The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Ohio Playoff - End of Game Situation (Article/Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97457-ohio-playoff-end-game-situation-article-video.html)

grunewar Fri Mar 07, 2014 06:36am

Ohio Playoff - End of Game Situation (Article/Video)
 
Some good video of coaches, players, refs and their actions during this high pressure situation:

Y! SPORTS

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/CPnOh0DzEVE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

HokiePaul Fri Mar 07, 2014 08:54am

Exciting finish. Does look like the officials did about as good of a job as could be expected.

BryanV21 Fri Mar 07, 2014 09:15am

Very nice work by the officials.

AremRed Fri Mar 07, 2014 12:29pm

Huh? This is only ok work by the officials.

1. The Trail never chops the clock after the throw-in is legally touched inbounds.
2. By my watch, 3.02 seconds elapse between the touch of the ball and the officials whistle. The game clock should have expired, making white the winner.

That said, the white coach is an idiot.

Camron Rust Fri Mar 07, 2014 12:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 926171)
Huh? This is only ok work by the officials.

1. The Trail never chops the clock after the throw-in is legally touched inbounds.
2. By my watch, 3.02 seconds elapse between the touch of the ball and the officials whistle. The game clock should have expired, making white the winner.

yep.

JetMetFan Fri Mar 07, 2014 12:50pm

Apart from the Zapruder-esqe breakdown on the YouTube clip, the crew wasn't helped by the clock operator on the first throw-in but the T didn't help himself by not blowing his whistle immediately when the ball landed OOB.

AremRed Fri Mar 07, 2014 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 926177)
Apart from the Zapruder-esqe breakdown on the YouTube clip, the crew wasn't helped by the clock operator on the first throw-in but the T didn't help himself by not blowing his whistle immediately when the ball landed OOB.

By my watch, from touch inbounds to touch OOB there is 2.5-2.6 seconds. So the game would be over anyway. Still doesn't excuse the official from taking between 0.4-0.5 seconds to blow his whistle. Also, are we sure the OOB touch by black in the corner shouldn't have resulted in a turnover?

Zapruder?? Just wait until we start breaking down individual frames and referring to them by number.

Rich Fri Mar 07, 2014 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 926184)
By my watch, from touch inbounds to touch OOB there is 2.5-2.6 seconds. So the game would be over anyway. Still doesn't excuse the official from taking between 0.4-0.5 seconds to blow his whistle. Also, are we sure the OOB touch by black in the corner shouldn't have resulted in a turnover?

Zapruder?? Just wait until we start breaking down individual frames and referring to them by number.

The tipped throw-in LANDED out of bounds. That's pretty clear even from across the court.

It's true, the trail didn't do himself any favors. He was surprised by the tip and forgot to chop. Then when the ball (clearly) landed out of bounds, he didn't blow his whistle.

I timed the touch to the ball hitting out of bounds. Twice. 1.3 seconds each time. Zapruder agrees with me.

That would've left 0.9 seconds for a final inbounds pass. Watching the last shot, it would've been good with 1.2 seconds or 0.9 seconds. As awkward as everything ended up being with the clock, the outcome would've been the same. I watched the frame-by-frame video. I'm not convinced -- clocks do NOT start instantaneously on the touch and I think that with 0.8 or 0.9 seconds, he would've gotten it off before the horn.

(One final comment, though. It's easy to be an Internet official.)

BryanV21 Fri Mar 07, 2014 01:18pm

I see no problem pointing out a mistake using slow-mo videos, and watching them over and over again. That's a great tool for us to learn. But I'm not about to judge the guys who were there, in the moment, trying to get things right.

Saying that, they made mistakes. But they did their best to fix those mistakes, and they should be applauded for that.

AremRed Fri Mar 07, 2014 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 926187)
The tipped throw-in LANDED out of bounds. That's pretty clear even from across the court.

Uh, no. The first bounce was in-bounds, the ball gained OOB status when the black jersey player touched it with his hands while standing OOB.

1. We don't have a good angle of the line from this camera angle.
2. The official is right on top of the line.
3. The official doesn't blow his whistle until after the black jersey player catches it in his hands.
4. Thus, we should assume the first bounce was in-bounds.

All my timing is taken from the tip to the black jersey player catching the ball OOB.

Rich Fri Mar 07, 2014 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 926192)
Uh, no. The first bounce was in-bounds, the ball gained OOB status when the black jersey player touched it with his hands while standing OOB.

1. We don't have a good angle of the line from this camera angle.
2. The official is right on top of the line.
3. The official doesn't blow his whistle until after the black jersey player catches it in his hands.
4. Thus, we should assume the first bounce was in-bounds.

All my timing is taken from the tip to the black jersey player catching the ball OOB.

You're wrong. Watch the video again. The T either mistakenly thought it wasn't his line or he just froze up for whatever reason. The ball landed on the sideline.

AND, that makes the timing fit, too. If the player in the black jersey touched a live ball, white would've gotten the ball, right?

JetMetFan agrees with this (see above).

A Pennsylvania Coach Fri Mar 07, 2014 01:52pm

I agree with Rich--the ball definitely landed OOB.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1