The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Foul During AP Throw-In (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97335-foul-during-ap-throw.html)

Gargil Fri Feb 21, 2014 08:22am

Foul During AP Throw-In
 
At a Varsity boys game last night near the end of a close
game there was a held ball tie up which resulted in an AP throw-in. After the official handed the ball to A1, A2 was fouled before A1 ever released the ball. The officials met at the table and changed the arrow to team B. I thought under 4-42-5 that the throw-in does not end until the ball is legally touched, therefore the arrow should have stayed with team A. Am I correct?? The official said that the throw-in ended when he hands the ball to the thrower.

CountTheBasket Fri Feb 21, 2014 08:27am

Really shouldn't get this wrong in a varsity game...
 
4-42

ART. 5

The throw-in ends when:

a. The passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player inbounds.

b. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out of bounds, except as in 7-5-7.

c. The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation.


6-4

ART. 4

The direction of the possession arrow is reversed immediately after an alternating-possession throw-in ends. An alternating-possession throw-in ends when the throw-in ends as in 4-42-5.

Raymond Fri Feb 21, 2014 08:28am

I hope this was a regular season game, and that this official will not be working any postseason games.

TI ends when legally touched or the throw-in team violates. And if Team A had committed the foul, the arrow also would have stayed with A.

So you are right.

Gargil Fri Feb 21, 2014 09:00am

It was for the conference championship and there was not another AP throw-in so it did not affect the outcome of the game, but it sure could have.

Adam Fri Feb 21, 2014 09:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 923954)
I hope this was a regular season game, and that this official will not be working any postseason games.

TI ends when legally touched or the throw-in team violates. And if Team A had committed the foul, the arrow also would have stayed with A.

So you are right.

I'm out of that hope.

scrounge Fri Feb 21, 2014 09:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 923954)
I hope this was a regular season game, and that this official will not be working any postseason games.

TI ends when legally touched or the throw-in team violates. And if Team A had committed the foul, the arrow also would have stayed with A.

So you are right.

I thought if A committed a violation on their throw-in that they indeed would lose the arrow. Would this be the applicable case play?

6.4.5 SITUATION A:

Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in under the alternating procedure. A1 commits a violation.


RULING: B's ball for a throw-in because of the violation. In addition, the possession arrow is reversed and is pointed towards B's basket. Team B will have the next throw-in opportunity under the alternating *procedure. Team A has lost its opportunity by virtue of the violation. A violation by Team A during an alternating-possession throw-in is the only way a team loses its turn under the procedure.

COMMENT: If a foul by either team occurs before an alternating-possession throw-in ends, the foul is penalized as required and play continues as it *normally would, but the possession arrow is not reversed. The same team will still have the arrow for the next alternating-possession throw-in. The arrow is reversed when an alternating-possession throw-in ends. (6-4-4)

*******************************************

EDITED TO ADD: Never mind, violation <> foul. Doh.

CountTheBasket Fri Feb 21, 2014 09:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by scrounge (Post 923962)
I thought if A committed a violation on their throw-in that they indeed would lose the arrow.

I'm not sure if this was added later or not, but what it prevents is team A getting a throw in via AP arrow with 1.3 secs left in a quarter and then just taking a 5 sec so they can try and start the next quarter with the ball. You can imagine the disaster that would lead to...

johnny d Fri Feb 21, 2014 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gargil (Post 923950)
The official said that the throw-in ended when he hands the ball to the thrower.


I am impressed the official was able to say this with a straight face. :eek:

johnny d Fri Feb 21, 2014 10:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gargil (Post 923959)
It was for the conference championship and there was not another AP throw-in so it did not affect the outcome of the game, but it sure could have.


Conference championship game and this guy is the best official the assignor can come up with? I too would be out of hope if this happened in any of the leagues I work in.

Sharpshooternes Fri Feb 21, 2014 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gargil (Post 923950)
Am I correct?? The official said that the throw-in ended when he hands the ball to the thrower.

You are correct. He's a moron.

Adam Fri Feb 21, 2014 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CountTheBasket (Post 923964)
I'm not sure if this was added later or not, but what it prevents is team A getting a throw in via AP arrow with 1.3 secs left in a quarter and then just taking a 5 sec so they can try and start the next quarter with the ball. You can imagine the disaster that would lead to...

I think disaster would be a bit strong for this.

Toren Fri Feb 21, 2014 01:14pm

This same thing happened earlier this year to me, except Team A committed a team control foul.

The R on the game wanted to change the arrow, I told him it remains because the throw end didn't end. For some reason my partner didn't believe me and asked my other partner...who told him it should be reversed :eek:

At this point, he decides he does believe me and leaves the arrow the same. We discussed after the game and I showed them the rules that govern the ruling.

My 2 partners are well respected and good play callers. I would work any game with them, but I just know I better brush up on my rules before we do :D

Rich Fri Feb 21, 2014 01:19pm

We could go an entire season without having to really know some of the more detailed rules of the game.

Or something could happen right in front of us the next play that requires us to recall a rule.

Thing that drove this home for me was at an association meeting earlier this season when a lot of people didn't really know the rules regarding players leaving the bench and participating or not participating in a fight. I think maybe 1 person in the room had had a bench-clearing fight situation in the past and it was years prior.

So I started thinking about it -- wouldn't that be the absolute worst time for you to have to worry about not knowing the rules or the penalty application -- just after there was a bench-clearing situation?

This one should be easy for a varsity crew, but the OP proves that it wasn't - at least for that one.

CountTheBasket Fri Feb 21, 2014 01:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 924024)
I think disaster would be a bit strong for this.

The disaster I was implying was the teams holding for 5 sec violations back and forth and back and forth...

johnny d Fri Feb 21, 2014 02:11pm

Rich, I understand what you are saying. I agree, things like the fight rules that might only happen once in a career could be tough to know. Granted a foul by the throw in team doesn't occur often, but there are multiple throw ins every game. There is no excuse to not know when a throw in ends. I would put this in the basic knowledge category.

Rich Fri Feb 21, 2014 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 924035)
Rich, I understand what you are saying. I agree, things like the fight rules that might only happen once in a career could be tough to know. Granted a foul by the throw in team doesn't occur often, but there are multiple throw ins every game. There is no excuse to know when a throw in ends. I would put this in the basic knowledge category.

It's when an AP throw-in ends, though. And 95%+ of them end when the ball's touched on the floor.

Gargil Fri Feb 21, 2014 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CountTheBasket (Post 924031)
The disaster I was implying was the teams holding for 5 sec violations back and forth and back and forth...

This could happen if the rule has no exceptions. Is there an exception?:confused:

Adam Fri Feb 21, 2014 03:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gargil (Post 924038)
This could happen if the rule has no exceptions. Is there an exception?:confused:

He's suggesting a what-if scenario. As in, what if the rule were different than it is now?

As it is now, a 5 second violation causes the arrow to switch.

Camron Rust Fri Feb 21, 2014 03:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 924043)
He's suggesting a what-if scenario. As in, what if the rule were different than it is now?

As it is now, a 5 second violation causes the arrow to switch.


There is still a way for team A to avoid being forced to consume the arrow as in his scenario....

A1, making an AP throwin, could throw the ball to A2 who kicks the ball. It is not a throw-in violation and the arrow doesn't switch due to the throwin not being legally touched.

B's ball for the kicking violation. Time Expires. A gets the throwin to start the next quarter.

Adam Fri Feb 21, 2014 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 924044)
There is still a way for team A to avoid being forced to consume the arrow as in his scenario....

A1, making an AP throwin, could throw the ball to A2 who kicks the ball. It is not a throw-in violation and the arrow doesn't switch due to the throwin not being legally touched.

B's ball for the kicking violation. Time Expires. A gets the throwin to start the next quarter.

Is it a throw in violation that switches it? Or is it a violation by the throw in team? (My book is at home, I am not.)

Adam Fri Feb 21, 2014 03:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CountTheBasket (Post 924031)
The disaster I was implying was the teams holding for 5 sec violations back and forth and back and forth...

Wouldn't happen. If A commits a 5 second violation (under your hypothetical situation where the arrow did not change following a throw in violation), B's ensuing throw in would not be an AP throw in, so B would have no incentive to do the same thing.

CountTheBasket Fri Feb 21, 2014 03:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 924047)
Wouldn't happen. If A commits a 5 second violation (under your hypothetical situation where the arrow did not change following a throw in violation), B's ensuing throw in would not be an AP throw in, so B would have no incentive to do the same thing.

Fellas I was just responding to an early comment/question about the violation switching the arrow, stating the reason they may have added the exception was to avoid a scenario where A took the violation to get the ball to start the next half--and then making a joke about them violating back and forth. However, you are correct Adam and found a flaw in my hypothetical loop hole-well played.

Welpe Fri Feb 21, 2014 05:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 924046)
Is it a throw in violation that switches it? Or is it a violation by the throw in team? (My book is at home, I am not.)

Per the wording of the rule and case book play it is a violation by the throw-in team. I take that to mean any violation.

6-4-5
The opportunity to make an alternating-possession throw-in is lost if the throw-in team violates. If either team fouls during an alternating-possession throw-in, it does not cause the throw-in team to lose the possession arrow. If an opponent commits a violation during the throw-in, the possession arrow is postponed.

6.4.5 SITUATION A:

Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in under the alternating procedure. A1 commits a violation.

RULING: B's ball for a throw-in because of the violation. In addition, the possession arrow is reversed and is pointed towards B's basket. Team B will have the next throw-in opportunity under the alternating *procedure. Team A has lost its opportunity by virtue of the violation. A violation by Team A during an alternating-possession throw-in is the only way a team loses its turn under the procedure.

COMMENT: If a foul by either team occurs before an alternating-possession throw-in ends, the foul is penalized as required and play continues as it *normally would, but the possession arrow is not reversed. The same team will still have the arrow for the next alternating-possession throw-in. The arrow is reversed when an alternating-possession throw-in ends. (6-4-4)

Nevadaref Fri Feb 21, 2014 05:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 924044)
There is still a way for team A to avoid being forced to consume the arrow as in his scenario....

A1, making an AP throwin, could throw the ball to A2 who kicks the ball. It is not a throw-in violation and the arrow doesn't switch due to the throwin not being legally touched.

B's ball for the kicking violation. Time Expires. A gets the throwin to start the next quarter.

Not true. Any violation by the throwing team DURING the throw-in results in the AP arrow switching.
However, you are right that there is a way to preserve the arrow for later, if the team so desires--simply foul during the throw-in!

Adam Fri Feb 21, 2014 05:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 924065)
Not true. Any violation by the throwing team DURING the throw-in results in the AP arrow switching.
However, you are right that there is a way to preserve the arrow for later, if the team so desires--simply foul during the throw-in!

It would be a good time for a Book T if one was coming anyway.

Nevadaref Fri Feb 21, 2014 05:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 924069)
It would be a good time for a Book T if one was coming anyway.

True, but that would result in giving up FTs.
Here is what I had in mind: A held ball is called with 0.2 seconds remaining in the 2nd quarter. Team A has the arrow and throw-in would be from near the division line. Team A only has five team fouls. A smart coaching move would be to put in a sub from the end of the bench and have him foul an opponent during the throw-in. Team A would then keep the arrow for the start of the 3rd qtr and Team B could only score on a tap on the final possession of the 2nd qtr.

Adam Fri Feb 21, 2014 06:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 924076)
True, but that would result in giving up FTs.
Here is what I had in mind: A held ball is called with 0.2 seconds remaining in the 2nd quarter. Team A has the arrow and throw-in would be from near the division line. Team A only has five team fouls. A smart coaching move would be to put in a sub from the end of the bench and have him foul an opponent during the throw-in. Team A would then keep the arrow for the start of the 3rd qtr and Team B could only score on a tap on the final possession of the 2nd qtr.

Great strategy, but it would require A12 to know how to foul here. A bad screen would be perfect. Then of course make sure the officials know the rule.

Nevadaref Fri Feb 21, 2014 06:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 924078)
Great strategy, but it would require A12 to know how to foul here. A bad screen would be perfect. Then of course make sure the officials know the rule.

I also just realized that it would be a team control foul, so this could even be done with Team A having already committed 10 fouls in the first half.
Too many years under the old "neither team is in control during a throw-in" fundamental.

Camron Rust Sat Feb 22, 2014 05:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 924065)
Not true. Any violation by the throwing team DURING the throw-in results in the AP arrow switching.
However, you are right that there is a way to preserve the arrow for later, if the team so desires--simply foul during the throw-in!

You are correct. I was looking at ART 4 of the AP rule that is about reversing the arrow when the throwin ends (which then refers to 4-42-5 about how a throwin ends) but ART 5 covers all violations.


The fouling case is not a freebie as it counts toward the team fouls. In most games, a foul at the end of the quarter (1st and 3rd) would likely be before the bonus and it would probably resulting in giving the other team bonus FTs sooner than they would have received them. Is a possession worth 2 FTs (on a later foul)?

I guess their only resort might be to entice the other team into some sort of infraction.

BryanV21 Sat Feb 22, 2014 06:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 924078)
Great strategy, but it would require A12 to know how to foul here. A bad screen would be perfect. Then of course make sure the officials know the rule.

He could simply push the defender away in order to get open. Couldn't he?

BryanV21 Sat Feb 22, 2014 06:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 924130)
You are correct. I was looking at ART 4 of the AP rule that is about reversing the arrow when the throwin ends (which then refers to 4-42-5 about how a throwin ends) but ART 5 covers all violations.


The fouling case is not a freebie as it counts toward the team fouls. In most games, a foul at the end of the quarter (1st and 3rd) would likely be before the bonus and it would probably resulting in giving the other team bonus FTs sooner than they would have received them. Is a possession worth 2 FTs (on a later foul)?

I guess their only resort might be to entice the other team into some sort of infraction.

What about in the scenario Nevadaref brought up, when it's done before halftime? In that case the team fouls go back to zero to start the 3rd quarter/2nd half.

Adam Sat Feb 22, 2014 07:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 924189)
He could simply push the defender away in order to get open. Couldn't he?

Sure, but how many times do kids get stupid when told to foul?

BryanV21 Sat Feb 22, 2014 07:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 924195)
Sure, but how many times do kids get stupid when told to foul?

Kids get stupid? Come on, that wouldn't happen. :rolleyes:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1