929558)
It was a GT situation and I believe that he was correct. It was extremely close whether the ball was on its downward flight or not.

Did the ball hit the backboard?

Peace

Nevadaref Fri Mar 28, 2014 06:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 929559)
Did the ball hit the backboard?

No, the backboard was not involved. The shot was a baby-hook from about four feet in front of the ring and a defender inbetween rose up and swatted it shortly following the release. I am well-aware of the NCAA rules for GT.

dahoopref Fri Mar 28, 2014 07:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 929558)
It was a GT situation and I believe that he was correct. It was extremely close whether the ball was on its downward flight or not.

We can agree to "disagree". :D

JRutledge Fri Mar 28, 2014 07:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 929561)
No, the backboard was not involved. The shot was a baby-hook from about four feet in front of the ring and a defender inbetween rose up and swatted it shortly following the release. I am well-aware of the NCAA rules for GT.

I was just wondering, there is a lot of debate over this rule amongst officials as to how it should be called. Just wondering if that was part of the ruling.

Peace

Raymond Fri Mar 28, 2014 09:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 929556)
Jamie Luckie was the official who made the initial mistake but he also called Basket Interference against SDSU during a crucial moment that I believed was a IC.

Goaltending, not basket interference, big difference.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1