The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Delay Of Game ... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97166-delay-game.html)

BillyMac Sat Feb 01, 2014 11:39am

Delay Of Game ...
 
Sometimes it's the simplest things that get me confused.

A1 has designated spot throwin. B1 is aggressively defending the throwin, to the point of reaching over the boundary line. As I'm just about to sound my whistle for a delay warning (no previous warning), A1 releases the ball for the throwin and B1 reaches across the boundary and knocks the passed ball away. Since I was about to charge the delay, I went with a delay warning, and had a do-over.

I know that if B1 hit the ball out of A1's hands, it would be a technical foul. I also know that if B1 hit A1 on the hand before the ball was passed, it would be a intentional foul.

Did I handle this correctly? I know that I should know this, but I'm drawing a blank. I hate it when I question myself on the simplest things, but I would appreciate some closure here. I can't find this specific situation in the casebook. Maybe it's there, but I can't find it.

Raymond Sat Feb 01, 2014 12:07pm

I'm quite sure there is something in the rule book about a defender reaching over the throw-in plane and touching a released pass.

Freddy Sat Feb 01, 2014 12:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 920876)
I'm quite sure there is something in the rule book about a defender reaching over the throw-in plane and touching a released pass.

For a defender to touch the released pass while the ball is still over OOB area is legal. (9-2-10)
For the offense to do so is illegal.

BillyMac Sat Feb 01, 2014 12:39pm

Give That Man A Cigar ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 920879)
For a defender to touch the released pass while the ball is still over OOB area is legal. (9-2-10)

Bingo. There it is, the reason why this play confused me. So my instinct to charge the delay of game, for over the boundary, before the release, was correct. If the defender had waited to go over the boundary until after the release, then I've going nothing, unless the ball goes out of bounds, and then it's just an out of bounds violation.

I was lucky this time, but it still continues my streak of thirty-three years and never making a bad call.

Rob1968 Sat Feb 01, 2014 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 920882)
Bingo. There it is, the reason why this play confused me. So my instinct to charge the delay of game, for over the boundary, before the release, was correct. If the defender had waited to go over the boundary until after the release, then I've going nothing, unless the ball goes out of bounds, and then it's just an out of bounds violation.

I was lucky this time, but it still continues my streak of thirty-three years and never making a bad call.

Now, if after a score, the defender reaches over the OOB plane, and touches a pass between his opponents' teammates, it is illegal.

Freddy Sat Feb 01, 2014 01:37pm

Bingo #2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 920885)
Now, if after a score, the defender reaches over the OOB plane, and touches a pass between his opponents' teammates, it is illegal.

Correct. Then it's the same as the defender reaching across to touch the ball while still in the in-bounder's hands -- a team technical.

The situation cited above is, BTW, why it's important to train officials never to casually leave the endline prior to the actual release of the inbounds pass. This habit, if engrained by casuality or indifference, will carry over to that rare occasion when the need to observe these kinds of plays and violations arises. The fallback to guessing will kick a guy in the butt. Therefore, trail--be trail. Don't leave that endline early on a throw-in.

deecee Sat Feb 01, 2014 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 920888)
Correct. Then it's the same as the defender reaching across to touch the ball while still in the in-bounder's hands -- a team technical.

The situation cited above is, BTW, why it's important to train officials never to casually leave the endline prior to the actual release of the inbounds pass. This habit, if engrained by casuality or indifference, will carry over to that rare when the need to observe these kinds of plays and violations. The fallback to guessing will kick a guy in the butt. Therefore, trail--be trail. Don't leave that endline early on a throw-in.

Let's be real, this will only happen if there is full court pressure. In the absence of full court pressure this isn't an issue and I can assume most of us will leave the endline when we see fit to leave the endline. In most cases it will be early.

If there is full court pressure why in the heck would you be running out ahead of the ball?

Raymond Sat Feb 01, 2014 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 920889)
Let's be real, this will only happen if there is full court pressure. In the absence of full court pressure this isn't an issue and I can assume most of us will leave the endline when we see fit to leave the endline. In most cases it will be early.

If there is full court pressure why in the heck would you be running out ahead of the ball?

In 3-man, there is no reason to leave the end line early. I still occasionally catch myself doing it, and try to immediately correct myself.

deecee Sat Feb 01, 2014 01:55pm

I agree that in 3-man, for the most part, there isn't. But the reality is that it happens, and within 3 steps the kids are ahead of us anyway. My point was that when this violation were to occur there is no reason for the T to be off the endline. It's a full court press!

Adam Sat Feb 01, 2014 02:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 920890)
In 3-man, there is no reason to leave the end line early. I still occasionally catch myself doing it, and try to immediately correct myself.

Me too, but I don't see much difference, in this aspect, between 2 and 3.

BillyMac Sat Feb 01, 2014 04:11pm

Where Are My Car Keys ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 920888)
Then it's the same as the defender reaching across to touch the ball while still in the in-bounder's hands -- a team technical.

Team technical? I believe it's a player technical, but I can be convinced otherwise.

Adam Sat Feb 01, 2014 05:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 920898)
Team technical? I believe it's a player technical, but I can be convinced otherwise.

You are correct, this would be a player T (as opposed to the team T that gets assessed if he happens to be the second player to break the throw in plane).

Freddy Sat Feb 01, 2014 05:04pm

Eratta
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 920898)
Team technical? I believe it's a player technical, but I can be convinced otherwise.

You're correct. Thank you for calling me out on my error. :) -- 9.2.10A.
Though violating the boundary plane by the defender after a warning had been previously issued (without contacting the ball) IS a team technical -- 10-1-5c.
Repeated violation of this is (even without contacting the ball) merits a player technical -- 10-3-5d.

bob jenkins Sat Feb 01, 2014 05:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 920889)
I can assume most of us will leave the endline when we see fit to leave the endline. In most cases it will be early.

I question that assumption and I know it's drilled to NOT do it at all the camps I've attended.

deecee Sat Feb 01, 2014 06:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 920905)
I question that assumption and I know it's drilled to NOT do it at all the camps I've attended.

In normal transition, after a made basket, with no full court press it's been my experience that very few officials stand on the endline or behind it and only when the ball is inbounded do they start moving up, especially in 2 man. By the time the ball is inbounded the T is usually couple feet behind the play anyway, but as to actually waiting behind the inbounder all the time, I just don't see it. We cheat out here way more often than we do as the T on rebounds, and that is also something that is drilled NOT to do. It's just what happens most of the time in an effort to (1) not get beat and/or (2) get a jump on what we know/assume is coming.

Adam Sat Feb 01, 2014 06:15pm

I prefer waiting and jogging just a slight bit faster while the pg brings the ball up. Cheating doesn't do me any good on this play.

Freddy Sat Feb 01, 2014 07:04pm

Bob x 2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 920905)
I question that assumption and I know it's drilled to NOT do it at all the camps I've attended.

Ditto.

Those who leave early around here betray their propensity to not have to hustle upcourt as trail.
Leave early = more time to walk and look lazy.
Albeit it is sometimes true that for trail to be trail it mandates a walk, particularly with a team who walks the ball upcourt.

Mregor Sun Feb 02, 2014 04:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 920908)
I prefer waiting and jogging just a slight bit faster while the pg brings the ball up. Cheating doesn't do me any good on this play.

Yep.

Sharpshooternes Mon Feb 03, 2014 03:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 920902)
You're correct. Thank you for calling me out on my error. :) -- 9.2.10A.
Though violating the boundary plane by the defender after a warning had been previously issued (without contacting the ball) IS a team technical -- 10-1-5c.
Repeated violation of this is (even without contacting the ball) merits a player technical -- 10-3-5d.

So let me make sure I get this straight. Team A throwin in all situations.
B1 reaches across the plane and is called for DOG warning. Later B1reaches through the plane and team B is assessed a team TF. Later still B1 reaches through the plane and is assessed a player TF.

Next scenario. Team A throwin. B1 reaches through plane and receives DOG warning. Later B2 reaches through the plane and a team TF is assessed. Later still B3 reaches through the plane and B3 is assessed a Personal TF.

Is that right?

Camron Rust Mon Feb 03, 2014 03:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 921057)
So let me make sure I get this straight. Team A throwin in all situations.
B1 reaches across the plane and is called for DOG warning. Later B1reaches through the plane and team B is assessed a team TF. Later still B1 reaches through the plane and is assessed a player TF.

Next scenario. Team A throwin. B1 reaches through plane and receives DOG warning. Later B2 reaches through the plane and a team TF is assessed. Later still B3 reaches through the plane and B3 is assessed a Personal TF.

Is that right?

No.

The repeated part is not about different points of the game...it is a about continuing to do so time after time.

Nevadaref Mon Feb 03, 2014 03:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 920876)
I'm quite sure there is something in the rule book about a defender reaching over the throw-in plane and touching a released pass.

Legal in NFHS (had it in a game on Friday night), but illegal in NCAA.

Sharpshooternes Mon Feb 03, 2014 05:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 921058)
No.

The repeated part is not about different points of the game...it is a about continuing to do so time after time.

So right in a row, not with other legal throwing in between? So in theory you could have multiple team techs for plane violations throughout the game and no player techs?

BillyMac Mon Feb 03, 2014 07:09am

Who's On First ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 921065)
So right in a row, not with other legal throwing in between? So in theory you could have multiple team techs for plane violations throughout the game and no player techs?

Since the warning, and then the technical fouls, are charged, and recorded, by the official scorekeeper, to the team, not to individual players, I would have no idea, and the official scorekeeper would have no record, of which individual players were involved in previous violations, especially if some of the violations were called by my partner.

bob jenkins Mon Feb 03, 2014 09:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 921057)
So let me make sure I get this straight. Team A throwin in all situations.
B1 reaches across the plane and is called for DOG warning. Later B1reaches through the plane and team B is assessed a team TF. Later still B1 reaches through the plane and is assessed a player TF.

Next scenario. Team A throwin. B1 reaches through plane and receives DOG warning. Later B2 reaches through the plane and a team TF is assessed. Later still B3 reaches through the plane and B3 is assessed a Personal TF.

Is that right?

What's that? ;)

You're only going to get a 10-3-5 T if someone is either just clueless or trying to make a mockery of the game or drawing attention to himself, etc.

DrPete Mon Feb 03, 2014 09:52am

I like it when you guys quote rules to go along with your responses. I just learned a detail that the defender can reach over the boundary plane after the ball is released by the thrower. I never picked up on that nuance of the rule until I read it again along with this discussion.

BillyMac Mon Feb 03, 2014 05:47pm

Copy And Paste ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DrPete (Post 921082)
I like it when you guys quote rules to go along with your responses.

It's getting harder and harder to do so since the NFHS has made internet copies of it's rulebooks, and casebooks, with the ability to copy, and paste, sections, unavailable, even to members.

I'm presently copying, and pasting, sections from a 2011-12 rulebook, and a 2011-12 casebook, and I'm not sure how much longer these old pdf books will be relevant.

Typing from the paper books? Fuhgeddaboudit.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1