incorrect backcourt call
If you are the only one in the gym who knows the rule, are you still right? Yes, but you still look like an idiot!
A1 shoots a three pointer and the miss takes a very long bounce. A2 touches (but does not control) the ball just before it bounces into the backcourt. Now, A1, A2, and A3 surround the ball in the backcourt but don't dare touch it, fearing a backcourt call. As B1 approaches, A2 grabs the ball and my partner calls a backcourt violation.
I huddled with my partner and reminded him that there is no team control on a rebound. We (well, mostly I) called an inadvertant whistle and gave the ball back to A, as A2 controlled the ball when the whistle blew and that is POI.
Was I correct?
Both teams, the crowd, the table, and my partner were all looking confused and wondering what the crazy ref was doing. It may been better just to go with the flow, especially if you tell me I was wrong.
|