BillyMac |
Thu Mar 27, 2014 04:27pm |
No Exceptions To The Rule ???
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
(Post 929212)
So an inbounder can't make a "bounce pass" throwin, even if he's ten feet back from the boundary, and the ball bounces once out of bounds (within the designated spot), and then is caught by a player inbounds? I'm not sure that I'm calling that a violation in my game.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
(Post 929216)
You would be incorrect, Billy. That is indeed a throw-in violation.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn
(Post 929222)
You should call that a violation - this is exactly what is described in the rule quoted above.
|
I know that it's a violation, but I would still have trouble calling it based on intent, and purpose.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam
(Post 929225)
If you're not going to call it if it bounces within the designated spot, why would you call it if it bounces OOB outside of the DS? There's no rule-based distinction there? The ball is not required to stay within the spot, only the player. In fact, if the thrower wants to "dribble", the "dribble" is not required to stay within the DS either.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by bballref3966
(Post 929229)
The rule and case books pretty blatantly support that throwing the ball off an object out of bounds before it touches an inbounds player (not including dribbling on the floor) is a violation—there's no basis in the rule for judging intent. If it happens, it's a violation.
|
Yes, the casebook play is pretty clear.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ
(Post 929231)
It's not unusual, I think, for a player to grab the ball, step OOB and throw the ball against the back wall in frustration. I never even considered that a violation?
|
Nor would I, but it is a violation according to the caseplay. What's everybody else doing on this play: ignore, or violation?
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach
(Post 929237)
At the end of a game the inbounder, in adherence to that old bromide of "Roll it", releases the ball behind the endline and it ultimately makes its way onto the court. Do you have a whistle in this case?
|
I don't think that I would, but the casebook is pretty clear that it's a violation.
An inbounder can "dribble" the ball, he can make a bounce pass, on a run the endline throwin, to another player out of bounds, but he can't throw a bounce pass, that bounces out of bounds, right in front of him, within his designated spot, to a teammate in bounds?
Yes, the casebook play is quite clear. I guess we have to officiate with the rules that we have, not with the rules that we would like to see.
|