The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Kansas/Oklahoma State (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97501-kansas-oklahoma-state.html)

AremRed Thu Mar 13, 2014 03:30pm

Kansas/Oklahoma State
 
Two interesting plays

1:23 first half -- double whistle with one official waving off the shot while th other was reporting.

14:28 second half -- running OOB violation

Bonus: 10:54 second half -- block/charge play

JetMetFan Sun Mar 16, 2014 04:28pm

video added
 
Here are the plays...


<iframe width="853" height="480" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/Zw-A_jrQXas?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Raymond Sun Mar 16, 2014 04:41pm

Same official on all 3 calls, doing what John Adams wants; I'm betting he's back in the Final Four this year.

Camron Rust Sun Mar 16, 2014 07:06pm

Getting 2 of 3 right isn't too bad. ;)

The block at the end was the one that was wrong. The first contact was even the knee in the defenders chest/gut, not even body contact.

JugglingReferee Sun Mar 16, 2014 07:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 927289)
Same official on all 3 calls, doing what John Adams wants; I'm betting he's back in the Final Four this year.

Agreed.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 927309)
Getting 2 of 3 right isn't too bad. ;)

The block at the end was the one that was wrong. The first contact was even the knee in the defenders chest/gut, not even body contact.

Agreed.

:)

AremRed Mon Mar 17, 2014 01:20pm

Play 1: I don't like the C waving off the shot while the Trail is reporting. I think they should hold and defer to primary and then do it. I can't tell if the Trail wanted to give shots, cuz he drops his numbers when he sees the C wave it off.

Play 3: C is guessing, he had no idea whether that defender was legal or not. What happened to deferring to Lead?? It was only by the good graces of Lead holding up that they didn't have a blarge.

Multiple Sports Wed Mar 19, 2014 11:58am

Good job Tom Eades
 
Play 3 - Great patience by Tom in the lead.....don't know why center had to get involved....

At the lower levels everybody says, "Wow great job by C being aggrressive, I say BS, he shouls hae held until a secind after the crash and let the lead do his thing !!!!!

youngump Wed Mar 19, 2014 12:31pm

Would somebody mind explaining the 2nd call to the diamond guy lurking on the board? I thought the rule read in college that one could go voluntarily out of bounds as long as someone else touched the ball after you returned in bounds.

Rich Wed Mar 19, 2014 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 927731)
Would somebody mind explaining the 2nd call to the diamond guy lurking on the board? I thought the rule read in college that one could go voluntarily out of bounds as long as someone else touched the ball after you returned in bounds.

The pass was to the player who went out of bounds.

(Loss of down at the previous spot. :D )

twocentsworth Wed Mar 19, 2014 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 927731)
Would somebody mind explaining the 2nd call to the diamond guy lurking on the board? I thought the rule read in college that one could go voluntarily out of bounds as long as someone else touched the ball after you returned in bounds.

This play is officiated differently using NFHS and NCAA-M rules. When a player voluntarily goes/runs out of bounds:

NFHS = violation is called immediately when the act occurs.
NCAA-M = violation is called when/if player in question is the first person to touch the ball after re-establishing his position inbounds.

Camron Rust Wed Mar 19, 2014 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 927743)
This play is officiated differently using NFHS and NCAA-M rules. When a player voluntarily goes/runs out of bounds:

NFHS = violation is called immediately when the act occurs.
NCAA-M = violation is called when/if player in question is the first person to touch the ball after re-establishing his position inbounds.

And this is where the confusion comes in. The actual first person to thouch the ball after he returned was the passer. What they really mean by that rule is that the player is the next person to receive the ball after returning inbounds. If the pass had gone elsewhere, then to him, it would have been legal.

youngump Wed Mar 19, 2014 02:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 927743)
When a player voluntarily goes/runs out of bounds:

NCAA-M = violation is called when/if player in question is the first person to touch the ball after re-establishing his position inbounds.

That was my understanding. But if so, everybody should be calling this a missed call, the player who went out of bounds was inbounds before the pass was released. So what gives?

[Posted this before I saw Camron's answer.] Camron, thanks, that's exactly what my confusion was. Even if he'd been inbounds for 33 seconds and took the direct pass still out of bounds?

Camron Rust Wed Mar 19, 2014 02:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 927753)
That was my understanding. But if so, everybody should be calling this a missed call, the player who went out of bounds was inbounds before the pass was released. So what gives?

[Posted this before I saw Camron's answer.] Camron, thanks, that's exactly what my confusion was. Even if he'd been inbounds for 33 seconds and took the direct pass still out of bounds?

I think there is some grey area between the words of the rule and how it is intended. If the player ran around inbounds for 25 seconds after returning from OOB while his teammate held the ball the entire time, I don't believe it is the intent of the rule to call a violation. It is mostly meant to keep a player from getting a direct advantage by going OOB on purpose and returning to immediately receive the ball while the defense is trying to catch up with the player.

bob jenkins Wed Mar 19, 2014 02:58pm

BTW, the NCAAW rule is the same, and I get a violation on this once or twice a year.

deecee Wed Mar 19, 2014 03:38pm

For the most part this guy doesn't trust his partners OR has to be the man.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1