The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw Ins (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97301-throw-ins.html)

The_Rookie Mon Feb 17, 2014 11:35am

Throw Ins
 
Couple of scenarios on throw ins:

1) A1 has ball for throw in under his basket:

a) B1 crosses the plane and hits A1 on arm

b) A1 extends ball over the plane to in-bounds side and B1 hits his arm

c) A1 extends ball over the plane in-bounds side and b1 hits the ball only

Rulings in each case?

Thanks!

OKREF Mon Feb 17, 2014 11:53am

A. Intentional
B. Intentional
C. Nothing

bob jenkins Mon Feb 17, 2014 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 923255)
Couple of scenarios on throw ins:

1) A1 has ball for throw in under his basket:

a) B1 crosses the plane and hits A1 on arm

b) A1 extends ball over the plane to in-bounds side and B1 hits his arm

c) A1 extends ball over the plane in-bounds side and b1 hits the ball only

Rulings in each case?

Thanks!

Under the "teach a man to fish" theory, I will point you to the case book -- all cases under 9.2.10

Those will directly answer a) and b)

I think you can figure out c) from there.

Nevadaref Mon Feb 17, 2014 01:19pm

a. Intentional personal foul AND team warning for delay of game.
b. Intentional personal foul without the team warning for delay.
c. Nothing illegal. Continue the game.

Camron Rust Mon Feb 17, 2014 02:13pm

Agree, according to the case, but (B) is just dumb. It is the interpretation, but it just makes no sense. The player can legally hit or grab the ball. Contact with a player in a location and at at time where they can legally play the ball just should not be classified as an intentional foul.

This case is not actually supported by rule as the penalty which declares this as an intentional foul is attached to the rule that says the defender can not reach through the throwin plane until the ball is released. It is implying that breaking the plane is the infraction which triggers the penalty....either a violation, a TF, or an IF depending on what happens when the defender crosses the plane.

Another case of someone on the committee making things up that don't match the rule and, somehow, getting it through.

Nevadaref Mon Feb 17, 2014 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 923297)
Agree, according to the case, but (B) is just dumb. It is the interpretation, but it just makes no sense. The player can legally hit or grab the ball. Contact with a player in a location and at at time where they can legally play the ball just should not be classified as an intentional foul.

This case is not actually supported by rule as the penalty which declares this as an intentional foul is attached to the rule that says the defender can not reach through the throwin plane until the ball is released. It is implying that breaking the plane is the infraction which triggers the penalty....either a violation, a TF, or an IF depending on what happens when the defender crosses the plane.

Another case of someone on the committee making things up that don't match the rule and, somehow, getting it through.

If you recall this ruling was only changed a couple of years ago. Prior to that it was just a common foul.
Mary Struckhoff was the NFHS rules editor at the time. I'd be willing to bet that either she or one of her friends working NCAAW screwed up this situation and charged an intentional personal foul, so the rule was changed to make that person retroactively correct.
I agree that it has no basis in the rules and is a poor interpretation.

zm1283 Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:39am

You would not believe (Or maybe you would) how many partners have told me they won't call anything when the defender contacts the ball or thrower while both are OOB. Not even a DoG warning. I have told partners that I have given warnings for breaking the plane and called technicals for contacting the ball, and they scoff at me and act like I'm from Mars.

Welpe Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 923438)
You would not believe (Or maybe you would) how many partners have told me they won't call anything when the defender contacts the ball or thrower while both are OOB. Not even a DoG warning. I have told partners that I have given warnings for breaking the plane and called technicals for contacting the ball, and they scoff at me and act like I'm from Mars.

I would believe that, sadly.

tophat67 Wed Feb 04, 2015 03:35pm

So let's add to this....ball extended over the boundary line by A1 and gets tied up by B1 (the player on the inbounds side of the court). A1 is still out of bounds. Do you have a jump ball or do you award the ball to B because A1 is out of bounds in contact with the ball?

Freddy Wed Feb 04, 2015 03:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tophat67 (Post 953681)
So let's add to this....ball extended over the boundary line by A1 and gets tied up by B1 (the player on the inbounds side of the court). A1 is still out of bounds. Do you have a jump ball or do you award the ball to B because A1 is out of bounds in contact with the ball?

6.4.5B Held ball . . . again.

APG Wed Feb 04, 2015 03:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tophat67 (Post 953681)
So let's add to this....ball extended over the boundary line by A1 and gets tied up by B1 (the player on the inbounds side of the court). A1 is still out of bounds. Do you have a jump ball or do you award the ball to B because A1 is out of bounds in contact with the ball?

A1 has been OOB in the contact with the ball the entire time...it's a held ball.

BillyMac Wed Feb 04, 2015 03:58pm

The Plot Thickens ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tophat67 (Post 953681)
... ball extended over the boundary line by A1 and gets tied up by B1 (the player on the inbounds side of the court). A1 is still out of bounds ...

Clear your desks for a pop quiz.

What if this was an alternating possession throwin?

BigCat Wed Feb 04, 2015 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 953688)
Clear your desks for a pop quiz.

What if this was an alternating possession throwin?

The AP throw in never ended… ball wasn't released. arrow never changed. do over. same team has another AP throw in. this is the case book play.

BillyMac Wed Feb 04, 2015 04:07pm

Give That Man A Cigar ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 953689)
The AP throw in never ended… ball wasn't released. arrow never changed. do over. same team has another AP throw in. this is the case book play.

6.4.5 SITUATION B: During an alternating-possession throw-in, thrower A1
holds the ball through the end-line plane and B1 grabs it, resulting in a held ball.
RULING: Since the throw-in had not ended and no violation occurred, it is still A’s
ball for an alternating-possession throw-in. (4-42-5)

OKREF Thu Feb 05, 2015 10:27am

Had this situation about a week ago.


A1 for a throw in after a made basket and a time out. A2 runs from inbounds to OOB and A1 throws the ball to A2. B1 follows A2 and reaches out and deflects pass while OOB.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1