The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   St. Joseph's vs. UConn Travel (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97557-st-josephs-vs-uconn-travel.html)

bballref3966 Thu Mar 20, 2014 06:13pm

St. Joseph's vs. UConn Travel
 
Video Request: around the 12-minute mark in the first half, official calls traveling after it seemed a St. Joe's player passed the ball off the backboard to himself.

RefCT Thu Mar 20, 2014 07:37pm

Another one
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bballref3966 (Post 927952)
Video Request: around the 12-minute mark in the first half, official calls traveling after it seemed a St. Joe's player passed the ball off the backboard to himself.

Trail made the call and I assume he ruled it wasn't a shot (I agree with that - guy clearly threw it against the board because he needed to get out of trouble) and was a pass to himself.

9:20 or so left in the second half - I think there was a horrible backcourt call against St. Joe's. Guard never had front court status (assuming the NCAA-M and NFHS rules are the same regarding front court status). The trail coming up was across the court and guessed.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Mar 20, 2014 07:54pm

I have UConn in this game but the UConn player traveled with 2:09 left in the game to set himself for a successful 3-pt attempt that gave UConn a 67-66 lead.

MTD, Sr.

Camron Rust Fri Mar 21, 2014 02:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bballref3966 (Post 927952)
Video Request: around the 12-minute mark in the first half, official calls traveling after it seemed a St. Joe's player passed the ball off the backboard to himself.

Quote:

Originally Posted by RefCT (Post 927965)
Trail made the call and I assume he ruled it wasn't a shot (I agree with that - guy clearly threw it against the board because he needed to get out of trouble) and was a pass to himself.

I haven't seen the video but there is no such thing as a pass to himself. A pass, by definition, is to another player. If it comes back to the same player, it is either a dribble, perhaps an illegal one, or nothing. Also, the rules (perhaps it is a case play) expressly allow a player to throw the ball off the backboard, even on purpose, then catch it.

MathReferee Fri Mar 21, 2014 08:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 927970)
I have UConn in this game but the UConn player traveled with 2:09 left in the game to set himself for a successful 3-pt attempt that gave UConn a 67-66 lead.

MTD, Sr.

I agree with this.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1