The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Dayton v Stanford (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97628-dayton-v-stanford-video.html)

Nevadaref Thu Mar 27, 2014 06:54pm

Dayton v Stanford (Video)
 
Close block/charge play at 7:03 of the 1st half. Good one for a video clip.

AremRed Thu Mar 27, 2014 06:57pm

Interesting signal by the official at 7:56. I think he initially thought it was an offensive foul, but then pointed the other way.

I thought 7:03 was a charge.

What did you think of the push-off foul on the ensuing inbound at 7:02 Nevada?

Drizzle Thu Mar 27, 2014 07:02pm

So I'm guessing these are the plays that led to the T on Dawkins? (I was watching the other game).

AremRed Thu Mar 27, 2014 07:02pm

The coach has been whacked!

AremRed Thu Mar 27, 2014 08:05pm

Another close block/charge play at 10:44 second half, also against Stanford. The Stanford coach yelled "same play!" at the official right after, apparently referring to the earlier block/charge play referenced in this thread.

Nevadaref Thu Mar 27, 2014 08:10pm

Should be a flagrant 1 against Dayton with 8:22 left in 2nd half.

Yep, that's the call after video review.
Too bad video is ruining the skill of on the court calling.

Nevadaref Thu Mar 27, 2014 08:20pm

Absolute phantom against Stanford's #33 Powell with just over six minutes to play!

Nevadaref Thu Mar 27, 2014 08:24pm

Does Pat Adams have to blow his whistle five times on every call?

AremRed Thu Mar 27, 2014 08:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 929387)
Absolute phantom against Stanford's #33 Powell with just over six minutes to play!

What that the foul called by Hess from Lead? It looked like the defender got the top of the ball.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 929388)
Does Pat Adams have to blow his whistle five times on every call?

I counted 8 on that offensive foul push-off by Stanford.

Nevadaref Thu Mar 27, 2014 08:41pm

Please post the video of the throw-in by Dayton just prior to the foul call with 47.3 seconds left. The question is did the Dayton player travel prior to the foul?

zm1283 Thu Mar 27, 2014 11:52pm

I noticed several phantom fouls in the games tonight.

twocentsworth Fri Mar 28, 2014 11:37pm

Apparently Karl Hess believes he was getting paid per whistle in this game. Good grief! He wouldn't work many ACC games, if any, with the judgement he displayed.....

Multiple Sports Fri Mar 28, 2014 11:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 929651)
Apparently Karl Hess believes he was getting paid per whistle in this game. Good grief! He wouldn't work many ACC games, if any, with the judgement he displayed.....

Karl has a camp in Pittsburgh the last week of April if you would like to tell him......

APG Sat Mar 29, 2014 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 929378)
Close block/charge play at 7:03 of the 1st half. Good one for a video clip.

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/H6cw8bmGyJw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 929379)

What did you think of the push-off foul on the ensuing inbound at 7:02 Nevada?

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/Ecqbo33BXPY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 929385)
Another close block/charge play at 10:44 second half, also against Stanford. The Stanford coach yelled "same play!" at the official right after, apparently referring to the earlier block/charge play referenced in this thread.

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/rxJxdfG6dTU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 929386)
Should be a flagrant 1 against Dayton with 8:22 left in 2nd half.

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/COQBvELMuSQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 929391)
Please post the video of the throw-in by Dayton just prior to the foul call with 47.3 seconds left. The question is did the Dayton player travel prior to the foul?

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/gk3KTXlTXwo" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Camron Rust Sat Mar 29, 2014 01:15pm

1st block/charge, I think the defender was late relative to updward motion...OK with the call...but it was close.

Push-off...no foul, the defender was acting.

2nd block/charge. Defender got there....good call.

Elbow..hate that rule. Defender only caught an elbow because he got beat. It even looked like he was tyring to tuck the elbow out of the way but his arm just wouldn't bend that way. PC at most is all it "should" be, if anything at all.

Travel, inconclusive to me.

AremRed Sat Mar 29, 2014 01:23pm

Play 1: Charge

Play 2: Nothing

Play 3: Charge

Play 4: Flagrant 1

Play 5: Travel

Nevadaref Sat Mar 29, 2014 06:44pm

Play 1: Charge. Even by the upward motion standard, the defender still makes it to his spot in time. The offensive player can't be considered in his upward motion prior to beginning his jump from the floor right next to the defender.

Play 2: Tough to tell, but it looks as if the offensive play put his hand in his opponent's throat. That should indeed be a TC foul.

Play 3: This is a charge and it is not similar to play 1 as the offensive player leads with his knee.

Play 4: Clear Flagrant 1. The offensive player holds his arm in an unnatural position solely to ward off the defender. He is fully responsible when contact to the opponent's head occurs. I'd penalize this with an intentional personal foul in a HS game.

Play 5: That is definitely a travel before he gets fouled. I noticed this play because of a call I made during a HS playoff game. Similar play in a similar situation--I called the travel instead of the foul and it wasn't well-received.
I may start another thread to discuss this play.

JRutledge Sat Mar 29, 2014 08:19pm

Play #1: I have a charge. The BH gathers but then does not go up immediately. That is a charge all the way IMO.

Play #2: A little embellishment. I would not want to call that kind of play if that was the first time it happened.

Play #3: Looks like a charge to me again. The player does not start his upward motion until after he gathers the ball.

Play #4: Very good call. Elbow clearly outside of his frame and unnatural.

Play #5: It is close, but probably would not call a travel in that situation.

Peace

Ref16 Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 929760)
Play #1: I have a charge. The BH gathers but then does not go up immediately. That is a charge all the way IMO.

Play #2: A little embellishment. I would not want to call that kind of play if that was the first time it happened.

Play #3: Looks like a charge to me again. The player does not start his upward motion until after he gathers the ball.

Play #4: Very good call. Elbow clearly outside of his frame and unnatural.

Play #5: It is close, but probably would not call a travel in that situation.

Peace

I agree with you on all counts with the exception of play #2.

At first glance it may seem like he was really embellishing (and he did some IMO), but when taking another look at it there were 2 hands placed on the defender and then both arms extended when he pushed off him to get open, so I agree with this call 100%.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1