The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Injury / Free Throw Substitution (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97528-injury-free-throw-substitution.html)

Wellmer Mon Mar 17, 2014 09:15am

Injury / Free Throw Substitution
 
NFHS rules, Injured player, due to get two free throws, leaves the ball game. Coach puts a player in off the bench to shoot the free throws, but after doing so realizes she's in foul trouble (2 fouls already early in the 2nd quarter). She shoots the free throws and now he wants to put a sub in for her. I think he should be allowed to do this but other officials have said no, due to the clock not running. I don't think that comes into play here. Anyone have a rule # or case book play to reference?

JetMetFan Mon Mar 17, 2014 09:17am

Remember the phrase: "You have to sit a tick, you don't have to play a tick." The only player(s) who can't come in as subs immediately after those FTs are any players who were replaced before/during those FTs. Anyone who is on the court during those FTs can be replaced.

NFHS 3-3-4
A player who has been replaced, or directed to leave the game shall not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been started properly following his/her replacement.

Wellmer Mon Mar 17, 2014 09:21am

The injured player was not the one coming back into the game, it was another random person off the bench, which I think is confusing some officials. But maybe I am confused?

jTheUmp Mon Mar 17, 2014 09:25am

Ok, so let me see if I have this straight:

A11 is fouled.
A11 is injured as a result of the foul, so she can't shoot the FTs.
Coach brings A22 off the bench to replace A11.
A22 shoots the FTs.
Coach wants to replace A22 with A33 after the FTs, but before the ensuing throw-in.

If that's the situation, it's 100% legal.

If the Coach wanted to bring A11 back in for A22 after the FTs and prior to the ensuing throw-in (technically, before the clock starts again), that would not be allowed.

Robert E. Harrison Mon Mar 17, 2014 09:26am

I would allow it.
 
If it is not prohibited, it is allowed. Unusual to say the least. Third world even.

Wellmer Mon Mar 17, 2014 09:27am

Exactly, you have the scenario down 100% correct!

MD Longhorn Mon Mar 17, 2014 09:52am

Not that third world... consider this.

A11 is fouled.
A22 sent in for A5 for rebounding purposes on the free throws.
A11 makes both.
A33 (or anyone but A5) sent in for A22 before the throw in.

Completely legal. The only thing different from the OP is the fact that A22 subbed for A5 instead of A11.

LRZ Mon Mar 17, 2014 10:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 927358)
Remember the phrase: "You have to sit a tick, you don't have to play a tick."

Thanks, I never heard that one. A good memory device.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1