The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Mich Mich St block/charge call, then makeup call (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97358-mich-mich-st-block-charge-call-then-makeup-call-video.html)

pfan1981 Sun Feb 23, 2014 03:42pm

Mich Mich St block/charge call, then makeup call (Video)
 
14:18 in the second half.....officials call block on obvious charge, Mich coach loses it, Mich St gets called for a ticky tack hold, Izzo's reaction is honestly funny.

Adam Sun Feb 23, 2014 05:23pm

You're joking, right? "make up call"?

pfan1981 Sun Feb 23, 2014 08:04pm

No joke, you have to see the clip Adam. Izzo had a $&!@ eating grin on his face after the hold or illegal screen, whatever they called.

stick Sun Feb 23, 2014 08:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by pfan1981 (Post 924351)
14:18 in the second half.....officials call block on obvious charge, Mich coach loses it, Mich St gets called for a ticky tack hold, Izzo's reaction is honestly funny.

I was in attendance at that game and that seemed to be the consensus of the folks where I was sitting. For the record I've never believed in the notion of "make up calls".

Rich Sun Feb 23, 2014 08:12pm

Was the second one a foul right after a media timeout threshold?

After having season tickets for a major D1 school for a few years, I'm never surprised when there's (in the words of Bill Raftery) a nickel-dimer a few seconds after the threshold is passed. Happens ALL THE TIME.

pfan1981 Sun Feb 23, 2014 09:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 924387)
Was the second one a foul right after a media timeout threshold?

After having season tickets for a major D1 school for a few years, I'm never surprised when there's (in the words of Bill Raftery) a nickel-dimer a few seconds after the threshold is passed. Happens ALL THE TIME.

No Rich, was on the next possession. We need the powers at be to clip it, I can tape with my phone, but that's as useless as a team pressing down 40

Refsmitty Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:38am

Block
 
The first call was the block - awful call!

pfan1981 Tue Mar 04, 2014 09:07pm

TubeChop - 2014-02-23 NCAAB Michigan State Spartans vs Michigan Wolverines (01:16)

TubeChop - 2014-02-23 NCAAB Michigan State Spartans vs Michigan Wolverines (01:16)

No idea how to make this work, but I tried :)

pfan1981 Tue Mar 04, 2014 09:08pm

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://swf.tubechop.com/tubechop.swf?vurl=pSvvxmyKteY&start=2784.62&end=28 60.63&cid=2188385"></param><embed src="http://swf.tubechop.com/tubechop.swf?vurl=pSvvxmyKteY&start=2784.62&end=28 60.63&cid=2188385" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Camron Rust Wed Mar 05, 2014 12:49am

Charge. Official probably got surprised and didn't see the defender just standing there the entire time and defaulted to a block.

deecee Wed Mar 05, 2014 09:03am

eek I don't know what that call after the charge is for honestly.

JugglingReferee Wed Mar 05, 2014 09:11am

Two errors are worse than one error. If you kick a call, referee excellently thereafter.

You'll be remembered as a guy that made 1 iffy call all night. If you put makeup on a call, you'll be known as the guy who tries to even things out. (Or the guy with piss-poor judgement.)

Which do you think garnishes more respect?

Raymond Wed Mar 05, 2014 09:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 925761)
Two errors are worse than one error. If you kick a call, referee excellently thereafter.

You'll be remembered as a guy that made 1 iffy call all night. If you put makeup on a call, you'll be known as the guy who tries to even things out. (Or the guy with piss-poor judgement.)

Which do you think garnishes more respect?

Is that the same official making both calls? The official who made the first call should have been opposite the table for the 2nd play.

JugglingReferee Wed Mar 05, 2014 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 925766)
Is that the same official making both calls? The official who made the first call should have been opposite the table for the 2nd play.

I think it may have been.

bob jenkins Wed Mar 05, 2014 09:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 925766)
Is that the same official making both calls? The official who made the first call should have been opposite the table for the 2nd play.

Is that true in NCAAM? I thought on a foul in the BC, that it was just a "bump and run", so he would have been L table side. But, sometimes, the other officials just move down and the official who is tableside inbounds (not correct, but "easier")

Raymond Wed Mar 05, 2014 11:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 925770)
Is that true in NCAAM? I thought on a foul in the BC, that it was just a "bump and run", so he would have been L table side. But, sometimes, the other officials just move down and the official who is tableside inbounds (not correct, but "easier")

On all foul calls, the calling officials is supposed to go opposite table, regardless of type of foul or where it occurred. We have an exception to stay (or go) tableside if we want to address the coach.

Camron Rust Wed Mar 05, 2014 12:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 925766)
Is that the same official making both calls? The official who made the first call should have been opposite the table for the 2nd play.

Both the T and the C whistled and signaled on the first one...and they both had the wrong call. The C yielded it to the T who was opposite and stayed opposite. So, one of the same officials who called the first one (but didn't report it) called the 2nd one.

jeremy341a Wed Mar 05, 2014 01:37pm

First one is a charge but I don't think the second call is completely made up. Screener is moving into the defender at the time of contact.

#olderthanilook Wed Mar 05, 2014 02:13pm

Replay isn't good enough to definitively show block or charge anyway, imo. It almost looks like the offensive players head and shoulders were beyond the torso of the defender, which results in a Fed block.

Ready for the backlash, I am....

bob jenkins Wed Mar 05, 2014 02:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by #olderthanilook (Post 925824)
Replay isn't good enough to definitively show block or charge anyway, imo. It almost looks like the offensive players head and shoulders were beyond the torso of the defender, which results in a Fed block. places the greater responsibility on the defender.
Ready for the backlash, I am....

FIFY. It can still be a charge. (I did not re-watch the video to see either way.

Camron Rust Wed Mar 05, 2014 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by #olderthanilook (Post 925824)
Replay isn't good enough to definitively show block or charge anyway, imo. It almost looks like the offensive players head and shoulders were beyond the torso of the defender, which results in a Fed block.

Ready for the backlash, I am....

That has no bearing on the call if the defender is stationary....and I'm pretty sure he was.

#olderthanilook Wed Mar 05, 2014 03:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 925831)
FIFY. It can still be a charge. (I did not re-watch the video to see either way.

Looks as though the greater responsbility for contact was on the defender, then. But, again, the replay isn't definitive.

bob jenkins Wed Mar 05, 2014 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by #olderthanilook (Post 925839)
Looks as though the greater responsbility for contact was on the defender, then. But, again, the replay isn't definitive.

And that doesn't mean that it can't still be a PC foul.

Camron Rust Wed Mar 05, 2014 04:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by #olderthanilook (Post 925839)
Looks as though the greater responsbility for contact was on the defender, then. But, again, the replay isn't definitive.

The only thing that really means is that the defender's right to be moving laterally, as is permitted by having LGP, ceases since any new movement would be towards the opponent.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1