The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2014, 07:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 58
Mount St. Marys/Robert Morris -- Technical Foul Reversed

At the 8:35 mark in the 2nd half, a MSM player steals the ball and dunks it on the fast break. The Lead official calls a technical foul for hanging on the rim. The game went to commercial and when it resumed, the T-foul had been reversed and was not charged.

I didn't know you could 'take back' a T once it has been called? Is this in the rule book? Am I missing something?

If someone would like to post the video for discussion, you can.
__________________
Brian
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2014, 08:04pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
I've seen it done a couple of times in NCAA and once in the NBA. But that was so the star player wouldn't get kicked out, ha. It was a preseason game.
Has anyone reversed one in a High School game?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2014, 08:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by VTOfficial View Post
At the 8:35 mark in the 2nd half, a MSM player steals the ball and dunks it on the fast break. The Lead official calls a technical foul for hanging on the rim. The game went to commercial and when it resumed, the T-foul had been reversed and was not charged.

I didn't know you could 'take back' a T once it has been called? Is this in the rule book? Am I missing something?

If someone would like to post the video for discussion, you can.
Sure you can. If you partner has a different POV than you he/she can share it and you can then decide what you want to do. Was the T in error and called to quick, which it may have been here. No calls are necessarily absolute until they are reported, but 99.99% what is called on the spot is what is going in the book.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2014, 09:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,517
Another official must have had additional information. If it was just judgment, then it shuldn't have been reversed.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2014, 09:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Another official must have had additional information. If it was just judgment, then it shuldn't have been reversed.
You are correct. During the commercial break the officials huddled and additional information was provided.

Thanks for the feedback.
__________________
Brian
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2014, 09:50pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,164
I reversed my own T once. I called a Bench T, but the HC said it was a fan sitting behind the bench. I asked his stay guy (who kept their book during home games), and claimed the same. Since I actually didn't see who made the comment, I decided to rescind the T.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2014, 09:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Negaunee Michigan
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
I've seen it done a couple of times in NCAA and once in the NBA. But that was so the star player wouldn't get kicked out, ha. It was a preseason game.
Has anyone reversed one in a High School game?
When I was in high school, we had a T given to a player for hitting the backboard when going for a block. After stopping play another official came in and told him the player had a legitimate shot at blocking the ball and the T was taken away (Overall they got the call correct).
I don't remember what happened after that, but I would guess they went with the possession arrow for who got the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2014, 10:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I reversed my own T once. I called a Bench T, but the HC said it was a fan sitting behind the bench. I asked his stay guy (who kept their book during home games), and claimed the same. Since I actually didn't see who made the comment, I decided to rescind the T.
Why would you attempt to penalize a comment when you aren't certain who said it in the first place? Were you a novice official at the time?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2014, 10:58pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,164
No, I had just warned that bench and I reacted emotionally.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2014, 10:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,123
I've reversed a T before.

Partner has a whistle. I'm off ball. After the foul, A player comes flying into a player I'm covering, looking a lot like a tackle. I hit the whistle for a T.

Something didn't seem right....it was out of nowhere. I check with my partner to see if there was anything about the situation that I couldn't/didn't see. Turns out the player was tripped up as part of the live ball foul and just couldn't recover his balance. While the contact was substantial, I decided that it wasn't worthy of a T since it was inadvertent.

The funny thing about the whole deal is that his coach, after I explained to both coaches that I was retracting the T, gave me grief about reversing it while the coach that would have benefited from the T merely said thanks for the explanation.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2014, 11:17pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,891
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
Has anyone reversed one in a High School game?
Yes, when you get more information.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2014, 11:25pm
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,572
If this is becoming a share-your-story thread I might as well throw mine in.

I had been to a friends Varsity game where the two head coaches decided to show him up by stepping out of the coaches box and talking negatively about something he said during the coaches meeting. He was opposite the table at the time (second quarter). He told me later he would have absolutely whacked them, but it took him by surprise and by the time he realized what they were doing, it was over.

So of course I have the same situation in the first quarter of my Freshman game a month later. This time both coaches were out of the box talking to each other about my partners (admittedly questionable) call from a few plays earlier. I heard them as I was headed to the table to report. So I whack both of them and they sit. A few minutes later I am table side in front of one of the benches and after the coach asks me a question I ask him "do you know why I called a tech?" (fyi I should not have asked him), and he replied "yeah".

After halftime we are watching warm-ups across the table. My partner (the R) heads to the table and I know he is gonna talk to the coaches. Sure enough he wades right in to the two coaches who are standing there chatting. I don't want to be left out so I walk over there. We end up talking for a minute and I realized that what they were saying to each other wasn't as negative about my partner as I thought. I decide to rescind the techs. When I go to the table and tell the scorer I was rescinding them she said "you can't do that." LOL!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 12, 2014, 12:58am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
So of course I have the same situation in the first quarter of my Freshman game a month later. This time both coaches were out of the box talking to each other about my partners (admittedly questionable) call from a few plays earlier. I heard them as I was headed to the table to report. So I whack both of them and they sit. A few minutes later I am table side in front of one of the benches and after the coach asks me a question I ask him "do you know why I called a tech?" (fyi I should not have asked him), and he replied "yeah".

After halftime we are watching warm-ups across the table. My partner (the R) heads to the table and I know he is gonna talk to the coaches. Sure enough he wades right in to the two coaches who are standing there chatting. I don't want to be left out so I walk over there. We end up talking for a minute and I realized that what they were saying to each other wasn't as negative about my partner as I thought. I decide to rescind the techs. When I go to the table and tell the scorer I was rescinding them she said "you can't do that." LOL!
I agree with her.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 12, 2014, 01:04am
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
I agree with her.
LOL!













/pretend these lowercase letters aren't here
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 12, 2014, 01:07am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post













/pretend these lowercase letters aren't here

Never played this game before.........it's very difficult.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kentucky vs Robert Morris stiffler3492 Basketball 24 Thu Mar 21, 2013 09:16am
Foul In the Post: One Continuous Action or Technical Foul? APG Basketball 10 Sat Feb 02, 2013 08:24pm
Mount Vernon Plate Brushes bkbjones Softball 5 Tue Jun 12, 2012 05:45pm
Purdue v. St. Marys APG Basketball 9 Mon Mar 19, 2012 09:46am
Robert Morris/Concordia NAIA thriller DonInKansas Basketball 4 Wed Mar 21, 2007 08:02am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1