![]() |
Fumble or not?
Correct me if I'm wrong, but it is my understanding that a player is allowed to fumble, and recover their fumble, before or after a dribble without it being a violation. The beginning of a new dribble if the initial dribble ended in a fumble is a double dribble. But the fumble of a pass, recover, and then start of a dribble is legal.
I say all of that because I have seen multiple officials, several of which I think know what they are talking about, not call it as I have described. Most commonly I see a player attempt to end their dribble, but fumble the ball, recover it, and have it called a DD. I had a partner reach over right in front of me and call one of these a DD when I was going to allow it. It was a legit fumble, not just an odd looking dribble. Makes me look bad, but I just want to confirm that I am understanding the rule. Thanks for any input. |
rule of thumb
fumble dribble fumble = legal dribble fumble dribble = illegal |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Last night in the JV game that preceded the varsity it happened on the second trip. I am the T right in front of the Coach. A player in the high post just above the free throw line is passed the ball and fumbles. I hear the Coach yell "Dead". Player dribbles the ball and coach says "that's a travel". He then corrects himself and says "I mean double dribble." I say that is just a fumble and not a dribble. He thought I was crazy.
|
Quote:
Dribble muff dribble = illegal |
Quote:
|
Quote:
yep, as soon as the Coach yelled dead i though oh boy here it comes. |
Quote:
1) I'm standing right here looking at the play, and I didn't blow my whistle. Do you really think I'm that incompetent? 2) You've seen officials not blow the whistle many times on this play, when are you going to get a clue that this is not a violation? |
I think it gets tricky for fans, coaches, and just admit, some officials too, when the pass to a player is muffed, and it appears he/she might dribble it in the process of recovery. Does the player actually dribble (by definition) here to regain control or are they actually just re-fumbling/muffing it? That can be a tough one sometimes I think.
|
Quote:
|
I do not think it is so much about what coaches see called. I think coaches have a fundamental misunderstanding of most rules and think something has been missed. Similar to the JH game I worked the other day and a coach wanted a "moving screen" with a player that had absolutely no contact but the made it clear a rule was violated in their mind.
Remember, coaches are used to telling everyone what to do and then they come in contact with a group of people that know something more than them and most do not have the ability to realize that is the case. Most cannot fathom that reality and that is why they argue. Of course there are officials that incorrectly make these calls, but that is because it is easier to go with what you "know" than read and figure out what the actual rule is in the book. Peace |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50pm. |