![]() |
Rule Question
A1 is in act of shooting, ball in flight, A3 fouls B3, referee blows whistle while ball in flight. Ball enters basket. Team B is in bonus. I think basket should be counted. Proceed to B's basket and shoot the 1 and 1. I have not been able to locate the rule and case play. Help would be appreciated.
|
Look for continuous motion.
|
Quote:
|
This is probably close enough:
10.6.1 SITUATION B: The bonus is in effect and while the ball is in flight during a try for a field goal by A1, A2 charges into B1. Following this there is a basket-interference violation by: (a) B2 or (b) A3. RULING: In (a), both the foul by A2 and the violation by B2 are penalized, but in the reverse order of occurrence. Two points are first awarded to Team A because of the violation by B2. B1 is then awarded a one-and-one. Had the bonus not been in effect in (a), B would have been *awarded the ball out of bounds at its end line where the basket was awarded. In (b), there are no rule complications. The violation by A3 caused the ball to become dead. Ordinarily, the ball would go to B out-of-bounds at the spot nearest the violation. However, this penalty is ignored because of the penalty enforcement for the foul by A2. (7-5-7; 9-11 Penalty) |
Quote:
ART. 3 Continuous motion does not apply if a teammate fouls after a player has started a try for a goal and before the ball is in flight. The ball becomes dead immediately. It's a starting point. It shows the play is not dead immediately. |
Refer to fundamentals.
When causes the ball become dead? When does team control end? |
Quote:
(incorrect answer removed; my mistake) |
Quote:
Basket counts. 1 and 1 at the other end. Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08pm. |