![]() |
NIT: Arkansas vs. California Blarge (Video)
I heard there was a Blarge in the cal ark game lastnight anyone see it or have video??
|
According to the play-by-play there were no double fouls called in the game.
|
I'm not sure, but I think the original call was PC, but then was changed to a block. I think maybe another official pointed out the defender was in the RA.
|
No blarge...in fact, no signals from anyone but the lead:
<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/P4Mbp5-qbsM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
Ok...by the new "upward motion" standard in NCAA-M, should this be a block? Or is it PC because of the initial contact being with the offensive player's leg/knee???
|
Upward motion block IMO
|
Quote:
In HS, I'd probably have a block as well but it was close. I think the shooter was airborne while the defender's torso was still coming forward (not yet to the spot). |
Albeit it unrelated I got a T for taunting............
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
See you in a few months !!! |
I think this is a charge.
Until they clarify when actually they are in their upward motion, he does not gather the ball until his last step, I think the defender is there in time. If it is that close, I am going charge until they clarify this more in the rules or by interpretation. Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Now was this changed to a block or did the call stand? Peace |
Changed to a block. He shot free throws.
|
Well that is what is supposed to happen when the defender is in the RA and the secondary defender.
Peace |
Does the fact that it's a RA play change everything or would you still have to report both fouls if one of the other officials had signaled block?
|
Block on defender for not being there prior to start of upward motion.
Block on defender for RA, which of course wouldn't have mattered cause I'm calling this a block. I believe that's Greg Nixon as the C giving the extra information to the Lead. Nice crew work there. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
A.R. 92. As A2 makes a drive to the basket, B1, a secondary defender, establishes initial guarding position within the restricted area. Contact occurs. One official calls a charge while another official calls a block. RULING: B1 was a secondary defender who illegally established initial guarding position within the restricted area. Consequently, the blocking call against B1 is the correct call. (Rule 4-35 and 10-1.13) Consequently, this is the first time this year I've seen D-I officials offering information to the calling official as to the position of a secondary defender. It should happen more on the men's side IMO. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
The ruling is also true in the NBA and NCAA-W with regard to the lower defensive box. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07pm. |